FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

Clear Dalvik Cache

505 posts
Thanks Meter: 83
 
By DKM119, Senior Member on 14th September 2009, 09:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
can anybody please explaint to me how it is done?...thanks in advance!!
 
 
AdrianK
14th September 2009, 10:09 PM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKM119

can anybody please explaint to me how it is done?...thanks in advance!!

If you delete dalvik cache the system will recreate it on next boot...
14th September 2009, 10:16 PM |#3  
DKM119's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
ok so what im trying to do is flash the latest Hero from Drizzy's and on the changelog saids that i have to clear dalvik...i just don't know how to do that...i know how to format my ext/3....etc...
AdrianK
14th September 2009, 10:26 PM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
oh, its on your ext...

go to recovery console

mount -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system/sd
rm -r /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*

that's it, wipe and flash the ROM
14th September 2009, 10:32 PM |#5  
DKM119's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
More
thanks a lots!!
20th September 2009, 05:59 AM |#6  
|Logic|'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK

oh, its on your ext...

go to recovery console

mount -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system/sd
rm -r /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*

that's it, wipe and flash the ROM

thank you!
20th September 2009, 09:26 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
But it shouldn't be important when you remove it?

So you could flash the image and still delete the dalvik cache.

Should make no difference...
24th September 2009, 02:16 PM |#8  
s15274n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag N.C.
Thanks Meter: 1,133
 
Donate to Me
More
what is the point in deleting your dalvik cache? I mean, someone who only uses cyans roms and sometimes changes themes would not need to do this right?
24th September 2009, 02:19 PM |#9  
supremeteam256's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag www.androidoverdrive.com
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s15274n

what is the point in deleting your dalvik cache? I mean, someone who only uses cyans roms and sometimes changes themes would not need to do this right?

Over time you phone can start getting sluggish. If you clear the dalvik cache it will speed it back up. Just had to do this the other night. I did mine in terminal this way

Code:
$su
#cd /system/sd/dalvik-cache
#rm *
#exit
$exit
The Following User Says Thank You to supremeteam256 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2009, 03:06 PM |#10  
s15274n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag N.C.
Thanks Meter: 1,133
 
Donate to Me
More
so it does not matter in terminal or console then?

Thanks for the help man, as always.
24th September 2009, 03:35 PM |#11  
supremeteam256's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag www.androidoverdrive.com
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s15274n

so it does not matter in terminal or console then?

Thanks for the help man, as always.

Naw it don't. You will just need to reboot your phone when you are done and it will take a long time to boot up just like if you just flashed a new rom, so don't get scared.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
clear, dalvik
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes