Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Remove words from prediction?

OP kazlan

13th August 2009, 02:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Hi,

did anyone find a way to remove the words that IME automatically adds to the dictionary? in case you add some garbage by mistake.
13th August 2009, 03:45 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
update
found a file in /data/data/com.htc.htcime called udb which seems to have the words in it but it's in a format I dont see how to edit.
14th August 2009, 12:33 AM   |  #3  
cdmackay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cambridge, UK
Thanks Meter: 272
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
mmm, my /data dir seems to be empty? At least, various file mgrs claim so. Can't check from the cmdline owing to ConnectBot kbd bug.
14th August 2009, 06:07 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
yep, think you need root to see the folder's content.

anyway, deleting that folder cleared the keyboard "word cache". Not the best way but it worked.
14th August 2009, 01:24 PM   |  #5  
cdmackay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cambridge, UK
Thanks Meter: 272
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
thanks; good info.

I read that getting root disabled the ability to download paid apps from Market; is that true?
14th August 2009, 01:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Not on my Hero, just bought Tweetcat a few hours ago with no problem
14th August 2009, 02:12 PM   |  #7  
cdmackay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cambridge, UK
Thanks Meter: 272
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
marvelous! thanks, I wanted to get root to use nandroid backup, but was worried; any other downsides to getting root?

[apols for dragging this off-topic, too]
Last edited by cdmackay; 14th August 2009 at 02:13 PM. Reason: typo

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes