MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

[APP] UPDATE [11/08] - SmartLauncher - V2.1 - Generic Version

12th July 2009, 10:44 PM   |  #1  
elmalote's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
SmartLauncher => Beta v.0.9

I've always found it a little hassle to go into Comm manager, turn on WiFi and then go out and launch Opera when wanting to surf with my TD2. And then turning of WiFi when done.
So I decided to code my own application that does this in one click. Ideal for setting it as the default app for the Long Press on End button.

What does it do:
- Activates WiFi & connects to preferred access point
- Shows connection strength, IP, SSID name, speed, statistics and authentication mode
- Able to launch Opera browser with the same button that enables WiFi
- Turn off WiFi when done
- One-Click Launch









Limitations in this version

- The Disconnect Data button is not implemented yet, also coming in next versions (hopefully)

To Do
- Implement Disconnect Data

Enjoy

UPDATE v.1.0


- Added One Click setting. When enabled it activates and launches Opera without need for user interaction.
- More fingerfriendly (thanks for the images RDT)
- Optimized code / cleanup

Issues / Not tested:
- I'm not sure the one click setting closing Opera on exit works on all devices.
- Still not generic, you must have OperaL.exe in your windows folder unless its already there (stock ROM)
- Data disabled still not implemented, hoping it will work soon with the help of Paul from Modaco.

UPDATE v.1.1

- Added Usage Statistics
- Added Network Speed

UPDATE v.1.1.3

UI Updated

UPDATE V2

- New UI Icon controled, much more fingerfriendly
- 70% of code rewritten
- Better performance
- VGA version up

UPDATE 11/08

- Generic version, works with all devices now
- If Opera is not installed it will automatically launch Internet Explorer
- Code cleanup
Attached Files
File Type: cab SmartLauncher V2.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (402.3 KB, 747 views)
File Type: cab SmartLauncher V2 VGA Setup.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (402.4 KB, 387 views)
Last edited by elmalote; 11th August 2009 at 09:13 AM.
12th July 2009, 10:45 PM   |  #2  
elmalote's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Reserved for BUGS
If you have found any bugs please post and I will fix them.
12th July 2009, 10:46 PM   |  #3  
elmalote's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Suggestions for Future Releases
- One step launcher => Activate WiFi and Launch Opera (no need for button clicks)
- Option to quit Opera on Exit as well
Last edited by elmalote; 12th July 2009 at 11:19 PM.
12th July 2009, 10:59 PM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 18
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2003
More
Sounds good - gonna try it tomorrow. One suggestion: Offer a one-step .exe, so one more click would be saved. I for one don't need all the information at all times that the Launcher provides. Maybe have both a launcher with a "Go" button and and a one-step launcher, where we don't have to click Go first.


.
Last edited by TinTin; 12th August 2009 at 02:52 PM.
12th July 2009, 11:08 PM   |  #5  
elmalote's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinTin

Sounds good - gonna try it tomorrow. One suggestion: Offer a one-step .exe, so one more click would be saved. I for one don't need all the information at all times that the Launcher provides. Maybe have both a launcher with a "Go" button and and a one-step launcher, where we don't have to click Go first.

Sounds like a good idea. Will look at it when I get back
12th July 2009, 11:16 PM   |  #6  
Recognized Developer
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 18
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2003
More
Cool. I did install it already and works as advertised - nice work!

One more suggestion - I'd like an option to quit Opera on Exit as well. Only makes sense for those (like me) of course that tweaked their TD2 to not have Opera in memory all the time anymore, see http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=532948

Thanks,
Tin
12th July 2009, 11:18 PM   |  #7  
elmalote's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
753 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TinTin

Cool. I did install it already and works as advertised - nice work!

One more suggestion - I'd like an option to quit Opera on Exit as well. Only makes sense for those (like me) of course that tweaked their TD2 to not have Opera in memory all the time anymore, see http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=532948

Thanks,
Tin

Great!

Suggestion added
12th July 2009, 11:22 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Developer
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 18
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2003
More
One needs the Exit Function of course, so it doesn't make sense to have 2 apps (as I suggested in my first request). So I'm rephrasing my request to be able to set SmartLauncher to launch Wifi and Opera upon start automatically, switching to Opera and keeping the Launcher in the Background (available via Taskmanager).
12th July 2009, 11:33 PM   |  #9  
Recognized Developer
Flag Hamburg
Thanks Meter: 18
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2003
More
Minor bug... authentication mode cut off on my screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen040.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	204264  
17th July 2009, 04:18 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 1
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Great tool!
Yes, longer texts are not visible:




And on the second tab is a typist's error :




And by the way, a very useful tool!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sl1.png
Views:	6427
Size:	2.0 KB
ID:	205935   Click image for larger version

Name:	sl2.png
Views:	6420
Size:	3.0 KB
ID:	205936  

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes