Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[APP]SVMPowerMgr 2.0 - Yet another power comm. utility

OP s.virtan

17th July 2009, 01:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Hello.

Firts of all sorry for my bad english.

I know that there is enough applications like this, but I've decided to write my own application, as a beginning for learn embeded C++ and mobile devices development. So, because this is my first app. in such domain, please don't punch me .

May be "power manager" sounds hard, this app. do exactly the same as per example psShotXP, namely:
- turn off the screen of Your device
- put the device in suspended mode
- soft reset the device
- turn off the device (HTC devs.).
- turn on/off wifi
- turn on/off phone module
- turn on/off bluetooth (make discoverable/invisible)
- switch phone bands Auto-2G-3G

You also can create 4 shortcuts to the program with parameters:
0 - turn off the screen of Your device
1 - put the device in suspended mode
2 - soft reset the device
3 - turn off the device.
4 - turn on/off phone module
5 - turn on/off wifi
6 - turn on/off bluetooth

You can change the images of backrounds button separator and buttons, they will be located in "Images" folder after install. With one restriction: now the buttons are black, so if you change the back of main program, consider this ...

Remarks: To close the main window you must tap anywhere outside the buttons or in space between buttons. Also to close additional windows tap the Close button or empty space of window.

P.S.
Discoverable/invisible mode for bluetooth is working on Microsoft stacks, on broadcom is to be developped (works just on/off bluetooth)

P.S. Supported screen resolutions: QVGA (240x320), Square (240x240), SquareQVGA (320x320), VGA(480x640), Square VGA (480x480), WVGA (480x800)

Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen01.jpg
Views:	5702
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	261246   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen02.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	261247   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen03.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	20.9 KB
ID:	261248  
Attached Files
File Type: cab SVMPowerMgr.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (286.7 KB, 1276 views)
Last edited by s.virtan; 28th December 2009 at 02:33 PM. Reason: Update, new version
17th July 2009, 04:28 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
517 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Looks nice - good effort mate
17th July 2009, 08:07 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
371 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Hi

Works fine on Touch Diamond 2. Thanks

I am myself a developer and I was looking for a way to shut down the device from a shortcut. With the keyword "PowerOffWarning" from you I finally found the solution.
17th July 2009, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
Bxsteez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 70
 
2,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s.virtan

Hello.


About "turn off". I've tested these only on my Touch HD, and i've used the functionality of this device :PowerOffWarning (when you long-press the power button). May be this will work on Diamond too, i do not have them...


Regards.

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this
18th July 2009, 05:49 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 5
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Thanks for the software. One of the file name in shortcut folder seems mispelling "standbay" instead of "standby".
18th July 2009, 11:29 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this

Hi there, just copy the createt Shortcut SV*.lnk from /Windows/Startmenu/etc... into /Windows and rename it into "Long_Power.lnk". And thats it. Simply but powerfull.

Greats Tom
19th July 2009, 05:34 PM   |  #7  
Bxsteez's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 70
 
2,140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Hmmm i didn't do that. I copied the program into the windows directory and changed the name to poweroffwarning.exe and i had to copy the images folder too
20th July 2009, 07:10 AM   |  #8  
rjmjr69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southie
Thanks Meter: 116
 
1,775 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Cuts the cleartype font out using this
20th July 2009, 07:44 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

I might be a good idea to add an explanation on how to do this

Hi.
By "PowerOffWarning" I want to say, that when You long-press the power button on device it seems that a program PowerOffWarning.exe (wich You can find in \wndows dri.) is launched, and You can see the message box "Power will be turned off ...".
This is not my discovery, this is a standard HTC feature ... and a found it here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=424235 (middle of page) ...
That's all
20th July 2009, 07:54 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggz

Looks nice - good effort mate

Appreciate, thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by angler

Thanks for the software. One of the file name in shortcut folder seems mispelling "standbay" instead of "standby".

I'll replace, emotions perhaps , thanks ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bxsteez

Hmmm i didn't do that. I copied the program into the windows directory and changed the name to poweroffwarning.exe and i had to copy the images folder too

Sorry, but ... why you are doing this ... You don't need to copy the program into windows, You can do this of course, but ... I think there is no need for ...
And about PowerOffWarning, I repeat that this is a HTC program, not mine, and if in \win. dir is no such file, the renaming of SVMPowerMgr to PowerOff will not help.
Regards.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes