5,597,501 Members 31,542 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

From Cupcake to Hero (Magic) > what do I need to do?

Tip us?
 
papalazarou
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2008
Default From Cupcake to Hero (Magic) > what do I need to do?

Hi guys.

I know that the various aspects of this post are covered in other posts, but I haven't seen anything that acts like a step by step or repository for this info.

Basically, I have a VodafoneAU HTC Magic with 1.5 on it, and I'd like to flash on it one of the Hero roms. I used to have a Diamond and then Diamond Pro, but I know little about Android at this point.

My biggest fear is bricking the phone, followed by not being able to restore my previous rom (and even apps and settings would be awesome too, though not essential) should something go pear shaped.

I know the steps I need to follow are:

1 - Root the phone
2 - Back up ROM (settings/apps too?)
3 - Flash new ROM
4 - ?????
5 - Profit (in the form of enjoying an awesome Hero ROM)

Jokes aside, if someone can point me in the right direction for the first 3 steps, that'd be great. Even if it's as simple as

1 - Root it using this post (link)
2 - Use this App to back it up
3 - etc..

Like I said, I know this info is probably covered elsewhere, but not in one place (that I've found) and I'd hope this post could serve as a guide for anyone else looking to go the same steps as me.

Thanks for any help anyone can give.

Cheers.
 
KarrdeNZ
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2009
First off, you don't need to root your phone, update the SPL, or any of that scary stuff. Which is great, cus that's the riskiest part of it all. Briefly, the procedure is as follows:

1. Boot your phone in fastboot mode (power the phone off, then hold the back button as you power it back on). You'll see a white screen with some text, the word "FASTBOOT" and some androids at the bottom.
2. Note the version numbers you see at the top of the screen - it'll look something like:

SAPPHIRE PVT 32A SHIP S-ON H
HBOOT-1.3300.0009 (SAPP10000)
CPLD-12
RADIO-3.22.20.17

3. Download the ROM you want to upgrade to for your phone's version, rename the zip to update.zip and put it on the root of your phone's SD card
4. Boot a recovery ROM using fastboot (from the Android SDK)
5. Use Nandroid Backup to back up your current firmware to the SD card
6. Copy that backup (and the rest of the contents of your SD card) to your PC, just in case. This is the last point at which you can back out!
7. Use the recovery ROM to wipe your phone's existing firmware
8. Use the recovery ROM to apply the update.zip from the SD card
9. Wait for the update to complete
10. Reboot your phone and enjoy your new ROM!

I did this on my Vodafone NZ HTC Magic (PVT32B) running 1.5 yesterday and am enjoying Hero on it right now, barring a few quirks. If you like, I'll put together a detailed step-by-step of the procedure.
 
papalazarou
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarrdeNZ View Post
First off, you don't need to root your phone....


I did this on my Vodafone NZ HTC Magic (PVT32B) running 1.5 yesterday and am enjoying Hero on it right now, barring a few quirks. If you like, I'll put together a detailed step-by-step of the procedure.
Awesome, cheers. I'll have a crack at it tonight then.

So Am I correct then in assuming step 5 backs up my phone as it is now? So essentially if I roll back it will be exactly as it was? Installed apps, settings, contacts (although sync sorts that out) and all?
 
KarrdeNZ
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by papalazarou View Post
So Am I correct then in assuming step 5 backs up my phone as it is now? So essentially if I roll back it will be exactly as it was? Installed apps, settings, contacts (although sync sorts that out) and all?
Nope. Nandroid only backs up the existing firmware (and I believe some settings). It doesn't back up texts, contacts (though those should be synced with your Google Account anyway), or apps. For the most part, apps are easy to retrieve from the Market, but if you have any you got from elsewhere you'll need to reacquire them. The app MyBackup Pro seems to be recommended on these forums for more thorough backups, though it isn't free (and I've not used it myself). As my phone was (relatively) new I wasn't too fussed about keeping backups of anything except the firmware.
 
