Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,027 Members 48,232 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP][Jun 17 2010][WWE] GPS Enabled Weather Radar. Version 2.5

Tip us?
 
avs777
Old
(Last edited by avs777; 29th June 2010 at 08:27 PM.) Reason: update
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Default [APP][Jun 17 2010][WWE] GPS Enabled Weather Radar. Version 2.5

Version 2.5 now available!

There are two cabs one for WM Pro, another for WM Standard.
Make sure you install the correct one for your device.

*Note: This application utilizes data connection. Unlimited data plan is recommended.
*Note: This application relies on third party webservices that are subject to change without notice.

*Note: Radar and Satellite data is not available in all regions.

Features:
- Gets weather radar for current GPS location or using cell towers
(to get location using cell towers uncheck "Use GPS" in Settings)
- Ability to manually enter location (see post #327)
- Click anywhere on the map to move to that location
- Different zoom levels
- Animated radar loop
- Multiple resolutions (VGA,QVGA,WVGA,WQVGA) Portrait/Landscape/Square
- Integrates with Showaco TitaniumWeather 4.2 PlugIn
System Requirements:
- WinMo 6 or higher
- .Net CF 3.5
Version History:
2.5
- Option to show/hide GPS details on radar/satellite location update.
- Shows frame postion when in a loop (as -+----, --+---, etc.).
- Other minor improvements and code clean up.
2.4
- Autoupdate radar based on set interval (5 - 60 min, Settings -> Misc -> Auto update interval) (see post #327).
. . Tap Update -> Auto Update, then
. . Update -> Radar - will refresh radar image for current location every n minutes.
. . . - or -
. . Update -> Location + Radar - will acquire new position and get radar image for it every n minutes.
- Ability to store/open custom urls. (opens in your default browser) (see post #344)
. . You can pass application parameters into the urls using custom tags (see Tips & Tricks below)
- Tap and move the map feature.
- Thanks to siddsm we now have Australia radar available in the app!
2.3.1
- Satellite loop is now available for Europe, Africa (15 minute increments) and Asia (30 minute increments).
- Faster update speed.
- Option to show radar/satellite legend.
- Other minor improvements.
2.2.05
- Speed and stability improvements.
- Other minor fixes.
2.2.04
- Added option to cancel radar update.
- Other minor fixes.
2.2.03
- Some minor fixes.
2.2.02
- Added a version for WM Standard (non touchscreen).
- Other minor enhancements.
2.2.01
- Fixed a bug where culture specific decimal formatting prevented GPS fix in Raw interface mode.
- Fixed a bug where in some cases radar image was 1 hour older than what the app showed.
- Webservice enhancements.
2.1.01
- Fixed a bug where culture specific decimal formatting did not allow correct Radar/Satellite image to be downloaded.
2.1
- Fixed reg file to import the GPS Radar to the Titanium Weather (thanks MysticGenius)
- Minor fixes
2.0
- New source of Map/Radar/Satellite data
- Support for more locations - USA, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Asia, Brazil, Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean
(126W,50N - 66W,24N; 57.4922W,57.4922N - 57.4922E,57.4922S; 57.4923E,59.7901N - 116.7913E,59.7901S)

See it in action:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XJpS87Dxhno

Download:

Go to http://www.gps-weather-radar.com to download latest version.


Instructions:

Just download the cab and run it on the device. Go under programs and click the GPSWeatherRadar icon to run the app.

Tips & Tricks:

- Sometimes radar/satellite image may not be displayed due to ... lack of rain in your area lucky you!
Try zooming out to a wider area, it most likely rains somewhere else

- To integrate with Showaco TitaniumWeather 4.2 PlugIn import "GPS WR Tit Wthr Add On.reg" file located in Program Files\GPSWeatherRadar after installation.
Or use this cab http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...7&d=1249440283 provided by climber1872000
- To back up settings make a copy of files lctn.xml and gwr.config located in Program Files\GPSWeatherRadar.

Custom URL tags:
#culture# - Current UI Culture (ex. "en-EN","ru-RU", etc.)
#region# - Region (ex. "NAM", "EUR"
#state# - State or province
#city# - City
#zip# - Postal code
#country# - Country
#animate# - Animate flag (1 or 0)
#lat# - Current Latitude as ##.############0
#lon# - Current Longitude as ###.############0
#geowidth# - Geowidth or Zoom level
#height# - Image height
#width# - Image width
#framecount# - Number of frames in a loop
#interval# - Loop interval

Screenshots:








Enjoy!
HTC Surround
WP7
 
Hdstreetglide
Old
#2  
Hdstreetglide's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 769
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
This looks very promising. Thanks for sharing. I'll try it and report back.
 
p50kombi
Old
#3  
p50kombi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 136
Posts: 1,564
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default International?

Cool app..
Been looking for something like this...
Only thing is, I don't think it supports radar images outside the USA, or does it?
I live in the UK, any chance of implementing UK radar images?
************

Live long and prosper... or something like that... maybe..
If you'd like to of course...ahh who cares anyway.....do what you like!!!

Using HTC ONE M8, unbranded, S-Off and Super-CID on EE UK Network
ROM: ARHD 10.x
Kernel: Elementalx
Radio: the one that comes with the latest ARHD rom



 
harvblain
Old
(Last edited by harvblain; 4th August 2009 at 04:16 PM.)
#4  
harvblain's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 58
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default Can't get it to work

On My Fuze. Even with the GPS running (GPS Test shows active) the program just keeps searching for the GPS signal and never seems to connect or find the satellites when I hit update location & radar.
T-Mo HTC HD7 - Mango RTM
Unlocked DVP - Nodo
 
RavenTBK
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Apalachicola Natl Forest, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvblain View Post
On My Fuze. Even with the GPS running (GPS Test shows active) the program just keeps searching for the GPS signal and never seems to connect or fine the satellites when I hit update location & radar.
Same deal here. Raphael 800 (TouchPro), CDMA (Sprint), NFSFAN 110 rom. GPS seems to search forever with no result. PSBTW, yes I did verify the com port setting/baud rate.

Other than that, its an awesome idea. Would definitely fill a void in my arsenal. There are plenty of times in my travels I have no idea where I am, but have a need for knowing where the rain is in relation to me.

If there is anything I can do to assist with this application's development, let me know.
 
karatche
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 353
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinatti
Quote:
Originally Posted by harvblain View Post
On My Fuze. Even with the GPS running (GPS Test shows active) the program just keeps searching for the GPS signal and never seems to connect or fine the satellites when I hit update location & radar.
Bump this. The first time I started the program it found 3 sats, but cant find any now. GPS test showing 6 sats. Any ideas? I like the concept of the program.
 
BiggJurk
Old
#7  
BiggJurk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 284
Join Date: Dec 2008
Great App, thanks! I have not been able to connect to satellites either but I am not convinced its the app yet. Also I put in my city, state, and zip but it seems depended on GPS, it would be cool to have the option.
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
(Last edited by Captain_Throwback; 4th August 2009 at 05:23 PM.)
#8  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8757
Posts: 10,155
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggJurk View Post
Great App, thanks! I have not been able to connect to satellites either but I am not convinced its the app yet. Also I put in my city, state, and zip but it seems depended on GPS, it would be cool to have the option.
I agree that there should be an option to choose whether to use GPS for location or not. Not having such a toggle really makes most of the Settings useless.

I've also been unable to get the GPS portion working. GPS Test gets a fix in seconds, but it took this app a few minutes just to show anything, but I still couldn't get a fix.

But I must say, I really like this idea. I actually combined this into my TitaniumWeather 4.2 cab so I can have it all installed at once , replacing TitaniumRadar which was too difficult to use IMO.
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
 
avs777
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by p50kombi View Post
Cool app..
Been looking for something like this...
Only thing is, I don't think it supports radar images outside the USA, or does it?
I live in the UK, any chance of implementing UK radar images?
It's possible if there is a similar webservice available that provides radar data for Europe. However satellite views should work as is.
HTC Surround
WP7
 
avs777
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 120
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatche View Post
Bump this. The first time I started the program it found 3 sats, but cant find any now. GPS test showing 6 sats. Any ideas? I like the concept of the program.
I had similar problem running it under NETCF 3.5 Not sure if this is the case here. Will look into it further. Thanks for the feedback.
HTC Surround
WP7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more