Thread Deleted

Bad 6.5 Flash. Bricked?

OP djh816

28th August 2009, 02:42 AM   |  #1  
djh816's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 175
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
I was flashing ookba's Ozone 6.5 rom from http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=552887 and midway through it errored out and my phone won't boot now. I think I made it even worse because according to the tricolor bootloader, I still have SPL and not HardSPL. I can still bring up that screen fine but when I try a normal boot, it simply sits at the HTC logo screen. According to ookba's forum post there are no original ozone roms for vzw so does this mean that mine is bricked for good? :'(
28th August 2009, 02:51 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Um i think there is a stock ozone rom up:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=550863
28th August 2009, 02:55 AM   |  #3  
djh816's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 175
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
i tried to use the romupdate program with that verizon ozone rom but it won't work. it just sits there with 0% on both the computer and the phone until it errors out and i'm back where i started. do these ones still need hardspl to flash?
28th August 2009, 03:31 AM   |  #4  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
ur device wasnt ready to be flashed man..

if it didnt show : SPL-0.39.Hard, then u werent ready.

we said time and time again, even when the ROM was released that you needed to be sure that the above in bold was showing on your tri color screen.

sorry bro, but you now have a paper weight.
Last edited by SoCalSpecialist; 28th August 2009 at 08:51 PM.
28th August 2009, 04:23 AM   |  #5  
djh816's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 175
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalSpecialist

ur device wasnt ready to be flashed man..

if it didnt show : SPL-0.39.Hard, then u werent ready.

we said time and time again, even when the ROM was released that you needed to be sure that the above in bold was show on your tri color screen.

sorry bro, but you now have a paper weight.

:[ i assumed that when hardspl showed 100% without error that it had worked.
28th August 2009, 04:37 AM   |  #6  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
i feel ur pain bro..i bricked testing the SPL's for us. I have the insurance and im super cool with the REPS at my local store, so the swap out was quick and easy!

hopefully u signed up for the same and got the 6 buck insurance.
29th August 2009, 06:07 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
I'm in the same boat man... Hardspl flashed to 100% so I thought it was installed (I have no vision so I had no way of actually checking the boot screen...), and my phone is stuck at the htc screen after it vibrates...
I have the $8 insurance, but I'm scared to bring the phone to a verizon store for fear of THEM finding out. I'd much rather try and reflash a signed stock rom image.
29th August 2009, 03:52 PM   |  #8  
brent372's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
599 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
If you have the insurance it doesn' matter.
Just call the insurance company and say you dropped it in the toilet.
Then drop it in the toilet !!!!
29th August 2009, 09:42 PM   |  #9  
SoCalSpecialist's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,875 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brent372

If you have the insurance it doesn' matter.
Just call the insurance company and say you dropped it in the toilet.
Then drop it in the toilet !!!!

pretty much..dont go into details about what happened just tell them something as mentioned and u will have a new device at ur doorstep in about 24hrs!

one of the perks of paying the $6 or $8 dollar insurance.
31st August 2009, 12:46 PM   |  #10  
djh816's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 175
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
just brought in the vzw store and they gave me a new one. currently running ookba's 6.5 rom on the new one

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes