Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,274 Members 38,742 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

3.5mm jack not working

Tip us?
 
Enarca
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 3.5mm jack not working

When i plug in my headphones, they don't work. I just plug them in and whatever sound comes out, comes from the loudspeaker. Is there some hardware issue here or configuration? Im thinking hardware issue is very unlikely as I just got the phone yesterday? Please help.
 
Enarca
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
can any1 help me with this????
 
suisen
Old
#3  
suisen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 228
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zagreb
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=545575

write to HTC so they get more fan mail, seems it's happening a lot :/ google gives more people with LEDs/headphones problem :/
Nexus S (ab)user
 
FloridaK
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 77
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
I had the same issue, after much searching on google I found its a common problem and there's an app called toggle headset that will resolve this. Last time I checked it wasn't in the Marketplace, a quick search on google should lead you to it.

If you have any trouble finding it, let me know and I'll dig out the link for it when I get home.

One word of warning, its unsigned, but it works like a charm for me with no untoward side effects.

Florida.
 
Enarca
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
Could you sned me the link please? I couldnt find it.
 
bubano
Old
(Last edited by bubano; 11th August 2009 at 12:25 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 102
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Towerhill
Try google and toggle headset+android. Bet you find it then.
 
FloridaK
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 77
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Here's the link to the projects site, you should be able to download it from there -

http://code.google.com/p/toggleheadset/
 
mikeCr
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
3.5mm jack not working
When i plug in my headphones, they don't work. I just plug them in and whatever sound comes out, comes from the loudspeaker. Is there some hardware issue here or configuration? Im thinking hardware issue is very unlikely as I just got the phone yesterday? Please help.
I had the exact same problem and a simple reboot fixed it for me. No problems since. I wrote about it here

http://www.walkingrandomly.com/?p=1585

Cheers,
Mike
 
Enarca
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
I just got a new phone today. Hope this one doesn't pack in too
 
suisen
Old
#10  
suisen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 228
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Zagreb
Toggle Headset did it, but it's still annoying to have to toggle stuff like that....also, any similar toggles for LED's?
Nexus S (ab)user

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more

XDA and LeaseWeb: Win Free Server Trial and Moto 360

As you might recall from a previousBehind the Scenesarticle we wrote, XDA’s … more