Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more

Google Execs Talk to Ars About Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is right around the corner, and it’s expected to hit AOSP … more
Thread Deleted

Ozone Verizon (Cedar): SSPL, HardSPL and original SPL by JockyW

OP jockyw2001

28th August 2009, 07:15 PM   |  #31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
I am having issues getting the HardSPL to flash properly. I have followed the instructions, removed SIM and SD cards, disabled USB sync in ActiveSync after uploading the JumpSPL files and confirmed having the HTC USB device in the device manager before attempting the ROM update. Everything seems to go fine up until the ROM update where it will sit for 0% for a few seconds then jump to 100% and say everything went fine. However when I boot to the tri-color screen it still says 0.39.0000 instead of 0.39.Hard.

I have run this in Windows 7 RTM x64 and Win XP with the same exact results in each. Is there something else I could be doing wrong or is it an issue with my phone?

Thanks.
29th August 2009, 09:14 PM   |  #32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Jocky, thank's for the hard work.

donation made: 5LB890850P6283649
30th August 2009, 05:21 AM   |  #33  
brent372's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
For the life of me, I cannot get this to work.
Followed instructions to a T.

Removed cards.
Connected.
Run auto.bat
Followed instructions on screen.
Confirmed on device.
Screen goes black.
Rom update starts.
Sits at 0%, then goes right to 100%, saying complete.
Phone reboots.
No changes.

I copied EnterBootLoader.exe to device.
Ran it.
Tri-colored bar shows original SPL.

While in boot-loader, I ran ROMUpdateUtility
progress bar shows up and computer and device.
Sits at 0% until it errors out and I get the recovery screen on PC.
Phone reboots normally after battery pull.

Thoughts / ideas please...
31st August 2009, 06:23 PM   |  #34  
Shakes's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by brent372

For the life of me, I cannot get this to work.
Followed instructions to a T.

Removed cards.
Connected.
Run auto.bat
Followed instructions on screen.
Confirmed on device.
Screen goes black.
Rom update starts.
Sits at 0%, then goes right to 100%, saying complete.
Phone reboots.
No changes.

I copied EnterBootLoader.exe to device.
Ran it.
Tri-colored bar shows original SPL.

While in boot-loader, I ran ROMUpdateUtility
progress bar shows up and computer and device.
Sits at 0% until it errors out and I get the recovery screen on PC.
Phone reboots normally after battery pull.

Thoughts / ideas please...

Same exact thing is happening to me.
31st August 2009, 08:23 PM   |  #35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkryptonyte

I am having issues getting the HardSPL to flash properly. I have followed the instructions, removed SIM and SD cards, disabled USB sync in ActiveSync after uploading the JumpSPL files and confirmed having the HTC USB device in the device manager before attempting the ROM update. Everything seems to go fine up until the ROM update where it will sit for 0% for a few seconds then jump to 100% and say everything went fine. However when I boot to the tri-color screen it still says 0.39.0000 instead of 0.39.Hard.

I have run this in Windows 7 RTM x64 and Win XP with the same exact results in each. Is there something else I could be doing wrong or is it an issue with my phone?

Thanks.

I've been trying this for the past two days with the exact same result. Made attempts on both Vista Ultimate and XP Pro. Regardless of ActiveSync USB settings, the ROM Update Utility goes from 0% to 100% in the order of a few seconds, reboots, and nothing gets accomplished.

Any assistance, advice, help, etc would be appreciated with donations.
31st August 2009, 08:46 PM   |  #36  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkompile

I've been trying this for the past two days with the exact same result. Made attempts on both Vista Ultimate and XP Pro. Regardless of ActiveSync USB settings, the ROM Update Utility goes from 0% to 100% in the order of a few seconds, reboots, and nothing gets accomplished.

Any assistance, advice, help, etc would be appreciated with donations.


Are you using the HTC USB cable connected to one of the main USB (Not from a replicator or PCI Card) connections to the computer?
31st August 2009, 09:44 PM   |  #37  
Shakes's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
I tried it on two seperate computers with the original cable and built-in USB port. No luck.
31st August 2009, 10:36 PM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Same here. Tried front ports and back ports with original HTC Sync cable in both Windows 7 and XP and still no dice. I just got another Ozone from an insurance trade and I will see if this one works any different.

Donations to whoever gets this solved.

EDIT: Same results with different phone from Verizon. Confirmed same SPL version also so I'm running out of ideas. If there were an official update or something I would test to see if that even flashes fine. I'm wondering if there isn't a batch that simply don't flash properly or if the HTC Sync driver we have is bad.
Last edited by kkryptonyte; 31st August 2009 at 11:01 PM.
1st September 2009, 12:13 AM   |  #39  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by brent372

For the life of me, I cannot get this to work.
Followed instructions to a T.

Removed cards.
Connected.
Run auto.bat
Followed instructions on screen.
Confirmed on device.
Screen goes black.
Rom update starts.
Sits at 0%, then goes right to 100%, saying complete.
Phone reboots.
No changes.

I copied EnterBootLoader.exe to device.
Ran it.
Tri-colored bar shows original SPL.

While in boot-loader, I ran ROMUpdateUtility
progress bar shows up and computer and device.
Sits at 0% until it errors out and I get the recovery screen on PC.
Phone reboots normally after battery pull.

Thoughts / ideas please...

Well, it won't work by flashing directly in boot loader because the JumpSPL has to temporarily lower the security level.

There is a way to verify that this is happening before you run the RomUpdateUtility. Search for nueTTY, run it after getting the blank screen on the phone and killing ActiveSync. If it connects, type the command 'task 32'. Should return level = 0.

If you don't have luck with mtty or nueTTY, also try qmat. Hardware Forensics -> Use Mobile Ports -> Modem Async. Start either USB or serial and type the command in the drop down box right below the set of buttons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jockyw2001

If you have doubts then after running sspl deselect "allow usb connections" in activesync and run MTTY 1.42 for Win XP or a later version for Vista. Click the USB button and press enter, at the prompt type "task 32", if you sec level = 0 then everything is fine.

Last edited by l0newulf; 1st September 2009 at 12:33 AM. Reason: forgot something
1st September 2009, 01:47 AM   |  #40  
brent372's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
This is all I get when I run neuTTY:

Disabling RAPI...Already Stopped!
Searching for CE USB devices to connect...
No devices found to connect, aborting...
Not restarting RAPI because it was already disabled.


EDIT:

Now I am getting this:
Disabling RAPI...Success!
Searching for CE USB devices to connect...
Windows CE Device found at: \\?\usb#vid_0bb4&pid_00ce#5&1796ae7a&0&1#{25dbce51-6
c8f-4a72-8a6d-b54c2b4fc835}
Press Ctrl+C to exit.
Cmd>
task 32

Still waiting for a return code from neuTTY

EDIT 2:

Well finally something different.
neuTTY never worked, but the Rom updater finally gave me a success screen and the phone rebooted on it's own.
However, I ran "enterbootloader.exe" on the phone after and it is still the original SPL
Last edited by brent372; 1st September 2009 at 02:02 AM.

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes