App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Thread Closed

[APP]SVMPowerMgr 2.0 - Yet another power comm. utility

17th July 2009, 12:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Hello.

Firts of all sorry for my bad english.

I know that there is enough applications like this, but I've decided to write my own application, as a beginning for learn embeded C++ and mobile devices development. So, because this is my first app. in such domain, please don't punch me .

May be "power manager" sounds hard, this app. do exactly the same as per example psShotXP, namely:
- turn off the screen of Your device
- put the device in suspended mode
- soft reset the device
- turn off the device (HTC devs.).
- turn on/off wifi
- turn on/off phone module
- turn on/off bluetooth (make discoverable/invisible)
- switch phone bands Auto-2G-3G

You also can create 4 shortcuts to the program with parameters:
0 - turn off the screen of Your device
1 - put the device in suspended mode
2 - soft reset the device
3 - turn off the device.
4 - turn on/off phone module
5 - turn on/off wifi
6 - turn on/off bluetooth

You can change the images of backrounds button separator and buttons, they will be located in "Images" folder after install. With one restriction: now the buttons are black, so if you change the back of main program, consider this ...

Remarks: To close the main window you must tap anywhere outside the buttons or in space between buttons. Also to close additional windows tap the Close button or empty space of window.

P.S.
Discoverable/invisible mode for bluetooth is working on Microsoft stacks, on broadcom is to be developped (works just on/off bluetooth)

P.S. Supported screen resolutions: QVGA (240x320), Square (240x240), SquareQVGA (320x320), VGA(480x640), Square VGA (480x480), WVGA (480x800)

Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen01.jpg
Views:	5699
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	261246   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen02.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	261247   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen03.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	261248  
Attached Files
File Type: cab SVMPowerMgr.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (286.7 KB, 1274 views)
Last edited by s.virtan; 28th December 2009 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Update, new version
17th July 2009, 03:28 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
506 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Looks nice - good effort mate
17th July 2009, 07:07 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Hi

Works fine on Touch Diamond 2. Thanks

I am myself a developer and I was looking for a way to shut down the device from a shortcut. With the keyword "PowerOffWarning" from you I finally found the solution.
17th July 2009, 07:21 PM   |  #4  
Bxsteez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 67
 
2,114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s.virtan

Hello.


About "turn off". I've tested these only on my Touch HD, and i've used the functionality of this device :PowerOffWarning (when you long-press the power button). May be this will work on Diamond too, i do not have them...


Regards.

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this
18th July 2009, 04:49 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 5
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Thanks for the software. One of the file name in shortcut folder seems mispelling "standbay" instead of "standby".
18th July 2009, 10:29 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this

Hi there, just copy the createt Shortcut SV*.lnk from /Windows/Startmenu/etc... into /Windows and rename it into "Long_Power.lnk". And thats it. Simply but powerfull.

Greats Tom
19th July 2009, 04:34 PM   |  #7  
Bxsteez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 67
 
2,114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Hmmm i didn't do that. I copied the program into the windows directory and changed the name to poweroffwarning.exe and i had to copy the images folder too
20th July 2009, 06:10 AM   |  #8  
rjmjr69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southie
Thanks Meter: 116
 
1,773 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Cuts the cleartype font out using this
20th July 2009, 06:44 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this

Hi.
By "PowerOffWarning" I want to say, that when You long-press the power button on device it seems that a program PowerOffWarning.exe (wich You can find in \wndows dri.) is launched, and You can see the message box "Power will be turned off ...".
This is not my discovery, this is a standard HTC feature ... and a found it here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=424235 (middle of page) ...
That's all
20th July 2009, 06:54 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggz

Looks nice - good effort mate

Appreciate, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by angler

Thanks for the software. One of the file name in shortcut folder seems mispelling "standbay" instead of "standby".

I'll replace, emotions perhaps , thanks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

Hmmm i didn't do that. I copied the program into the windows directory and changed the name to poweroffwarning.exe and i had to copy the images folder too

Sorry, but ... why you are doing this ... You don't need to copy the program into windows, You can do this of course, but ... I think there is no need for ...
And about PowerOffWarning, I repeat that this is a HTC program, not mine, and if in \win. dir is no such file, the renaming of SVMPowerMgr to PowerOff will not help.
Regards.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes