Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,667 Members 48,938 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nandroid for Hero

Tip us?
 
IseeBrickedPhones
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 54
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Nandroid for Hero

Anyone got Nanadroid working with Hero yet?

Need to take a back up on my device before I start playing around with it!
 
enlightener
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 134
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rome
recovery.img with nandroid here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=543571
It's all about choices
 
Dayzee
Old
#3  
Dayzee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 330
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester UK
Beat me to it - I did a successful Nandroid backup today before I rooted my Hero. So I guess if I need to I can restore that unrooted image. I used the recovery image in the rooting thread above xx
G1 - Google Ion - HTC Hero - Milestone - Nexus One - Desire Z - Galaxy S2 - Galaxy S3 - Samsung Galaxy 4 currently using Omega Rom

Twitter : @daized

My Amazon Author's Profile
 
frandavid100
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valencia
Hi Dayzee,

I'm pretty new to all this, su just to be on the safe side: does your method (linked above) allow me to make a full backup of everything I have in my phone now, and to restore that backup if / when I brick it trying to root it or install a different build?

Thanks in advance.
 
minogue
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 487
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Elizabeth
Quote:
Originally Posted by frandavid100 View Post
Hi Dayzee,

I'm pretty new to all this, su just to be on the safe side: does your method (linked above) allow me to make a full backup of everything I have in my phone now, and to restore that backup if / when I brick it trying to root it or install a different build?

Thanks in advance.
yes it will restore whatever you had when you made the backup inlcuding setting and just anything you can imagine.
 
Dayzee
Old
#6  
Dayzee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 330
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manchester UK
i think that is what Nandroid does, but I've never had to restore from a backup so can't be sure - any thread or wiki on Nandroid will tell you.

The recovery image that you boot during the rooting process has Nandroid built in - when you get to the recovery console screen, scroll down to Nandroid back up and press the scroll wheel - away it goes, and then says back up completed - the file is then on your SD card in a folder called Nandroid and from the looks of the console, to restore, you'd just scroll to that option and press the scroll button.

If you're in doubt - do nowt - that's my moto. But good luck if you want to have a go

Dayzee
G1 - Google Ion - HTC Hero - Milestone - Nexus One - Desire Z - Galaxy S2 - Galaxy S3 - Samsung Galaxy 4 currently using Omega Rom

Twitter : @daized

My Amazon Author's Profile
 
frandavid100
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 385
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valencia
Thanks minogue, that's relieving. I'd like to start learning to make the most of my hero, but I'm quite afraid of breaking it, what with being so expensive and me having a monthly data fee for it and all.
 
Phil_UK
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 283
Join Date: Jul 2009
Hi,
What is the image 'cm-hero-recovery.img' exactly?

Is it a particular Hero release? I presume this is the image of the rooted hero....but how does it compare to the unlocked HTC supplied Hero? Are there missing applications, widgets etc...?

Thanks
Phil
 
roeblerrieland
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default n00b question no. 1

I'm new to Android so I suspect you'll need to be patient with me, very patient. I'm trying to backup my device but I've been unsuccessful so far. This is what I'm doing:

1. Power down handset
2. Power handset back up(holding down back key) This brings up the Fastboot, I think, screen.
3. Plug in USB cable
4. Fire up CMD.exe
5. Enter "fastboot boot cm-hero-recovery.img" - this brings up Android system recovery screen.
6. but now when I select "[Alt+B]Nandroid v2.2 backup" it says performing backup for a second or so but results in: Error running nandroid backup. Backup not performed.

I tried removing the USB cable but that doesn't help. Any advice/ideas/anything, I'm desperate(not really, maybe a little: ). Thanks
 
enlightener
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 134
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rome
Quote:
Originally Posted by roeblerrieland View Post
I'm new to Android so I suspect you'll need to be patient with me, very patient. I'm trying to backup my device but I've been unsuccessful so far. This is what I'm doing:

1. Power down handset
2. Power handset back up(holding down back key) This brings up the Fastboot, I think, screen.
3. Plug in USB cable
4. Fire up CMD.exe
5. Enter "fastboot boot cm-hero-recovery.img" - this brings up Android system recovery screen.
6. but now when I select "[Alt+B]Nandroid v2.2 backup" it says performing backup for a second or so but results in: Error running nandroid backup. Backup not performed.

I tried removing the USB cable but that doesn't help. Any advice/ideas/anything, I'm desperate(not really, maybe a little: ). Thanks

hmmm, you need to have at least 152 MB + the size of your data partition free on your sdcard.If you have the space and still doesn't work, you can try to do a backup using command line from the recovery:

Code:
Select Code
adb shell
nandroid-mobile.sh -b
ps. nandroid options:
Code:
Select Code
nandroid-mobile v2.1

Usage: /sbin/nandroid-mobile.sh {-b|--backup|-r|--restore|-d|--delete|-u|--getupdate|--webget|--compress|--bzip2} [options]
At least one operation must be defined, try /sbin/nandroid-mobile.sh --help for more information
It's all about choices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...