Wysie
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 1,119
Join Date: Jul 2009
I've done a couple of Nandroid backups and restores and it restores everything (except SD card), meaning applications, settings, everything is restored.

Also, I highly recommend RAv's recovery (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=530492). Use it to make your Nandroid backup .
 
KarrdeNZ
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wysie View Post
I've done a couple of Nandroid backups and restores and it restores everything (except SD card), meaning applications, settings, everything is restored.
I've heard differing reports on what Nandroid does and doesn't back up, so was erring on the side of caution. But if it backs up everything, awesome.

And yep, that's the recovery ROM I used. I'm writing up the step by step instructions at the moment - will post em when they're done.
 
MontAlbert
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 144
Posts: 2,350
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarrdeNZ View Post
I've heard differing reports on what Nandroid does and doesn't back up, so was erring on the side of caution. But if it backs up everything, awesome.

And yep, that's the recovery ROM I used. I'm writing up the step by step instructions at the moment - will post em when they're done.
depends how you restore it- you can restore system.img only and not get all your data etc (using fastboot) but if you fastboot data.img as well then you get it all..... the new recovery restores it all...
T-mobile G1- Sold
HTC Magic 32A- Sold
Nexus One- Sold
T-mobile HD2- Sold
HTC Inspire 4G- Backup phone
HTC Sensation- Sold due to HTC giving dev's the middle finger and dodgy build quality
Samsung Galaxy Nexus Sold due to crappy camera

LG Nexus 4 Loving it so far
follow me on Twitter
 
snowhk
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarrdeNZ View Post
First off, you don't need to root your phone, update the SPL, or any of that scary stuff. Which is great, cus that's the riskiest part of it all. Briefly, the procedure is as follows:

1. Boot your phone in fastboot mode (power the phone off, then hold the back button as you power it back on). You'll see a white screen with some text, the word "FASTBOOT" and some androids at the bottom.
2. Note the version numbers you see at the top of the screen - it'll look something like:

SAPPHIRE PVT 32A SHIP S-ON H
HBOOT-1.3300.0009 (SAPP10000)
CPLD-12
RADIO-3.22.20.17

3. Download the ROM you want to upgrade to for your phone's version, rename the zip to update.zip and put it on the root of your phone's SD card
4. Boot a recovery ROM using fastboot (from the Android SDK)
5. Use Nandroid Backup to back up your current firmware to the SD card
6. Copy that backup (and the rest of the contents of your SD card) to your PC, just in case. This is the last point at which you can back out!
7. Use the recovery ROM to wipe your phone's existing firmware
8. Use the recovery ROM to apply the update.zip from the SD card
9. Wait for the update to complete
10. Reboot your phone and enjoy your new ROM!

I did this on my Vodafone NZ HTC Magic (PVT32B) running 1.5 yesterday and am enjoying Hero on it right now, barring a few quirks. If you like, I'll put together a detailed step-by-step of the procedure.
I am a noob...Why don't need to FLASH SPL and ROOT the phone?? But u can still flash into HERO rom. I would like to have a full flash procedure from you,thanks. My machine is running on PVT32A.
 
KarrdeNZ
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowhk View Post
I am a noob...Why don't need to FLASH SPL and ROOT the phone?? But u can still flash into HERO rom.
You can load the Hero ROM without replacing your SPL (in most cases) or rooting, so why replace it if you don't need to? I've done it myself without doing so and it's working fine.

My guide is now ready - check it out at http://www.karrderized.com/romguide/.
 
snowhk
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarrdeNZ View Post
You can load the Hero ROM without replacing your SPL (in most cases) or rooting, so why replace it if you don't need to? I've done it myself without doing so and it's working fine.

My guide is now ready - check it out at http://www.karrderized.com/romguide/.
Just ask for curiosity..But why did others do so?? Thanks. You provided a clear guide.^^

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more