Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Random data usage

OP Roostlick

7th August 2009, 09:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Hi guys,

Not sure what's happening on my Vodafone Magic...

Rooted it so i could install the HTC (htc_ime) keyboard. All that went fine all working ok. However since i've noticed my phone seems to be randomly using 5mbs of data every few hours. Can see this in netcounter. At one time i actually caught it happening, checked taskiller and closed everything that was running, yet the data still carried on transferring!!!

I've done a wipe to factory and set up again, just checked the phone before it was on 9mb, closed everything in taskiller, left for maybe an hour or two just looked and it now says 14mb.

Any ideas???
8th August 2009, 12:15 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Could be the update problem I had. The phone downloads an update but fails to install (because the phone is rooted otacerts.zip does not match). If you catch it again you should be able to see the download progress in settings software update or the file being created in /cache. As soon as the download completes the update fails quietly and the cycle begins again. I'm looking for a stock ROM but for now I have copied /system/build.props from the ADB JFv1.51 ROM and is seems to have prevented the download from starting.
8th August 2009, 12:50 AM   |  #3  
mitac112's Avatar
Member
Flag Crawley
Thanks Meter: 0
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roostlick

Hi guys,

Not sure what's happening on my Vodafone Magic...

Rooted it so i could install the HTC (htc_ime) keyboard. All that went fine all working ok. However since i've noticed my phone seems to be randomly using 5mbs of data every few hours. Can see this in netcounter. At one time i actually caught it happening, checked taskiller and closed everything that was running, yet the data still carried on transferring!!!

I've done a wipe to factory and set up again, just checked the phone before it was on 9mb, closed everything in taskiller, left for maybe an hour or two just looked and it now says 14mb.

Any ideas???

Turn off Data synchronization and see how it is. Maybe this is sync traffic
8th August 2009, 11:03 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Downloaded JFV1.51 CRB43 ADP (10791) from the jesus freke blog.

adb pushed build.prop to system folder on phone, will leave it a few hours now and see if the data count randomly goes up or not, cheers!

Surely everyone should get this problem when they root? As i haven't put on a custom ROM or installed jesusfrekes stuff, just rooted it to install a keyboard!
8th August 2009, 12:46 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Still doing it, went from 33mb to 37mb.

Could of done the build.prop wrong i guess, do you mind detailing the complete full procedure just in case?

Many thanks!
8th August 2009, 10:16 PM   |  #6  
st0kes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
610 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
I had a very similar problem with my Magic although I don't know if it was downloading 5Mb chunks each time. It was on the stock firmware from Vodafone UK, can't remember if I had rooted at the time ... my Magic was rooted using these instructions: http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

Just interested to see if you did the same? At one point I had noticed 200Mb of data downloaded within one week ... Voda only allows 500Mb per month in their 'fair use' policy.

I didn't ever fix this but wiped and flashed a different ROM, I've been OK since then. Unfortunately Netcounter does not tell you which apps have been doing the downloading!

I didn't have many apps installed but you know how it is, virtually every app in the market requires internet access for something or another.
9th August 2009, 12:49 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Hmmm that sounds very similar to me st0kes.

Left Voda stock rom on, just rooted it to be able to install the htc keyboard and yep i used those instructions you linked to.

Think i will follow your lead and flash to a different ROM this afternoon, thanks for your reply!
10th August 2009, 07:56 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
How did you go flashing a different ROM Roostlick? Which ROM did you try (URL?).

I rooted my Australian Vodafone Magic the day i got it using the same instructions st0kes mentioned. I didn't replace the 'su' program since i didnt need it and seemed like an unnecessary security risk.

Data usage was fine (normal) for the first 2 weeks. Then it started downloading 4.5mb chunks every 2 hours.

Got close to my 1gig cap, so i turned off all data synchronisation. I have just received my bill today to find the cap was blown.... and that these 4.5mb downloads have continued.

Obviously looking to fix it, since i'm already 400mb through this months cap!!

edit: looked at Settings>About phone>System updates> and i can see "Android Update 1.5" waiting to be installed... no surprises its 4.2mb. I hit "download' on the update and it fails silently after downloading, giving a download prompt again.

Found some more info on the OTA updates in JF's blog here.

I'm currently testing the chmod solution:
./adb shell
chmod 000 /cache/download*
10th August 2009, 04:45 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Hi rrfx,

I flashed the phone and installed the rom here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=538633

Think it was the 3.6.8 release 4 version.

That seems to of fixed the problem
10th August 2009, 04:47 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Roostlick,

You have done everything I did to solve the probelm except after I modified build props I did a factory reset and I have not hit the download button in settings->about phone->system updates since I did the factory reset. I still see the download available but it does not download any more.

Do you have the following info in settings->about phone (shows the build.props has been updated properly)?

Model No. = Android Dev Phone 1
Build = dream_dephone_.......

My phone is rooted as done here: http://android-dls.com/wiki/index.ph...=Magic_Rooting

B.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes