5,603,981 Members 42,975 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Should I discontinue the desktop app, now that I have made a mobile app with a cab?
Yes, it's not needed anymore 34 69.39%
No, I like to edit the info on my desktop 15 30.61%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Manila 2.1 and 2.5 JVH3 Weather City Editor - Version 3.7 | updated 1/5/2011

Tip us?
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 20th October 2013 at 07:17 PM.) Reason: Updated version
#1  
JVH3's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Manila 2.1 and 2.5 JVH3 Weather City Editor - Version 3.7 | updated 1/5/2011

Note: you will need to do some work to get this to work now, regarding the website it gets its data from.
The not2advanced site has been down for a while and that is where it gets its data from.
But, a registry entry controls this and you can manually change it and use any site you want.

JVH3 Weather City Editor

Now with Accuweather Code Lookup

Edit the list of available cities and add custom cities for weather.
For use with Manila 2.1 and 2.5. Both TouchFLO 3D and HTC Sense.

Works with TFL3D - Manila 2.1, TFL3D - Manila 2.5, Sense - Manila 2.5.1919xxxx, and Sense - Manila 2.5.1920xxxx - Manila 2.5.2012xxxx
Works with all versions of Sense 2.5, including 2.5.2019xxxx

For older version of TouchFLO 3D (2.0 and earlier), use HTC Weather Master 1.3 (Original) and 2.2 (Rhodium) - UPDATED 4/16/2009 by JoeWilcox

Follow me on twitter for updates: http://www.twitter.com/JVH3_XDA




Upgrade Process
if you are upgrading from a version earlier than September 1st, 2009
1. Backup your current manila file \Windows\2330fc3c_manila manually.
2. Uninstall
3. Install the new version. Do not install to storage card.
4. Copy 2330fc3c_manila to your windowss folder with something like Total Commander.

Upgrade Process
if you are upgrading from the September 1st, 2009 version or later.
1. Uninstall the old version.
2. Install the new version. Do not install to storage card.


UC and Sashimi and XDA_UC?
Reported to work with Sashimi.

No one has reported whether it works or does not work with regular UC, but there should be no reason for it not to, since it does not replace any files.

I install through XDA_UC everytime I flash a ROM.

How to Install the new version.
Copy the cab to your device using active sync.
Install the CAB to the device.
Do not install to storage card.


Usage Instructions.
1. Launch the program from the shortcut off the Start Menu
2. Add, Edit, Copy, View, or Delete Cities.
(Do not delete cities that are currently selected!)

3. Close the program, with the left soft menu - Exit

There is no need to know the offset or msid. This app has a drop down to let you select the timezone.

This app allows you to make changes to your cities without causing world clock issues.

If you like what I've done and want to donate

Would you buy me beer if I gave you this at a bar?
If so, here's a donate link. Every couple bucks adds up.

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...ton_id=7380024


Seriously, if you like this app or find it useful, really donate something, even just a dollar.

Otherwise it's like stiffing the server or bar tender.
You can stiff the server or bar tender, but you shouldn't.

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/websc...ton_id=7380024

As of August 31, 2010 there are 8081 downloads of version 3.5.
I have made less than 5 pennies per user on average. It's gotta be worth at least a dollar to you.

For Accuweather Codes:

See Post #633 For a way to get accuweather codes directly from accuweather for free.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to JVH3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 5th January 2010 at 04:42 AM.)
#2  
JVH3's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Screen Shots - Version 3.3

Screen Shots - Version 3.3

Although none of the pictures show non U.S. cities, this works fine for cities world wide.
For Non U.S. and Canada cities, the State field is not displayed when Adding, Editing, Deleting, or Viewing.
The finger friendly menu options are not my creation.

You must use this Exit menu to automatically restart TouchFLO 3D or HTC Sense.
This is why it was moved to the Left Soft Menu.

Version 3.4
Almost identical to 3.4, so I am not recapturing and uploading tonight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_1_Splash.jpg
Views:	46646
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	263708   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_2_Main.jpg
Views:	46943
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	263709   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_3_Menu.jpg
Views:	46159
Size:	19.8 KB
ID:	263710   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_4_Copy.jpg
Views:	46821
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	263711   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_6_Delete.jpg
Views:	1252
Size:	18.1 KB
ID:	263712  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_8_About.jpg
Views:	1196
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	263713   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_9_Add.jpg
Views:	1159
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	263714   Click image for larger version

Name:	WCE_10_BackupRestore.jpg
Views:	1115
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	263715  

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 3rd March 2010 at 04:59 AM.)
#3  
JVH3's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Comments / Frequently Asked Questions

Comments sent from users with Paypal Donations

17-Dec-09
Awesome app! Installed WCDE on stock VZW rom 2.1M, works perfectly first time! Use zipcode and works too! Fantastic! Thank you very much. John.

30-Dec-09
Just a simple Thank you for all the hard work on Utilities for WinMo, especially Weather City Editor. runscooter

8-Dec-09
Nice tool, John! For your information, I'm using it on my new HD2 and it's working well. Keep up the good work! John (Johnkst)

7-Sep-09
Thanks a lot for the weather DB editor.

17-Nov-09
Thanks for the weather database editor. Consider this your "beer" (BTW, nice way of saying that to have people donate). Thanks again.

21-Nov-09
Thanks for the Weather Editor (used on stock HTC Leo). Just brilliant!

2-Jan-10
thanks for your help with this, so I could add my city to the energy phoenix 2 rom. This is from roloracer!

25-Dec-09
Thanks for your time and your commitment - thanks to people like you I don't want an IPhone ;) Have a happy new year - best wishes from Germany

30-Dec-09
Thanks for your Weather cab and for all your info troubleshooting Energy ROM issues.

8-Nov-09
Thanks for your work on this! RemE

Known Issues
Some users have reproted that this does not install well when flashing a a new ROM and using UC. Just do a normal install after flashing and all will work.

For some version of Sense, such as the new updated Verizon ROM, the country table was removed. There is a post that has a modified file with the country table added back in.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=363

For users of Sense, where the _alias columns were added, accect characters should not be used for city or country. Just use ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ and abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz.
For Russian users, just don't use accent characters, I don't know the Russian alphebet or Russian.

I noticed today, that it did not actually stop HTC Sense. I think it may have been related to the Home Screen Timeout. I have now unchecked that box. I'll have to try it in a few days to see if that clears it up.

I recommend a soft reset before runnning for the first time.
Realistically, with Windows Mobile in general, it's probably a good idea to soft reset everyday even though it's alot better.

FAQ

Will this work for my Rom?
If the ROM uses Manila 2.1 or Manila 2.5, and now Sense 2.5, this will let you edit the database file.
Energy ROM works without modification.
If it works with your ROM and it is not listed here, please post. I will update this page.
Could someone please read through the posts of this thread and make a consolidated list.

This entry is put into the registry:
If it did not originally work with your ROM and you did something not mentioned to make it work, please post and I will add it here.

My Latest Tweet on Twitter:

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 6th January 2011 at 03:34 AM.)
#4  
JVH3's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Development History and Feature Requests

Development History

Updated 1/5/2011 at about 9:30 PM as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.7.CAB
Fixed issue with spaces in city names.
Fixed other timeout exception.
Fixed issue with response stream not being closed after a a request.
Made it so restarting after exitting incorrectly allows you to restart and then exit correctly for Sense to restart.

Updated 1/5/2011 at about 1:00 AM as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.6.CAB
Added Accuweather code lookup within the app.
Fixed targt location of shortcut to Start Menu\Programs so it is in the right spot/
Fixed Name of shortcut, so it has spaces.
Removed conflipper's weather server as an option, since it is no longer a registered website.

Updated 3/15/2010 at 9:00 PM as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.5.CAB
Added ability to pick Conflipper weather server.
Changed icon.
Added support for ROMs that don't have a country table. (Need someone with the updated Verizon ROM that has not applied a previous fix to test this.)
Added ability to add a custom server. (Backup and restore don't work for this setting yet.)

Updated 1/4/2010 at 9:45 PM as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.4.CAB
Fixed issue with Restore. Version 3.3 only worked when restoring from the storage card.
Fixed issue with Enabling Backup and Restore immediately after setting the location for backup and restore.
Note: The initial location is the Storage Card unless changed.

Updated 1/3/2010 at 11:50 PM as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.3.CAB
Fixed hang issues on start and stop when Sense is enabled.
Few other pieces of cleanup.

Updated 1/2/2010 as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.2.CAB
Decreased startup time.
Made backup location configurable.
Splashed some "Sky Blue" color in the app.
Made left soft button the Exit button to avoid accidentally exiting by the X.
Moved the Add City to an item in the right soft menu.
Got rid of crash when selecting Add City without a country selected.

Update 12/26/2009 as JVH3_WeatherCityEditor_v3.1.CAB
Corrects bug in version 3.0 that required either manually shutting down TouchFLO 3D or HTC Sense.

Update 12/23/2009 at about 2:00 AM CST
Fixed SIP issue overlapping the edit fields.
Added splash screen to state that it is shutting down Sense and TouchFLO3D
Backup and Restore now also backs up and restores the list of cities selected on the weather tab.
Version name updated to 3.0 and the CAB is given a new name.
It will shut down and restart HTC Sense and TouchFLO 3D.

Update 11/1/2009
Added support for international versions.

Update 10/31/2009 at about 10:30 PM CST
Added support for Sense 2.5 version 1920 and higher.
Sense 2.5 1919 was supported originally, because the database was the same as Manila TFL3D version 2.5
Shortcut on Start Menu is now Weather City Editor instead of Weather_City_Editor so it word wraps better.

Update 9/01/2009 at about 12:25 AM CST
Fixed issue where the original backup might be readonly
Automatic start and stop of TFL3D
No longer need to make a backup immediately after install to edit. (still a good practice though).

Update 8/23/2009 at about 11:45 PM CST
Added backup and restore.
no longer replace the manila file on install.
create shortcut on install in the Start Menu.
Gave the program an icon.

Update 8/14/2009 at about 11:45 PM CST
Created new cab for the PPC version that has the corrected TimeZones.db file in it. Didn't make any additional changes since the last post.

Update 8/14/2009 at about 7:30 PM CST
Hotfix posted for Venezuala, Mexico, and some other countries. See post #60 for the download.

Update 8/14/2009 at about 3:30 PM CST
I have put a CAB file up to do the install.
I have only tested this by installing to the device, not to storage card.
Back up your manila file if you have already added cities.
I replace it with the default with the install to handle the readonly issue that some experienced.
Also, this adds the registry entry to use the URL.
I still need to add an icon for it.

Update 8/14/2009 at about 1AM CST
I just uploaded a release version of my Windows Mobile App to Edit Manila 2.1 Weather Cities. This handles updates, adds, deletes, and copies.
My unit tests have all worked successfully.

Update 2 for 8/13/2009
Pulled the original Mobile PPC Beta release and put a new on up.
Only one person had downloaded it and this filters the city list by state to speed the load up.

Updated 8/13/2009
Uploaded a mobile version [Beta]. Install is still manual.
Must manually shut down TFL3D before running.
You can add and delete with it.
Copy the exe and the 2 dlls to a folder, maybe create a folder WeatherEdit under Program Files.
Then copy TimeZones.db to the windows folder.
(You will fisrt have to copy it to your device and then copy it with total commander or some other tool.)
Create a shortcut to the exe.
And your ready to go.
It's a little slow (not too bad though) populating all the US cities. I'll add a combo box for state in the next version.

Updated 8/12/2009
Added drop down list to pick the timezone.
Drop down list will show the timezone for the row selected in the grid.
Made the msid and offset columns readonly, since they are now set with the drop down.

Updated 8/10/2009
I have put version 1.1 here.
It fixes some issues with the new city not appearing immediately.
It also reduces the size of the manila file by calling the sqlite method vacuum.
It now immediately promts for the filename.
And it has a name and an about box.
Added a link for help, but have not done that yet.

8/8/2009
I spent last night writing a simple program to edit the Manila 2.1 Cities.
It works and I originally posted it in the thread for Energy ROM Raphael, because that is what I am using.

Planned Features

Do not allow duplicate city creation.
Ability to change weather server URL. There is a weather server URL by conflipper that works. Also I would like to add the ability to manually enter one.
Ability to reorder the selected cities.
Ability to add a Country.
Ability to set a default Country, and State.
Remove City from selected cities if a city is deleted, or disallow the deletion.
Set and reorder selected cities.
Backup and Restore Settings.
Use code to get the name of storage card, so users of non english ROMs don't need to pick it before backup and restore.

Hopefuls:
Use web connection to lookup timezone and accuweather code.
Store Original, Added, Deleted, and Updated cities in seperate files to allow backup and restore between versions and allows restore to default.

Add ability to delete multiple rows. (Maybe)

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
anderl78
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 971
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Jul 2008
Hello JVH3!

I have tested your app with my diamond with manila 2.1...

i can add cities without problems, find them in the list and can add them.

Manila works without problems(no "hang up" or somthing like that) but the weather gets not updatet (No weather data available) in the added cities...
 
JVH3
Old
#6  
JVH3's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by anderl78 View Post
Hello JVH3!

I have tested your app with my diamond with manila 2.1...

i can add cities without problems, find them in the list and can add them.

Manila works without problems(no "hang up" or somthing like that) but the weather gets not updatet (No weather data available) in the added cities...
The cities I have added have worked. Did you correctly enter the AccuWeatherCode?

Did the AccuWeatherCode you put in work in Manila 2.0?

Some others in the energy ROM thread have used it successfully as well. I would double check the accuweather code.

Could you tell me one city you are trying to add and what country it is in?
And what code you have entered for the AccuWeatherCode for it?

I'd like to see if I can reproduce the issue.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
resqman
Old
#7  
resqman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 166
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hopkinsville, Ky
I have used it in both NRG roms 20090806 and 20090809 and it updates well. No problems at all as a matter of fact.
Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket
32gb Sandisk Micro SD

Previous Phones:
Motorola Atrix 4G:donated to daughter
HTC Rhodiumalso wore out)
HTC Raphael (just wore out)
HTC 8125 Wizard(died a natural death)
HTC 8525 Hermes(drowned in a vat of oil)
 
anderl78
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 971
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JVH3 View Post
The cities I have added have worked. Did you correctly enter the AccuWeatherCode?

Did the AccuWeatherCode you put in work in Manila 2.0?

Some others in the energy ROM thread have used it successfully as well. I would double check the accuweather code.

Could you tell me one city you are trying to add and what country it is in?
And what code you have entered for the AccuWeatherCode for it?

I'd like to see if I can reproduce the issue.
Hello!

Yes, i typed the AccuWeatherCode correct... checked id three times! i'm from germany. i'm actually at work, i dont know the code exactly atm... town is Viechtach... hope it helps! if not, today evening i could post details...

thanks
anderl
 
ceesheim
Old
(Last edited by ceesheim; 10th August 2009 at 09:50 AM.)
#9  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1866
Posts: 3,086
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany

 
DONATE TO ME
works for me as well no problem.
a have the last energy rom on a touch pro.
will you give your app a name

@Ander178
copy/past this( EUR|DE|GM002|VIECHTACH )tested it for you and it work t
 
anderl78
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 971
Posts: 2,044
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim View Post
works for me as well no problem.
a have the last energy rom on a touch pro.
will you give your app a name

@Ander178
copy/past this( EUR|DE|GM002|VIECHTACH )tested it for you and it work t
thanks! thats exactly the code i used... i'm a bit confused now. i will test it again at home
by the way, i use actually gen y r2 rom

anderl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes