FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Hero root method (tested on Orange UK)

28th July 2009, 08:18 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hi, I've only tried this on a single HTC Hero from Orange UK. I'm about to order one myself, so I'll report back whether it works on there too.

This file (3mb ish) contains the unmodified boot.img dumped from the phone, as well as boot.img.insecure, which is modified to turn off security (exact details here)

I've been testing this with the following method. Obviously if you try this it is at your own risk. You'll need a copy of "fastboot".

1) Decompress zip
2) Attach phone to USB.
3) Turn phone off.
4) Press and hold the back button, then press "power".
5) You should be in the bootloader, and it should say "FASTBOOT USB".
6) On your PC, run "fastboot boot boot.img.insecure".

The phone should boot normally. However, if you do a normal "adb shell", that shell will be running as root.

Note that this doesn't actually flash the phone; it simply uploads a kernel and tells it to boot it. On reboot, it will return to the original secured rom stored on the phone. Of course if you make changes to the filing systems as root, those will be stored to flash.
Last edited by adq; 28th July 2009 at 08:24 PM.
 
 
28th July 2009, 09:31 PM |#2  
Member
Southern California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I just flashed your boot.img onto my HTC branded hero and it work just fine. Thank you sir.

Edit: Hmm just lost wifi capability. Reverting back to stock boot.img
Last edited by JWallstreet; 29th July 2009 at 12:43 AM.
30th July 2009, 08:01 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i'm guessing there isn't much point in rooting until a newer device/os comes out?
30th July 2009, 08:18 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Will it Work 4 me
I have ordered a sim free phone from the UK (I'm from Israel)
and i need root access to be able to install more font's .

Will this work for me ?

Thanks
30th July 2009, 10:47 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWallstreet

I just flashed your boot.img onto my HTC branded hero and it work just fine. Thank you sir.

Edit: Hmm just lost wifi capability. Reverting back to stock boot.img

Jwallstreet, try verifying you use the /system/lib/modules/wlan.ko which matches the kernel version you are booting.
It has to be the same build otherwise linux kernel doesn't load the wifi kernel module and your wifi won't work.
30th July 2009, 10:53 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fakeer

I have ordered a sim free phone from the UK (I'm from Israel)
and i need root access to be able to install more font's .

Will this work for me ?

Thanks

It depends on the firmware you'll get on your hero.
Until now it seems all HERO owners reported an SPL able to fastboot rom images.
30th July 2009, 11:11 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My Hero Version
Until now it seems all HERO owners reported an SPL able to fastboot rom images. ?

That is SPL ?
how can i know if i got the "good" version ?
30th July 2009, 11:59 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Without actually trying to boot an image, the best method I can think of would be to turn it on holding down the BACK button to enter the bootloader, and see what HBOOT version it says it has. Mine says "HBOOT-1.76.0004 (HERO10000)"
31st July 2009, 12:41 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daldroid

Jwallstreet, try verifying you use the /system/lib/modules/wlan.ko which matches the kernel version you are booting.
It has to be the same build otherwise linux kernel doesn't load the wifi kernel module and your wifi won't work.

Running "lsmod" under an adb shell will tell you whether the wifi module is loaded or not. That works even on an un-rooted phone. Mine says:

Code:
wlan 591348 1 - Live 0xbf000000
31st July 2009, 01:32 AM |#10  
barakinflorida's Avatar
Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
and they say we are a bit back on some things...
nice to know there are android pips in Israel...

Quote:
Originally Posted by fakeer

I have ordered a sim free phone from the UK (I'm from Israel)
and i need root access to be able to install more font's .

Will this work for me ?

Thanks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes