XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

Got a new replacement G1

21st July 2009, 10:41 PM   |  #1  
robbie725's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairless Hills, Pa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Got a quick question for everyone, although I may already know the answer myself but it does not hurt to just ask to make sure.

My daughter come home from college this past weekend and on Friday night was attending (a non-alcohol I am sure) party, anyway several of her friends decided that it would be cool to throw her in the pool. Well they did, and looking at the many pictures I got to see I can see her holding her G1 in her hand and the look of "don't" in her face as they let her go into the water and she let go of the phone and it sank to the bottom amid all the confusion and the the several hundred kids in the pool she could not locate it at the bottom since it was white for about 10 minutes. Long story short I have insurance on it and just got the new replacement today!

This is my question I naturally want to get it rooted again and I know how to do that, but can I root the phone without a sim card? Since she took her sim card out of the wet G1 and put it in her hacked Iphone(dare i say that word) to use until I got the new G1. I want to root it, get it back to Cyan's ROM then send it to her at college so she can just put the sim card back into the new one. Is that possible by using the "skip this part" after flashing a new ROM when it asks to sign into your Google account?

thanks in advance...

Peace!
21st July 2009, 10:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Yes i believe you can do it without a sim card. I think Stericson found a way to do it, so you might want to search and try to find it. Or why don't you put in your sim card and root it?Unless of course you don't have t-mobile.

You can skip that part if its an adp version. But I can't remember if cynogen's rom has that option.
Last edited by TurboTsi; 21st July 2009 at 10:53 PM.
21st July 2009, 10:56 PM   |  #3  
robbie725's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairless Hills, Pa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboTsi

Yes i believe you can do it without a sim card. I think Stericson found a way to do it, so you might want to search and try to find it. Or why don't you put in your sim card and root it?Unless of course you don't have t-mobile.

You can skip that part if its an adp version. But I can't remember if cynogen's rom has that option.


Turbo Tsi... thanks, I have T-Mobile as well... I thought I had read somewhere in these forums that the phones were sim card specific? Meaning that once it is registered to that phone with the sim inserted then that sim follows that phone? If that is not the case I will be doing the rooting tonight... And yes Cynogen's rom has that option... guess I should just try it...!

peace
22nd July 2009, 12:12 AM   |  #4  
JoshHart's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
413 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
I'm 99% sure it will work fine if you put your sim card in to do it, but you should also be able to do it fine without the connection, just flash flash flash, then send it to her and she can put hers in and do the initial set up.
22nd July 2009, 12:28 AM   |  #5  
robbie725's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairless Hills, Pa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Thanks
Thanks going to go at with my sim card installed and see what happens...


peace
22nd July 2009, 03:08 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Robbie, this is what you need
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...light=register
big credit goes to JesusFreke
22nd July 2009, 11:22 AM   |  #7  
robbie725's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Fairless Hills, Pa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phuthanvinh

Robbie, this is what you need
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...light=register
big credit goes to JesusFreke

Awesome link thanks Phuthanvin!!!!!


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes