5,600,984 Members 44,035 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

share internet from pc to android

Tip us?
 
giovannirm
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rome
Default share internet from pc to android

Hi, I know, probably someone have made the same question but I haven't found anything in the forum.
Is it possible share my internet connection from pc to android via usb or via wifi?
how? thanks
 
Zuggy
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2009
If your PC is on a wired connection with a wireless card you could probably bridge the connection (or just use internet connection sharing if you use windows) and make an ad-hoc network to connect to via wifi.
 
giovannirm
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rome
I have a laptop connected via ethernet... how I can make a ad hoc connection?
I have tried to create one, but the phone don't find anything!!
Samsung Galaxy S3
 
giovannirm
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rome
Nobody can help me ?
Samsung Galaxy S3
 
dial100
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 85
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Batley
You can use Tether WiFi and make your handset as Adhoc access point.This will only work on rooted handsets.
Secondly use something like PdaNetA115 for wired usb connection to use your phone as modem in both cases.Will work with rooted/unrooted.
There is another one which is Tether Bluetooth for rooted phones.
 
Zuggy
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dial100 View Post
You can use Tether WiFi and make your handset as Adhoc access point.This will only work on rooted handsets.
Secondly use something like PdaNetA115 for wired usb connection to use your phone as modem in both cases.Will work with rooted/unrooted.
There is another one which is Tether Bluetooth for rooted phones.
Wrong way, he's trying to use his laptop's connection to get wifi to the phone, not trying to use the phone as a modem. Looking at some other stuff and trying it myself it doesn't look like you can connect the phone to ad hoc. Sorry
 
giovannirm
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 35
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rome
and via usb??? is it possible?
maybe with some adb command....
Samsung Galaxy S3
 
quakermaas
Old
(Last edited by quakermaas; 23rd September 2009 at 11:43 AM.)
#8  
quakermaas's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 239
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich (Bavaria)
I have used this method on the micro hero 1.3, CyanogenMod v4.1.11.1 and I am just about to set it up on micro hero 1.4.


http://modmygphone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22681

I have read on another site that this line should be added to the very end to change it back to read only

"mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system"


The wifi modem at my G/Fs mothers has no internal PPPoE login and her adsl connection needs a PPPoE login, Android cant do this or I havnt been able to find and app that does.

I use my laptop(with 2 wifi cards, one internal and 1 external(pcmcia)) to do the PPPoE login(internal wifi) on the laptop and then share this connection via ad-hoc(external wifi) to my G1.
One thing that I would like to point out, if I lose the connection between the G1 and the laptop, I have to reboot the laptop to get it to share the internet again.I haven't worked out why yet.

I have ordered a new modem/wifi/router of ebay that will do away with all this crap, but for now it is a work around that does works, until the new modem arrives.
Google G1 - (cyanogenmod) Sold
Samsung Galaxy S - (Darky) Sold
Samsung Galaxy S II - (CriskeloServanTeam V12)
Asus NEXUS 7- (SmoothROM v4.0-Smoothest ROM)
 
itamarl
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hi All,

I also am looking for a way to get the phone connected to the internet FROM the PC via USB.

reason:
I have a Corporate SW that connects to WIFI access points around the world for free (at least free to me, not to the company).
this is done through a SW on the PC. now, I cannot mad an AD Hoc connection because the WIFI is already working. and I also cannot connect using the phone wifi due to the same reason..

is there a way to connect the phone to the Internet through the USB cable?
Thanks,
Itamar
 
Cyberjo
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2007
Hi,
I just change my HTC HD for the Nexus One and I really need a way to do that, like ActiveSync for WM.

Is there a solution to use the pc connectivity with android using the USB cable ?

many thx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes