How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Porting HTC Click Rom

OP Lox_Dev

27th September 2009, 04:51 AM   |  #1  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

I am trying to port HTC Click Rom to my Hero

Done an update.zip of the system and flashed my device. I just:

- commented out QVGA staff in build.prop:
Code:
# View configuration for QVGA
#view.fading_edge_length = 8
#view.touch_slop = 15
#view.minimum_fling_velocity = 25
#view.scroll_friction = 0.008
- changed ro.sf.lcd_density from 120 to 160

i kept my stock kernel (boot.img) and logcat gives me the output attached.

I then extracted the Htc Click boot.img and changed default.prop to
Code:
#
# ADDITIONAL_DEFAULT_PROPERTIES
#
ro.secure=0
ro.allow.mock.location=0
ro.debuggable=1
persist.service.adb.enable=1
I rebuilt the boot.img and flashed it: nothing in logcat

Don't know what to do now, any help appreciated.

Regards
Attached Files
File Type: txt logcat.txt - [Click for QR Code] (3.6 KB, 47 views)
27th September 2009, 09:11 AM   |  #2  
Banned
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
so what happened next!, i made a port booted an everyhting but the tattoo rom is trash!

where do you stand now, did it boot for you or anything?
27th September 2009, 11:22 AM   |  #3  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzy Drake Rogers

so what happened next!, i made a port booted an everyhting but the tattoo rom is trash!

where do you stand now, did it boot for you or anything?

Well still at the same point. Can't run the Click rom. Don't know what to do now. I am learning hard... What have I miss ?
27th September 2009, 12:44 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
are there some (good) tutorials about on the internet? where did you guys learn that?
27th September 2009, 04:01 PM   |  #5  
maxisma's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dorsten, Germany
Thanks Meter: 43
 
1,205 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Have you replaced the kernel in the boot.img of the tattoo with the Hero Kernel?
27th September 2009, 10:00 PM   |  #6  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thanks a lot! It works!

Splash screens are in QVGA and I can't enter pin code (no accces to 0 and "ok" key) but it runs

Does it worth building a donut ROM based on Click ? I suppose I must deodex all hero stock app and replace Clcik apps with does? Is it how I should proceed?

Regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	device.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	232147  
27th September 2009, 11:25 PM   |  #7  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
In fact I "just" want to make a custom hero donut rom to have global search and pptp VPN witch I really need for work.
28th September 2009, 02:58 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Lima
Thanks Meter: 3
 
524 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
Hi Gecka, please can you post the dump files (the apps apk)from the htc tatoo rom?
I try to follow your tutorial but Im really a noob in this thing of android.
I really want to use the files to make a better skin for QVGA devices.

PS: If you can post too the fmradio apk I really apreciate.
28th September 2009, 06:48 AM   |  #9  
jubeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
1,260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
how are you getting around the problem that there are no android 1.6 libraries for the hero? Telephony shouldn't work, camera won't work, I don't even know that screen will work.
---edit---
Oh, the screen is indeed working?
change the DPI back down to 120 so you can use it. It will suck, I know, because our screens are 160 dpi, but at least all will work as intended.
28th September 2009, 07:20 AM   |  #10  
Lox_Dev's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kanaky-New-Caledonia
Thanks Meter: 30
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubeh

how are you getting around the problem that there are no android 1.6 libraries for the hero? Telephony shouldn't work, camera won't work, I don't even know that screen will work.
---edit---
Oh, the screen is indeed working?
change the DPI back down to 120 so you can use it. It will suck, I know, because our screens are 160 dpi, but at least all will work as intended.

Well it runs with 160dpi for me.... Does putting it to 120dpi solves the problem that part of the PIN1 keyboard is hidden ?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes