FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[bug] Wifi signal strenght not shown in status bar

16th August 2009, 05:59 AM |#1  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

The wifi status icon doesn't show the signal strength. Is that your case?

Regards

Edit1: Seems it concerns WPA-Personal wifi networks if anyone sees that bug with a different encryption please post
Last edited by Lox_Dev; 17th August 2009 at 08:34 PM.
 
 
16th August 2009, 09:00 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Sunny Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gecka

Hello,

The wifi status icon doesn't show the signal strength. Is that your case?

Regards

Mines shows as 1 white bar and the rest grey regardless where I am with the phone. I could be next to the router.
16th August 2009, 10:23 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicelad_uk

Mines shows as 1 white bar and the rest grey regardless where I am with the phone. I could be next to the router.

Mine changes with strength as I move around. Sometimes full, sometimes just the circle and and in between too.
16th August 2009, 10:57 AM |#4  
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Mine changes - sometimes one bar, or two, most of the time none. Interestingly, it shows low signal strength even if next to the router, but the WiFi page shows strength as excellent.
16th August 2009, 11:55 AM |#5  
tatwamasi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Mine updates based on position.
16th August 2009, 02:02 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Same here.. mine simply show the white dot at the bottom of the WIFI indicator but none of the lines have ever shown up...
16th August 2009, 05:17 PM |#7  
franklinvv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Eindhoven
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjmurphy77

Same here.. mine simply show the white dot at the bottom of the WIFI indicator but none of the lines have ever shown up...

I am having the same problem. I can only see the white dot, with dark grey arcs above. Every time I turn on WiFi, I have the idea that my WiFi reception is bad so I feel compelled to turn WiFi off again. I hope someone can find a way to fix this without doing a hard reset.
16th August 2009, 05:56 PM |#8  
Switchbitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Odd, mines has always just been the white circle and grey arcs. I didn't even think that the arcs should go white relative to signal strength....

Now I want them to!
16th August 2009, 06:53 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
More
same problem. I found that on some wireless networks (my home) I see only the white circle with grey bars, and on other wireless networks (coffee shops etc.) I get the signal strength on the status bar icon.
Kind of weird. When i'm at home I'm always compelled to go into wireless settings and check the signal strength and it's always excellent even though the status bar icon shows that the signal strength is poor.
16th August 2009, 06:57 PM |#10  
Switchbitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
I wonder if it's anything to do with the security settings? At home mine is WPA2. Coffee shops will usually be open networks.

Just a thought....
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes