Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,733 Members 53,844 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Confused on the Willow/Maple

Tip us?
 
mbardsley
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Confused on the Willow/Maple

I have found people refrencing the HTC Verizon Ozone as the same as the the other units. I found the Ozone to be running a Qualcom MSM7625 CPU, along with the HTC Snap (Spring) (HTC Willow 100). The HTC Dash 3G (T-Mobile) (HTC Maple 100), the HTC Snap (HTC Maple 100), and the HTC S522 (HTC Maple 120) all using the Qaulcomm MSM7225 processor.

So how can they all be able to be in "Maple", You think we can get one ROM to work for all.

I am new to this, tried to get a dump of the ROM off mine. Was trying the method used on the Hermies. Any ideas to get this ROM dumped. Dump, Compare, Share!
 
SoCalSpecialist
Old
#2  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 531
Posts: 2,871
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Maple is the general name for it..

see when it comes to HTC and carriers its like an umbrella corporation so to speak for all of them.

u have HTC sitting on top, with there given name : Maple
then would come the carrier names ex : Verizon's Ozone, Sprint's Snap, and T-Mobile's Dash 3G, is this making sense??

everything else is just the guts of the device..which as well is carrier specific, because all carriers work on diff networks read from diff satellites.

hopefully this somewhat explains the way it works.

Later
 
mbardsley
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2008
Just dont want to turn it into a brick. Was concerned bewteen the two code names Willow and Maple, both using different Processors.


Now how about getting a dump on this bad boy
 
ookba
Old
#4  
ookba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 102
Posts: 1,480
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbardsley View Post
I have found people refrencing the HTC Verizon Ozone as the same as the the other units. I found the Ozone to be running a Qualcom MSM7625 CPU, along with the HTC Snap (Spring) (HTC Willow 100). The HTC Dash 3G (T-Mobile) (HTC Maple 100), the HTC Snap (HTC Maple 100), and the HTC S522 (HTC Maple 120) all using the Qaulcomm MSM7225 processor.

So how can they all be able to be in "Maple", You think we can get one ROM to work for all.

I am new to this, tried to get a dump of the ROM off mine. Was trying the method used on the Hermies. Any ideas to get this ROM dumped. Dump, Compare, Share!
MAPLE = GSM/WCDMA (TMO, ATT, etc.)
WILLOW = CDMA (Sprint, Verizon, Telus, etc.)

Different hardware in general from what I have learned. There should be a Willow forum.
Current devices: GS5, GS4

Current projects: GS5 wireless charging and magnetic dock (link coming soon)

Support me so I can support you!
Donations VERY much appreciated! Or just hit "thanks" if I helped you!
 
mbardsley
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 33
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ookba View Post
MAPLE = GSM/WCDMA (TMO, ATT, etc.)
WILLOW = CDMA (Sprint, Verizon, Telus, etc.)

Different hardware in general from what I have learned. There should be a Willow forum.
That is what I thought from my computer background. Different processor, different ROM codes. So how do we seperate and make a new catagory for the Willow
 
jtraveler
Old
(Last edited by jtraveler; 20th July 2009 at 12:43 PM.)
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 34
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ookba View Post
MAPLE = GSM/WCDMA (TMO, ATT, etc.)
WILLOW = CDMA (Sprint, Verizon, Telus, etc.)

Different hardware in general from what I have learned. There should be a Willow forum.
Wow.

This is rather interesting. But also quite disappointing. I guess this is why there won't be any custom ROM's for the Ozone anytime soon. Bummer.

Perhaps the administration should create a small section to isolate the Excalibur, Maple, and Willow. A non-touch screen section.

Just a thought.
Verizon ---> HTC Ozone (Cedar)
Alltel ------> Palm Treo Pro (850e)
Alltel ------> HTC PPC6800 (Titan)
Alltel ------> Motorola Q

>>----> Search for the "Flying Dutchman" in Google Maps. <----<<
 
SoCalSpecialist
Old
#7  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 531
Posts: 2,871
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtraveler View Post
Wow.

This is rather interesting. But also quite disappointing. I guess this is why there won't be any custom ROM's for the Ozone anytime soon. Bummer.

Perhaps the administration should create a small section to isolate the Excalibur, Maple, and Willow. A non-touch screen section.

Just a thought.
well thats a down-er!
i kno its a bit of a noobish question, but why not??

..i dont quite understand the whole procedure for making a ROM
 
tutivillus
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Ozone specs in detail

For those needing the raw specs on the Ozone, Here they are.

Here are the specs on the Qualcomm MSM7625 RISC Chipset

Enjoy!

-Tutivillus

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more