Thread Deleted

IPAQ GPS issues and fixes

OP arcadekidflo

16th July 2009, 05:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Hello. I have this IPAQ 614C and i'm using the GPS software IGO 8 . I noticed that it connects to the satellites very slowly , in about a minute , unlike any cheap car GPS that does it instantly .
Are there any fixes for the GPS module i can install ?

Here are some specs :

GPS_Protocol: NMEA 0183
Navigation+Chip(set): Qualcomm MSM6280 gpsOne

I know there are some GPS phones with SIRF chipset , are they better i hear ?
16th July 2009, 07:26 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Use Less Bps

i use 4800 (and in settings its set to 115200 (which doesn't matther)

Lower speed -=> faster connect (at least here)

and use mgpscmd to open GPS port and use the option HOT START , exit , iGO (if under clear sky) should see the satelites soon after that minute or two
16th July 2009, 11:33 AM   |  #3  
dirlan2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hamme
Thanks Meter: 37
 
626 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcadekidflo

Hello. I have this IPAQ 614C and i'm using the GPS software IGO 8 . I noticed that it connects to the satellites very slowly , in about a minute , unlike any cheap car GPS that does it instantly .
Are there any fixes for the GPS module i can install ?

Here are some specs :

GPS_Protocol: NMEA 0183
Navigation+Chip(set): Qualcomm MSM6280 gpsOne

I know there are some GPS phones with SIRF chipset , are they better i hear ?


Hi,

Settings should be (in GPS applet of phone) Hardwareport = com8 ; softwareport = com6 Baud = 115200 ; manage automatically enabled...
In iGo set your GPS port to com6

Fix should take less then a minute....



Dirk
16th July 2009, 01:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Richmond Hill/Waterloo
Thanks Meter: 1
 
844 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcadekidflo

Hello. I have this IPAQ 614C and i'm using the GPS software IGO 8 . I noticed that it connects to the satellites very slowly , in about a minute , unlike any cheap car GPS that does it instantly .
Are there any fixes for the GPS module i can install ?

Here are some specs :

GPS_Protocol: NMEA 0183
Navigation+Chip(set): Qualcomm MSM6280 gpsOne

I know there are some GPS phones with SIRF chipset , are they better i hear ?

SIRF chipset is better, 61x gps is slow unfortunately =/

if you really need to get fast gps fix with 61x, your only option would be getting a BlueTooth gps to pair with
17th July 2009, 01:49 PM   |  #5  
EREZYAD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
QGPS application
I was using 2 apps as a QGPS application 2 get faster cold&hot fix as u can see here
__________________________________________________ ____________
the old way from one of my posts:
Install this
http://uploading.com/files/YI4IJTCC/...Quick.zip.html

Now update the app

Install this
http://uploading.com/files/15FMK62B/...ckGPS.CAB.html

Now update the second app but on this update you will get at 79% a fail note
Ignore it and check your GPS...
from my testes you will get a better hot fix (time )

If you are after SR or cold fix update the second app (the one that fails)
Good luck

Ps at the end it will look like this
sorry about quality of the move ,I had to upload to youtube ….so I compressed the file
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYbVnuwvluo

__________________________________________________ ____________

u can still use my old way but now I have extracted the qgps app from the ipaq 900 and I had&have good fix (so I cannot see 4 myself if the 900 app is better)
Please test it and let me know if it helps u
Attached Files
File Type: cab Erezyad iPAQ GPS QK Position.cab - [Click for QR Code] (283.4 KB, 88 views)
Last edited by EREZYAD; 17th July 2009 at 01:52 PM.
Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes