FORUMS

EVLeaks Shows Off Possible BlackBerry Android Phone

It wasn’t too long ago that we received reports of BlackBerry planning to use … more

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Clear Dalvik Cache

500 posts
Thanks Meter: 81
 
By DKM119, Senior Member on 14th September 2009, 09:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
can anybody please explaint to me how it is done?...thanks in advance!!
 
 
AdrianK
14th September 2009, 10:09 PM |#2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKM119

can anybody please explaint to me how it is done?...thanks in advance!!

If you delete dalvik cache the system will recreate it on next boot...
14th September 2009, 10:16 PM |#3  
DKM119's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
ok so what im trying to do is flash the latest Hero from Drizzy's and on the changelog saids that i have to clear dalvik...i just don't know how to do that...i know how to format my ext/3....etc...
AdrianK
14th September 2009, 10:26 PM |#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
oh, its on your ext...

go to recovery console

mount -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system/sd
rm -r /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*

that's it, wipe and flash the ROM
14th September 2009, 10:32 PM |#5  
DKM119's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
thanks a lots!!
20th September 2009, 05:59 AM |#6  
|Logic|'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK

oh, its on your ext...

go to recovery console

mount -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system/sd
rm -r /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*

that's it, wipe and flash the ROM

thank you!
20th September 2009, 09:26 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
But it shouldn't be important when you remove it?

So you could flash the image and still delete the dalvik cache.

Should make no difference...
24th September 2009, 02:16 PM |#8  
s15274n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag N.C.
Thanks Meter: 1,132
 
Donate to Me
More
what is the point in deleting your dalvik cache? I mean, someone who only uses cyans roms and sometimes changes themes would not need to do this right?
24th September 2009, 02:19 PM |#9  
supremeteam256's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag www.androidoverdrive.com
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by s15274n

what is the point in deleting your dalvik cache? I mean, someone who only uses cyans roms and sometimes changes themes would not need to do this right?

Over time you phone can start getting sluggish. If you clear the dalvik cache it will speed it back up. Just had to do this the other night. I did mine in terminal this way

Code:
$su
#cd /system/sd/dalvik-cache
#rm *
#exit
$exit
The Following User Says Thank You to supremeteam256 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th September 2009, 03:06 PM |#10  
s15274n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag N.C.
Thanks Meter: 1,132
 
Donate to Me
More
so it does not matter in terminal or console then?

Thanks for the help man, as always.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
clear, dalvik
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes