Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,231 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Porting HTC Click Rom

Tip us?
 
Lox_Dev
Old
#1  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kanaky-New-Caledonia

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Porting HTC Click Rom

Hello,

I am trying to port HTC Click Rom to my Hero

Done an update.zip of the system and flashed my device. I just:

- commented out QVGA staff in build.prop:
Code:
Select Code
# View configuration for QVGA
#view.fading_edge_length = 8
#view.touch_slop = 15
#view.minimum_fling_velocity = 25
#view.scroll_friction = 0.008
- changed ro.sf.lcd_density from 120 to 160

i kept my stock kernel (boot.img) and logcat gives me the output attached.

I then extracted the Htc Click boot.img and changed default.prop to
Code:
Select Code
#
# ADDITIONAL_DEFAULT_PROPERTIES
#
ro.secure=0
ro.allow.mock.location=0
ro.debuggable=1
persist.service.adb.enable=1
I rebuilt the boot.img and flashed it: nothing in logcat

Don't know what to do now, any help appreciated.

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: txt logcat.txt - [Click for QR Code] (3.6 KB, 47 views)
Lox
Nexus4 - Galaxy Nexus - Nexus 7 - Asus Transformer Prime Infinity
Ubuntu 64bit

 
Drizzy Drake Rogers
Old
#2  
Banned
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1,032
Join Date: Jun 2009
so what happened next!, i made a port booted an everyhting but the tattoo rom is trash!

where do you stand now, did it boot for you or anything?
 
Lox_Dev
Old
#3  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kanaky-New-Caledonia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzy Drake Rogers View Post
so what happened next!, i made a port booted an everyhting but the tattoo rom is trash!

where do you stand now, did it boot for you or anything?
Well still at the same point. Can't run the Click rom. Don't know what to do now. I am learning hard... What have I miss ?
Lox
Nexus4 - Galaxy Nexus - Nexus 7 - Asus Transformer Prime Infinity
Ubuntu 64bit

 
felikz
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 322
Join Date: Aug 2009
are there some (good) tutorials about on the internet? where did you guys learn that?
schmagmovsquontum
 
maxisma
Old
#5  
maxisma's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 43
Posts: 1,205
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dorsten, Germany
Have you replaced the kernel in the boot.img of the tattoo with the Hero Kernel?
Acer Liquid Metal
LG Optimus 2x
Reading advice: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=667298
Follow me on Twitter: www.twitter.com/maxisma
Donate to MoDaCos Cancer Research fund
 
Lox_Dev
Old
#6  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kanaky-New-Caledonia

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks a lot! It works!

Splash screens are in QVGA and I can't enter pin code (no accces to 0 and "ok" key) but it runs

Does it worth building a donut ROM based on Click ? I suppose I must deodex all hero stock app and replace Clcik apps with does? Is it how I should proceed?

Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	232147  
Lox
Nexus4 - Galaxy Nexus - Nexus 7 - Asus Transformer Prime Infinity
Ubuntu 64bit

 
Lox_Dev
Old
#7  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kanaky-New-Caledonia

 
DONATE TO ME
In fact I "just" want to make a custom hero donut rom to have global search and pptp VPN witch I really need for work.
Lox
Nexus4 - Galaxy Nexus - Nexus 7 - Asus Transformer Prime Infinity
Ubuntu 64bit

 
ryomahino
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 521
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lima

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi Gecka, please can you post the dump files (the apps apk)from the htc tatoo rom?
I try to follow your tutorial but Im really a noob in this thing of android.
I really want to use the files to make a better skin for QVGA devices.

PS: If you can post too the fmradio apk I really apreciate.
If you like my work please consider
 
jubeh
Old
#9  
jubeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 1,260
Join Date: Mar 2009
how are you getting around the problem that there are no android 1.6 libraries for the hero? Telephony shouldn't work, camera won't work, I don't even know that screen will work.
---edit---
Oh, the screen is indeed working?
change the DPI back down to 120 so you can use it. It will suck, I know, because our screens are 160 dpi, but at least all will work as intended.
Best reference thread ever: Learn to compile your own AOSP build (for sapphire, but applies to dream too)
 
Lox_Dev
Old
#10  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 326
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kanaky-New-Caledonia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubeh View Post
how are you getting around the problem that there are no android 1.6 libraries for the hero? Telephony shouldn't work, camera won't work, I don't even know that screen will work.
---edit---
Oh, the screen is indeed working?
change the DPI back down to 120 so you can use it. It will suck, I know, because our screens are 160 dpi, but at least all will work as intended.
Well it runs with 160dpi for me.... Does putting it to 120dpi solves the problem that part of the PIN1 keyboard is hidden ?
Lox
Nexus4 - Galaxy Nexus - Nexus 7 - Asus Transformer Prime Infinity
Ubuntu 64bit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more