Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP][Plugin] CGPS v1.0

OP oldsap

24th September 2009, 07:46 AM   |  #1  
oldsap's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
GPS Application Plugin for Titanium



Logs your GPS Coordinates at an interval of 5 minutes

How does it work?
After running the application, it will turn ON your phone's GPS and log your current coordinates in a csv file. If it is able to get a valid coordinate, it will turn your GPS OFF and then wait for 5 minutes before turning it ON again.

First Panel:
- tapping on the panel will turn on the GPS
- first text line shows the status of CGPS (on/off)
- second text line shows the number of satellites and the status of your phone's GPS
- third line shows your Latitude and Longitude
- right soft key's function is to close/exit CPGS

Second Panel:
- will allow you to send an sms to one of your contacts with your last logged GPS coordinate and also a link to open Google Maps (installation is required on the receiving phone) and point your location.

Comments:
- tested on HTC Diamond 6.5 rom
- i don't have any icon for my panel (left image) maybe someone could share one for this plugin

A SMALL DONATION WOULD HELP A LOT

Download CGPS_v1.0.cab
Last edited by oldsap; 24th September 2009 at 07:48 AM.
24th September 2009, 09:34 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag East
Thanks Meter: 0
 
144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Thanks for your nice appication!
It looks so great in my Diamond.

BTW, may you share your battery icon on the taskbar?

Cheers,
rubbish.guy
24th September 2009, 09:42 AM   |  #3  
da_mayhem's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 6
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Very handy! Thanks again! Pls check your paypal
24th September 2009, 11:46 AM   |  #4  
oldsap's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubbish.guy

Thanks for your nice appication!
It looks so great in my Diamond.

BTW, may you share your battery icon on the taskbar?

Cheers,
rubbish.guy

it's out of topic but here it is.
Attached Files
File Type: cab WhiteBatteryIconsOnly.cab - [Click for QR Code] (83.0 KB, 108 views)
24th September 2009, 03:38 PM   |  #5  
JudgeDredd67's Avatar
Senior Member
Here, always here
Thanks Meter: 132
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Try this for an icon if you like.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip SatIcon.zip - [Click for QR Code] (10.7 KB, 84 views)
24th September 2009, 04:58 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Hi,

on installing CGPS i always get an error "installation not successful". What happend? Ok, it works, i create a folder manually, than restart the install.

Another question: is it possible to switch from lon/lat to the QTH-Locator for the amateur radio operators?

CU, Locke
Last edited by dc7os; 24th September 2009 at 06:52 PM. Reason: BugFix
24th September 2009, 06:08 PM   |  #7  
greenskeeper805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ventura, CA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Works well on my Omnia i910. How's battery life? Thanks for this, a lot of people are going to be very happy!
24th September 2009, 07:02 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Hi,

in another posting, i wrote about the QTH Locator for amateur radio operators. You could look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maidenhead_Locator_System

CU, Locke
24th September 2009, 07:59 PM   |  #9  
greenskeeper805's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ventura, CA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Ok, you knew it was coming...a bug list. None of which are a big deal, mostly irritating things.

Battery drains, but honestly, it's to be expected.
While it's running, ie connected to gps (doin' it's thing), it messes with titanium. The transparent bar on the top will go to a non transparent bar (no biggie). Hitting the end key won't go back to cClock until you select another panel, but then it works until you check the CGPS panel (no biggie). This one is strange, when exiting out of a convo via sms, it'll go the home screen, but the bottom bar for sms stays, hitting end fixes it (more irritating than anything). Once you hit 'close' on the CGPS panel, everything goes back to normal (all bugs disappear).

I would like to say that even with these very minor bugs, this is a very awesome panel. Thank you so very much!
25th September 2009, 01:07 AM   |  #10  
oldsap's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Try this for an icon if you like.
- thank you for sharing.

Another question: is it possible to switch from lon/lat to the QTH-Locator for the amateur radio operators?
- do you mean in degrees? may i ask for a sample syntax please?

Battery drains, but honestly, it's to be expected.
- i've set it to close the GPS every 5 minutes, maybe a longer interval would lessen the battery drain, but then the gap between 2 succeeding points would be much farther apart

While it's running, ie connected to gps (doin' it's thing), it messes with titanium. The transparent bar on the top will go to a non transparent bar (no biggie).
- hmm, haven't experienced this on my Diamond. May i ask what's your device's resolution please?

Hitting the end key won't go back to cClock until you select another panel, but then it works until you check the CGPS panel (no biggie).
- while CGPS is running? i just tested it and you are correct. Maybe because the CGPS.exe is in the foreground (but invisible) that's why when you press the END key, titanium doesn't receive the end message. i'll work this out later

This one is strange, when exiting out of a convo via sms, it'll go the home screen, but the bottom bar for sms stays, hitting end fixes it (more irritating than anything). Once you hit 'close' on the CGPS panel, everything goes back to normal (all bugs disappear).
- i don't get this. Can you please explain further? or post a SS?

I would like to say that even with these very minor bugs, this is a very awesome panel. Thank you so very much!
- thank you for the comment.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes