5,597,354 Members 32,402 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Want to Run Hero? READ THIS FIRST

Tip us?
 
nephron
Old
(Last edited by nephron; 25th December 2009 at 06:03 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 732
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb Want to Run Hero? READ THIS FIRST

Ok, so me and i assume many people are getting annoyed being asked the same questions over and over again. So here is a list of some of the questions and their answers. If i forgot any please tell me so i can add them.


Like My Guide(s)? Donate


Question Index:

What is Hero/Rosie/Sense UI?
Do I need to have Root?
Do i NEED the new Radio and SPL?
Do i need Cyanogen's Recovery Image?
Do i need a formatted SD Card with EXT2/3 Partition?
How do i install a Hero Rom?Im getting a Boot Loop, what do i do now?
Should i use swapper? What is a good setting to use?
Is Apps2SD done automatically?
What is ADB and Fastboot and how do i use and install it?
How do i reformat my EXT2/3 Patition before flashing a New ROM?
What are the best settings to make Hero lag free?
What does not work in Hero?
I am stuck in recovery and need to add files to my sd card what can i do?
What is a nandroid backup and how do i use it?
Is a class 6 sdcard required?
How do i know what class my SDHC Card is?

All answers for the above questions and more are listed below.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] What is Hero/Rosie/Sense UI?

[A] The Rosie/Sense UI is a User Inerface created by HTC using the Android OS and made Android seem beautiful and amazing. From all the widgets to the eye candy and to the social network intergration, Rosie/Sense UI shows what Android should have been when it started. For a promo go here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKTDSfbcbBU

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Do I need to have Root?

[A] Yes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Do i NEED the new Radio and SPL?

[A] Yes, you MUST have the new Radio AND SPL

To install:

Things you need:

New SPL - Download
New Radio - Download
Your Current ROM - CyanogenMod 3.6
SD Card Reader
Rooted G1 Phone
Computer
USB Cable
Patience

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Install Radio FIRST

Download the Radio Update
Rename it to update.zip
Remove your SD Card from your phone and place it in your SD Card Reader
Put the update.zip at the root of your SDcard (root = not in any folder)
Insert your sdcard back into the phone
Turn off your phone (Hold power and press Power Off)
Hold the Home button and then press the power button (Keep holding power)
You will now enter recovery
Open up your keyboard and press Alt-S
Let it finish the update
When done reboot by pressing Home and Back
You should be able to access your Home screen (If its stuck on the Google G1 screen dont panic, just remove your battery for now)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Installing the new SPL

Note: To update you must have a PVT board. To Check go into fastboot (Power and Camera and check) Thanks persiansown

Take your SD Card out again and plug it into the pc
Remove the update.zip that you put in there
Download your current Rom or any other ROM that you want. I suggest CyanogenMod 3.6
Download the SPL Update
Rename the SPL Update to update.zip
Remove your SD Card from your phone and place it in your SD Card Reader
Put the update.zip at the root of your SDcard (root = not in any folder)
Insert your sdcard back into the phone
Turn off your phone (Hold power and press Power Off) or put your battery back in and turn it on
Hold the Home button and then press the power button (Keep holding power)
You will now enter recovery
Open up your keyboard and press Alt-S
Let it finish the update
Now it will reboot on its own back to recovery
Reboot again by pressing Home + Back
Your phone will be stuck on the T-Mobile G1 Screen (Again DONT FREAK)
Remove the battery from your phone
Remove your SD Card and plug it back into your computer
Take the ROM that you downloaded and rename it update.zip
Remove the update.zip that was on your SD Card and put this new one it
Put the battery back into your phone
Enter recovery (Home + Power)
Press Alt+s to update
Let it finish
Press Home + Back to reboot
Thats it! You now have your new SPL and Radio

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Do i need Cyanogen's Recovery Image?

[A] No, but its recommended.

To install:

Download the recovery image HERE

Place the cm-recovery-1.3.1.img file in the root of your SD Card (Root = not in any folder)

Go back to your phone (Dont forget to unmount)

Open terminal and type in the following

Code:
su (wait for a screen to popup and press "allow")
flash_image recovery /sdcard/cm-recovery-1.3.1.img
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Do i need a formatted SD Card with EXT2/3 Partition

[A] No, but you should. It will make Hero and Rosie run much smoother and MUCH faster with NO lag.

Use SDSPLIT to create your partition - Follow this Guide

OR

Format your SD Card with EXT3 and Swap Parition


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] How do i install a Hero Rom?

[A] Download a Hero Rom, i suggest JacHero's or Dizzy's

Rename your download from XXXXXXX.zip to update.zip
Place update.zip in the root of your sdcard (root = not in any folder)
Boot into recovery (Home + Power)
Wipe (Alt+w) and Flash (Alt+s)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Im getting a Boot Loop, what do i do now?

[A]
Wipe and Flash again. If that does not work, reformat and repartition your SD Card, then wipe and reflash.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Should i use swapper? What is a good setting to use

[A] Yes

Perfect Setting:
Swap Location: /system/sd/swap.swp
Swap Space: 32mb
Swapinness: 10 or 60 which ever works better for you

Note: Swapper will kill your SDCard faster then normal

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Is Apps2SD done automatically?

[A] Yes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] What is ADB and Fastboot and how do i use and install it?

[A] Follow this guide

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] How do i reformat my EXT2/3 Patition before flashing a New ROM?

[A] These commands are for ADB (Each line is a new command)

Code:
adb remount
adb shell
rm -r /system/sd/*
reboot recovery
then flash the update.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] What are the best settings to make Hero lag free?

[A] This is what i found to work best:

1) Swapper Settings:

Location: /system/sd/swap.swp
Swap Space: 32mb
Swappiness: 10 or 60 w/e works for you

2) Remove any widgets or apps that you done need through adb or terminal

Code:
adb rm /data/app_s/Stocks.apk
or in terminal :

Code:
su
rm /data/app_s/Stocks.apk
3) Use only 3 home screens, leave the other 2 blank

4) Use as less widgets as possible (Clock, Weather, and Twitter)

Thats what i do and it works perfectly! Enjoy!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] What does not work in Hero

[A] Bluetooth and LED lights are not working ATM but are being worked on. Some people are having issues with SMS and MMS as well.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] I am stuck in recovery and need to add files to my sd card

[A] [How to] mount SD card in recovery by Gary13579

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] What is a nandroid backup and how do i use it?

[A] Go here and see the 3rd Post

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] Is a class 6 sdcard required?

[A] No, but it will improve speed and performance especially when using swaper

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Q] How do i know what class my SDHC Card is?

[A] Only SDHC cards have classes! To know what class your SDHC Card is just look at it



This one is a C4 (Class 4) SDHC Card

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

For more help please go HERE where you will fine more guides and How-To's.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Again, if you want me to add any more Q & A's please let me know!
 
alritewhadeva
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,364
Join Date: Mar 2009
Another great post nephron! Should be in Dream Q & A though hehe
T-Mobile G1
Super D
Clockwork Mod Recovery
**A Big thanks goes out to all the Developers**
Need help? Ask for it! PM me or contact me on Gtalk - alritewhadeva@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!
 
nephron
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 732
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks, i know it should be but it will get more attention here....
 
persiansown
Old
#4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 718
Posts: 853
Join Date: Jan 2007
Shouldn't you mention the fact that you need a PVT board for the new SPL?
I do CyanogenMod stuff.

Circle me on Google+
 
johnnylicious
Old
#5  
johnnylicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: Nov 2008
whoa great job on this!

hope this helps out all the noobs hehe.

+1!!!

HTC Magic (MyTouch 3G)
Manup's ECLAIR (v1.3)
Donate if you want.
Follow me on Twitter....
 
nephron
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 732
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
ya you gave me the idea hahaha. I saw your post where you got pissed and i was like why not make a thread about all this?
 
johnnylicious
Old
#7  
johnnylicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 1,407
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nephron View Post
ya you gave me the idea hahaha. I saw your post where you got pissed and i was like why not make a thread about all this?
ahah wow really nicee glad you too the initiative i was too lazy ahah

HTC Magic (MyTouch 3G)
Manup's ECLAIR (v1.3)
Donate if you want.
Follow me on Twitter....
 
TooSlo
Old
#8  
TooSlo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 729
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, WA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by persiansown View Post
Shouldn't you mention the fact that you need a PVT board for the new SPL?
Was this proven to be true? I did brick a PVT device, but it was because I updated in the wrong order when it wasn't known that it would kill phones.
 
bootleg16
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 183
Join Date: Nov 2007
whoa nice thread.

i wish there would have been something like this back in february on how to root my phone.
lol

i took forever.
 
Abbens
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jul 2007
Great read. One question I do not have a sd card reader, couldn't I just put my sd card into my phone then add the files to it?

Tags
apps2sd, guide, hero, read, rosie
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...