Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,840 Members 40,345 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Swap Partition?

Tip us?
 
tanner2007
Old
#1  
tanner2007's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Riverside
Default Swap Partition?

Is it worth it? Someone said no due to fact it will eat your sd cards life way way way faster for little to no improvment.
 
BombaMyte
Old
#2  
BombaMyte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 272
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Castle, DE
I use a swap partition with JACHero, set @ 32/20, enabled on startup.

Way I understand it, yes, swapping shortens the life of the card, but not so much as to kill the card within a few weeks or months. YMMV of course, but I haven't had any problems so far. Good to see Hero speed up a few mins after booting. :)

VZW Samsung Galaxy Nexus
. o O | Rooted | AOKP M4 | faux123 Hybrid 3.0.12 | 32GB Internal SD | O o .

VZW HTC Thunderbolt
. o O | Rooted | Liquid Smooth 3.2 | 2.11.605.5 Radios | 32GB Class 4 SD | O o .

Follow the Legend...
Quote:
Originally Posted by vskid
Nerd=likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment.
Geek=likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too.
I am a geek, so says the wifey.
 
BombaMyte
Old
#3  
BombaMyte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 272
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Castle, DE
I use a swap partition with JACHero, set @ 32/20, enabled on startup.

Way I understand it, yes, swapping shortens the life of the card, but not so much as to kill the card within a few weeks or months. YMMV of course, but I haven't had any problems so far. Good to see Hero speed up a few mins after booting. :)

VZW Samsung Galaxy Nexus
. o O | Rooted | AOKP M4 | faux123 Hybrid 3.0.12 | 32GB Internal SD | O o .

VZW HTC Thunderbolt
. o O | Rooted | Liquid Smooth 3.2 | 2.11.605.5 Radios | 32GB Class 4 SD | O o .

Follow the Legend...
Quote:
Originally Posted by vskid
Nerd=likes school, does all their homework, dies if they don't get 100% on every assignment.
Geek=likes technology, dies if the power goes out and his UPS dies too.
I am a geek, so says the wifey.
 
h.nocturna
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 1,013
Join Date: Oct 2008
No need to start a new thread as this subject already has a thread for itself and has been discussed in several other threads... Mods, close this.
 
Fabiosbest
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2009
ok, some links to the original post(s)?
 
alritewhadeva
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 1,364
Join Date: Mar 2009
Search or check out the Dream Q & A!
T-Mobile G1
Super D
Clockwork Mod Recovery
**A Big thanks goes out to all the Developers**
Need help? Ask for it! PM me or contact me on Gtalk - alritewhadeva@gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter!
 
Fabiosbest
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by alritewhadeva View Post
Search or check out the Dream Q & A!
all right, no problem just look here -> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=534714

thank you anyway
 
tanner2007
Old
#8  
tanner2007's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 200
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Riverside
Quote:
Originally Posted by BombaMyte View Post
I use a swap partition with JACHero, set @ 32/20, enabled on startup.

Way I understand it, yes, swapping shortens the life of the card, but not so much as to kill the card within a few weeks or months. YMMV of course, but I haven't had any problems so far. Good to see Hero speed up a few mins after booting. :)
So how do u have it on startup? I have it but I just followed this guide

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p+Partition%3F
 
kosang
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BombaMyte View Post
I use a swap partition with JACHero, set @ 32/20, enabled on startup.

Way I understand it, yes, swapping shortens the life of the card, but not so much as to kill the card within a few weeks or months. YMMV of course, but I haven't had any problems so far. Good to see Hero speed up a few mins after booting. :)
I use Swapper2 to set the SWAP.
But I couldn't mount it. It always told me that "invalid argument", but it also told me that

"Turning swap off(partition) FAIL"
"swapoff:/dev/block/mmcblk0p3:Invalid argument"
"Formatting swap partition OK"
"Enabling swap(partition) OK"
"Setting swappiness OK"
"Turning swap off(partition) OK"
"Formatting swap partition OK"
"Enabling swap(partition) OK"
"All done!"


It was so confusing! I don't even know how come I had an invalid argument and I can let everything OK?
 
alexong2005
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2014
Smile Swap invalid argument

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosang View Post
I use Swapper2 to set the SWAP.
But I couldn't mount it. It always told me that "invalid argument", but it also told me that

"Turning swap off(partition) FAIL"
"swapoff:/dev/block/mmcblk0p3:Invalid argument"
"Formatting swap partition OK"
"Enabling swap(partition) OK"
"Setting swappiness OK"
"Turning swap off(partition) OK"
"Formatting swap partition OK"
"Enabling swap(partition) OK"
"All done!"


It was so confusing! I don't even know how come I had an invalid argument and I can let everything OK?

I have the same problem. Have you solved the problem? Please share.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes