5,814,939 Members 46,604 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bad 6.5 Flash. Bricked?

Tip us?
 
djh816
Old
#1  
djh816's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 492
Join Date: Jul 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Bad 6.5 Flash. Bricked?

I was flashing ookba's Ozone 6.5 rom from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=552887 and midway through it errored out and my phone won't boot now. I think I made it even worse because according to the tricolor bootloader, I still have SPL and not HardSPL. I can still bring up that screen fine but when I try a normal boot, it simply sits at the HTC logo screen. According to ookba's forum post there are no original ozone roms for vzw so does this mean that mine is bricked for good? :'(
 
justlevine
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 79
Join Date: Jul 2009
Um i think there is a stock ozone rom up:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=550863
 
djh816
Old
#3  
djh816's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 492
Join Date: Jul 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
i tried to use the romupdate program with that verizon ozone rom but it won't work. it just sits there with 0% on both the computer and the phone until it errors out and i'm back where i started. do these ones still need hardspl to flash?
 
SoCalSpecialist
Old
(Last edited by SoCalSpecialist; 28th August 2009 at 08:51 PM.)
#4  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 2,875
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
ur device wasnt ready to be flashed man..

if it didnt show : SPL-0.39.Hard, then u werent ready.

we said time and time again, even when the ROM was released that you needed to be sure that the above in bold was showing on your tri color screen.

sorry bro, but you now have a paper weight.
 
djh816
Old
#5  
djh816's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 492
Join Date: Jul 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalSpecialist View Post
ur device wasnt ready to be flashed man..

if it didnt show : SPL-0.39.Hard, then u werent ready.

we said time and time again, even when the ROM was released that you needed to be sure that the above in bold was show on your tri color screen.

sorry bro, but you now have a paper weight.
:[ i assumed that when hardspl showed 100% without error that it had worked.
 
SoCalSpecialist
Old
#6  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 2,875
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
i feel ur pain bro..i bricked testing the SPL's for us. I have the insurance and im super cool with the REPS at my local store, so the swap out was quick and easy!

hopefully u signed up for the same and got the 6 buck insurance.
 
htc_Tomi
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2009
I'm in the same boat man... Hardspl flashed to 100% so I thought it was installed (I have no vision so I had no way of actually checking the boot screen...), and my phone is stuck at the htc screen after it vibrates...
I have the $8 insurance, but I'm scared to bring the phone to a verizon store for fear of THEM finding out. I'd much rather try and reflash a signed stock rom image.
 
brent372
Old
#8  
brent372's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 599
Join Date: Apr 2008
If you have the insurance it doesn' matter.
Just call the insurance company and say you dropped it in the toilet.
Then drop it in the toilet !!!!
 
SoCalSpecialist
Old
#9  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 2,875
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by brent372 View Post
If you have the insurance it doesn' matter.
Just call the insurance company and say you dropped it in the toilet.
Then drop it in the toilet !!!!
pretty much..dont go into details about what happened just tell them something as mentioned and u will have a new device at ur doorstep in about 24hrs!

one of the perks of paying the $6 or $8 dollar insurance.
 
djh816
Old
#10  
djh816's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 174
Posts: 492
Join Date: Jul 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
just brought in the vzw store and they gave me a new one. currently running ookba's 6.5 rom on the new one

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more