Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 42,085 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Android - HTC Dream/Magic - Fido APN/MMS Settings

Tip us?
 
vladkor
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Default Android - HTC Dream/Magic - Fido APN/MMS Settings

Hello all,

I thought that it would be good to share this with the rest of the world.

I'm using the HTC Magic on fido, and for the longest time I had trouble finding working fido MMS APN settings. Most of what I could find via a google search referenced just setting up one APN, quoted various proxies, server addresses - let's just say a lot of contradicting information.

Finally - I did a quick search about the APN Type (the last field in the APN setup screen). I solved my MMS worries by setting up two APNs with different types.

So without further delay, here's the good stuff.

APN1 [this one will have the radio button beside it]
Name: fido internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Username: fido
Password: fido
APN Type: default
(all other fields blank)

APN2 [this one will not have any radio button beside it]
Name: fido mms
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: http://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.011.013
APN Type: mms
(all other fields blank)

Hope this helps!

(Sorry if someone already posted this.)
Nexus One ~ MIUI 1.1.21
Nexus S ~ Gingerbread 2.3.2 (stock)

WIND Mobile
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vladkor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
olvap377
Old
#2  
olvap377's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 172
Join Date: Oct 2008
thanks i needed this
HTC Dream --> Galaxy S --> S2 --> S3 --> S4
 
Dave778
Old
#3  
Dave778's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 403
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladkor View Post
Hello all,

I thought that it would be good to share this with the rest of the world.

I'm using the HTC Magic on fido, and for the longest time I had trouble finding working fido MMS APN settings. Most of what I could find via a google search referenced just setting up one APN, quoted various proxies, server addresses - let's just say a lot of contradicting information.

Finally - I did a quick search about the APN Type (the last field in the APN setup screen). I solved my MMS worries by setting up two APNs with different types.

So without further delay, here's the good stuff.

APN1 [this one will have the radio button beside it]
Name: fido internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Username: fido
Password: fido
APN Type: default
(all other fields blank)

APN2 [this one will not have any radio button beside it]
Name: fido mms
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: http://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.011.013
APN Type: mms
(all other fields blank)

Hope this helps!

(Sorry if someone already posted this.)
PERFECT! I had the internet settings but not mms. other sites are giving incorrect mms settings for Fido, But U R DA MAN!
Cellular
-Device: Google Nexus 5 16GB
-ROM: Stock
-Kernel: Franco r12
-Recovery : TWRP 2.6.3.2

Plan
-Rogers
-City Fido Unlimited $35 (talk, txt, conference calling)
-6GB LTE Data Add-on $30 (tethering inc)
-Value Pack $11 (call display, visual voicemail, unlimited pic+video msgs)
 
DomMTL
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal
Default Data plan blocked?

Is it possible Fido applied the data plan shutdown to unlocked phone owners too? See article “Rogers Canada forces Android update that takes away root access” on boingboing.net.

I had good 3G bandwidth in the morning and no more connection in the afternoon. Still offline

Anyone else experiencing the same troubles?

They might have changed the APN credentials...
 
agychan
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto
I recently got my sister's Rogers Dream ... NOT unlocked or anything...and i have the old sim from about 5 years ago....(don't know if that is the reason)

but these FIDO APN settings are not working for me!
 
coolzor
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DomMTL View Post
Is it possible Fido applied the data plan shutdown to unlocked phone owners too? See article “Rogers Canada forces Android update that takes away root access” on boingboing.net.

I had good 3G bandwidth in the morning and no more connection in the afternoon. Still offline

Anyone else experiencing the same troubles?

They might have changed the APN credentials...
Hey do you still have this problem? Because I do and I'd like to fix it. Do you think that Rogers ban extends to Fido customers as well (since they use the same network)?
 
petrovlucca
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NewYork
This may help you to solve the problem.
Figured it out today thanks to all the other information here.

Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks -> Acces Point Names

Create a new one for each:

Internet

Name: Fido Internet
APN: internet.fido.ca
Proxy: 205.151.11.11
Username: fido
Password: fido
MCC: 302
MCN: 370

MMS

Name: Fido MMS
APN: mms.fido.ca
MMSC: htp://mms.fido.ca
MMS Proxy: 205.151.11.13
MMS Port: 8080 (still needs to be confirmed, I didn't want to test too much without unlimited MMS)
Username: fido
Password: fido
MCC: 302
MCN: 370
APN Type: mms


So far it works!
 
Mishhu
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2011
These settings worked awesome for me. I have a Rogers Samsung Galaxy S Captivate. I unlocked it to use on Fido's network. At first, my voice worked fine, but no data. These APN settings now have my data working. Thank you so much for posting this!
 
Cluett
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2011
I'm using these settings on an unlocked Atrix and no luck at all. How long does it usually take for these settings to work?
 
DonJuan692006
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 162
Posts: 1,587
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cluett View Post
I'm using these settings on an unlocked Atrix and no luck at all. How long does it usually take for these settings to work?
Should be nearly instant if they are right.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Tapatalk
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB, Verizon
Current ROM: Gummy 1.1

Click me to root your myTouch 1.2/Fender (3.5mm jack) the old school way.
Click me to root your myTouch (regardless of version) the new school way.

If I've helped you out and you're grateful, buy me a Redbull. (Not a beer fan )



Tags
android, apn, fido, mms
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more