No device found ONLY during fastboot - help needed please

13th September 2009, 05:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

3 posts
I've been reading up about what to do after I tried to "factory reset" my phone and then was stuck at the htc start up soon, which kept looping.

I've been trying to load recovery.img during fastboot (back+power) and then to apply update.zip during recovery (home+power).

However, the problem is that during fastboot, the device isn't recognized (when I go to adb devices on command prompt, no device is listed). I know that my drivers are good bc the device is found when I start up in the recovery mode. I tried to skip the part where I load recovery.img (since when I try to do that, it tells me that it can't be loaded), and to go straight to apply update.zip, but then the phone tells me that update.zip is either bad or can't be mounted.

I have a Rogers Magic (32A). I am a complete newbie, so any help would be greatly appreciated. I should also say that before I tried to do the factor reset, the phone was on the hero rom loaded by a previous user.
13th September 2009, 06:19 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 24

60 posts
try this:

boot in recovery:

fastboot boot recovery.img

then, push update.zip on your sd card ( need a good rom in the tools folder on your computer)

adb shell mount /sdcard
adb push update.zip /sdcard

and apply update.zip with the recovery menu.
13th September 2009, 09:57 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member

3 posts
thanks for your reply, but it didn't work:

first, it said "cannot load recovery.img"

and then when I tried to mount, it said "mount: mounting dev/block/mmcblk0p1 on /sdcard failed: Device or resource busy"
14th September 2009, 11:02 AM   |  #4  

60 posts
replace recovery to correct path to your recovery image. (your phone mut be in fastboot mode power with back button pressed)

ex:

fastboot boot c:\sdk\tools\recovery-RAv1.2.1G.img

then your phone must boot on recovery and you could push update.zip