FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Solved] Unable to flash from update.zip

7th July 2009, 12:58 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Hi, I have a problem with my G1, I've been flashing new ROMs here and there as soon as they come out basically. Now, the last ROM I attempted to flash was Drizzy's Modified JACHero ROM updated on July 6th. From then on, my flashes never complete and the G1 continues in the typical HTC/HERO bootloop. I even tried flashing a new recovery image (that didn't work, only way to get it to take was flashing the RAW image from fastboot). I tried flashing a non-hero ROM (Cyanogen's newest release 3.6.2) and it still goes into the HERO/HTC bootloop (whaaa?). So the only conclusion I can come to is that the device is no longer able to take new flashes from update.zip.

However, I have noticed in the recovery menu while I'm trying to flash, the status bar stops moving at:
Formatting DATA:...
Copying files...

After that it jumps rapidly to Formatting BOOT:... to Writing BOOT... then installation complete. Without the status bar every completely reaching 100%.

If anyone has/had this problem and knows how to solve it, could you please please please let me know? Right now I'm sitting with a paperweight... =/ Thanks.
Last edited by h.nocturna; 7th July 2009 at 04:57 AM.
 
 
7th July 2009, 01:14 AM |#2  
rigamrts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
reflash rc29 had that issue before i redid root access and all was well
7th July 2009, 01:22 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Attempting now... Thanks for the advice. =)
Will Edit with update when I've finished.

OK I downloaded the RC29 and put it on my SD card, but when I try to go into the bootloader to flash it like normal, there is not instruction screen to allow me to update DREAMIMG.nbh, it just shows the fastboot screen with androids on skateboard? How to do I flash it from here? Is there a command from fastboot?
Last edited by h.nocturna; 7th July 2009 at 01:40 AM.
7th July 2009, 01:42 AM |#4  
rigamrts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by h.nocturna

Attempting now... Thanks for the advice. =)
Will Edit with update when I've finished.

OK I downloaded the RC29 and put it on my SD card, but when I try to go into the bootloader to flash it like normal, there is not instruction screen to allow me to update DREAMIMG.nbh, it just shows the fastboot screen with androids on skateboard? How to do I flash it from here? Is there a command from fastboot?

did you use power + camera or power + back button

power + camera should just auto install
7th July 2009, 03:58 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
NVM! Thanks rigamrts, I didn't have the SD Card in haha. Got everything fixed and running again. Can't thank you enough for all your help.
7th July 2009, 04:05 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
Donate to Me
More
lol, very nice. Can you changed your title and put [Solved] in it please? Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes