Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Android - HTC Dream/Magic - Fido APN/MMS Settings

OP vladkor

17th July 2009, 10:20 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Hello all,

I thought that it would be good to share this with the rest of the world.

I'm using the HTC Magic on fido, and for the longest time I had trouble finding working fido MMS APN settings. Most of what I could find via a google search referenced just setting up one APN, quoted various proxies, server addresses - let's just say a lot of contradicting information.

Finally - I did a quick search about the APN Type (the last field in the APN setup screen). I solved my MMS worries by setting up two APNs with different types.

So without further delay, here's the good stuff.

APN1 [this one will have the radio button beside it]
Name: fido internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Username: fido
Password: fido
APN Type: default
(all other fields blank)

APN2 [this one will not have any radio button beside it]
Name: fido mms
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: http://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.011.013
APN Type: mms
(all other fields blank)

Hope this helps!

(Sorry if someone already posted this.)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vladkor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th January 2010, 10:33 PM   |  #2  
olvap377's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
thanks i needed this
18th January 2010, 05:19 AM   |  #3  
Dave778's Avatar
Senior Member
Vancouver, BC
Thanks Meter: 58
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladkor

Hello all,

I thought that it would be good to share this with the rest of the world.

I'm using the HTC Magic on fido, and for the longest time I had trouble finding working fido MMS APN settings. Most of what I could find via a google search referenced just setting up one APN, quoted various proxies, server addresses - let's just say a lot of contradicting information.

Finally - I did a quick search about the APN Type (the last field in the APN setup screen). I solved my MMS worries by setting up two APNs with different types.

So without further delay, here's the good stuff.

APN1 [this one will have the radio button beside it]
Name: fido internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Username: fido
Password: fido
APN Type: default
(all other fields blank)

APN2 [this one will not have any radio button beside it]
Name: fido mms
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: http://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.011.013
APN Type: mms
(all other fields blank)

Hope this helps!

(Sorry if someone already posted this.)

PERFECT! I had the internet settings but not mms. other sites are giving incorrect mms settings for Fido, But U R DA MAN!
28th January 2010, 06:13 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Montreal
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Data plan blocked?
Is it possible Fido applied the data plan shutdown to unlocked phone owners too? See article “Rogers Canada forces Android update that takes away root access” on boingboing.net.

I had good 3G bandwidth in the morning and no more connection in the afternoon. Still offline

Anyone else experiencing the same troubles?

They might have changed the APN credentials...
11th February 2010, 06:10 AM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
I recently got my sister's Rogers Dream ... NOT unlocked or anything...and i have the old sim from about 5 years ago....(don't know if that is the reason)

but these FIDO APN settings are not working for me!
17th June 2010, 09:28 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DomMTL

Is it possible Fido applied the data plan shutdown to unlocked phone owners too? See article “Rogers Canada forces Android update that takes away root access” on boingboing.net.

I had good 3G bandwidth in the morning and no more connection in the afternoon. Still offline

Anyone else experiencing the same troubles?

They might have changed the APN credentials...

Hey do you still have this problem? Because I do and I'd like to fix it. Do you think that Rogers ban extends to Fido customers as well (since they use the same network)?
29th October 2010, 03:42 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag NewYork
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
This may help you to solve the problem.
Figured it out today thanks to all the other information here.

Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Acces Point Names

Create a new one for each:

Internet

Name: Fido Internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Proxy: 205.151.11.11
Username: fido
Password: fido
MCC: 302
MCN: 370

MMS

Name: Fido MMS
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: htp://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.11.13
MMS Port: 8080 (still needs to be confirmed, I didn't want to test too much without unlimited MMS)
Username: fido
Password: fido
MCC: 302
MCN: 370
APN Type: mms


So far it works!
2nd January 2011, 08:14 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
These settings worked awesome for me. I have a Rogers Samsung Galaxy S Captivate. I unlocked it to use on Fido's network. At first, my voice worked fine, but no data. These APN settings now have my data working. Thank you so much for posting this!
19th March 2011, 03:53 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I'm using these settings on an unlocked Atrix and no luck at all. How long does it usually take for these settings to work?
19th March 2011, 05:04 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Suffolk, VA
Thanks Meter: 162
 
1,596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cluett

I'm using these settings on an unlocked Atrix and no luck at all. How long does it usually take for these settings to work?

Should be nearly instant if they are right.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, apn, fido, mms
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes