Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Rooting non-standard Android

OP crzyruski

3rd November 2009, 07:30 AM   |  #61  
crzyruski's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Desktop panel crash in 1.6?
For lack of a better term I will be referring to the multiple Android screens as desktop panels. Do correct me if you know the official term.

Has anyone experienced a desktop panel crash in 1.6?

I have experienced severe desktop panel crashes in the past (1.5), which is characterized by a blank screen, then wallpaper loads, then icons, then widgets for several seconds. In the past I have attributed this event to a severe slow down of the CPU.
Now, I am inclined to label this a crash.
In 1.6, the desktop panel crash occurs: the panel has to re-render all icons and widgets, and "desktop panel location" (green bar). Upon crash it initially indicates that you are on the center panel even if you are not. Fixes itself when you try to switch to another desktop panel.
Last edited by crzyruski; 3rd November 2009 at 07:58 AM.
3rd November 2009, 07:38 AM   |  #62  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
The built-in file manager app support apk install. Just click the apk file you want
3rd November 2009, 12:06 PM   |  #63  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzyruski

@taitai
What do you mean install input? The DSTL1 (and N2 I imagine) uses touch screen input in addition to hardware buttons.
Hardware buttons:

  • Call (SIM 1)
  • Home (SIM 2)
  • Back
  • Hang Up (Power)
  • 5 button Directional Pad (D-Pad)
  • volume rocker (rock up and rock down)
  • camera (half press and full press)

Are you experiencing problems installing an APK package?
Please make sure "Unknown sources" is enabled: Settings > Applications > Unknown sources.

Please list adb commands you are trying to use and their respective results.

Sorry for the confusion. What I meant was text input method, the one I tried was HTC Touch Chinese "HTC_CIME.apk".

Installed but yet cannot choose different keyboard layout.

is adb install xxxx.apk OK?

Any hints?

I tried another few times with your android market patch, no luck
still stuck at the home screen with the screen locked. Press the button in the middle (menu) with no response to unlock
3rd November 2009, 01:25 PM   |  #64  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
N21 Owner
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzyruski

ATTENTION N21 owners

Please contact me before you flash your brand new N21!

I would like a copy of your phone's firmware before you overwrite it with something else.

Much thanks in advance!

-crzyruski

Hi crzyruski,
I've received a few days ago my N21. May I help you with this?
I've installed the usb driver in my PC from generalmobile DSTL1 site and the phone is recognized as an Android Sooner Composite Interface.

At the phone the versions are:
Model Number: yh_x2
Firmware Version: 1.5
Baseband version: 20/05/09,st32,x2a,m1
Kernel version: 2.6.28-svn1781
Fri Sep 25 14:56:02 CST 2009
Build Number:CUPCAKE.eng.long.20090925.190338.r1789
When entering in recovery mode:
It shows the logo of General Mobile and DSTL1
and this messages:

E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
RecVer: Fri Jul 10 19:15:42 CST 2009


Recovery Tools:
HOME: Sd-card update
CALL: Board test
BACK: Factory reset
POWER: Reboot system

I'm just installing the Android SDK, I suppose I'll need it

Paco
3rd November 2009, 03:25 PM   |  #65  
crzyruski's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
@pacoge

Great news. Please hold on for me, I need to make a custom recovery image for you. It shouldn't take long, but I am unavailable now. In 12 hours I will be.
Thanks so much!
-crzryruski

Quote:
Originally Posted by pacoge



Hi crzyruski,
I've received a few days ago my N21. May I help you with this?
I've installed the usb driver in my PC from generalmobile DSTL1 site and the phone is recognized as an Android Sooner Composite Interface.

At the phone the versions are:
Model Number: yh_x2
Firmware Version: 1.5
Baseband version: 20/05/09,st32,x2a,m1
Kernel version: 2.6.28-svn1781
Fri Sep 25 14:56:02 CST 2009
Build Number:CUPCAKE.eng.long.20090925.190338.r1789
When entering in recovery mode:
It shows the logo of General Mobile and DSTL1
and this messages:

E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command
RecVer: Fri Jul 10 19:15:42 CST 2009


Recovery Tools:
HOME: Sd-card update
CALL: Board test
BACK: Factory reset
POWER: Reboot system

I'm just installing the Android SDK, I suppose I'll need it

Paco

4th November 2009, 12:07 AM   |  #66  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crzyruski


Has anyone experienced a desktop panel crash in 1.6?

Yes, I've experienced too
4th November 2009, 02:16 AM   |  #67  
crzyruski's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
@taitai

Have you tried seeing if the new installation has given you more option in Settings?

Whenever I install a new keyboard I have to change my settings.
When I installed Better Keyboard, I had to:
  1. Enable it through settings - Settings > Locale & text
  2. Change input method - long press on any text input field and you should get a popup window with options, one of which should be "Input Method". Here you should be able to select any additional keyboard you installed
I do not know how HTC_CIME works... but I found a Chinese blog (I cannot read some of it), maybe it is useful to you: http://www.sofee.cn/blog/2009/05/01/214/

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

Sorry for the confusion. What I meant was text input method, the one I tried was HTC Touch Chinese "HTC_CIME.apk".

Installed but yet cannot choose different keyboard layout.

is adb install xxxx.apk OK?

Any hints?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

Sorry for the confusion. What I meant was text input method, the one I tried was HTC Touch Chinese "HTC_CIME.apk".

Installed but yet cannot choose different keyboard layout.

is adb install xxxx.apk OK?

Any hints?

Load into recovery and select "board test" option.
One of the tests will be to test your keys. Press the center D-pad (menu) key to identify if it works at all and what number it corresponds to. Please tell us the number that your center D-pad key is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

I tried another few times with your android market patch, no luck
still stuck at the home screen with the screen locked. Press the button in the middle (menu) with no response to unlock

Best of luck!
4th November 2009, 09:21 AM   |  #68  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Appreciated you help , key tests results are as follows:-
up (103) pressed
down(108)pressed
left(105) pressed
right(106) pressed
centre -> Keyboardlight ON (I think it skipped into next test)
the call button is (231) pressed
home(102) pressed
back (158) Pressed
end(107) pressed
camera(212) pressed
volumeup(115) pressed
volumedown(114) pressed



BTW is it OK to flash the CM-Recovery1.4.img?

& can I manually install the market using ADB?
Last edited by taitai; 4th November 2009 at 09:25 AM.
4th November 2009, 09:26 PM   |  #69  
crzyruski's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
@taitai

Note: You are probably the first N21 to try the 1.6 package...

Seems you have a problem with your center key, as far as your test results show.
This could be the difference between N21 and DSTL1.
This could also be a defect of your device.
We need to do more comparisons:
  • Someone with an unmodified N21 should run the same test and post their findings.
  • Someone with a modified N21 should run the same test and post their findings.
I believe another N21 owner, pacoge, has yet to modify his device. Maybe we can request the original N21 recovery from him, as well as his test results for the center key.

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

Appreciated you help , key tests results are as follows:-
up (103) pressed
down(108)pressed
left(105) pressed
right(106) pressed
centre -> Keyboardlight ON (I think it skipped into next test)
the call button is (231) pressed
home(102) pressed
back (158) Pressed
end(107) pressed
camera(212) pressed
volumeup(115) pressed
volumedown(114) pressed

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...4&postcount=21

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

BTW is it OK to flash the CM-Recovery1.4.img?

I doubt you could apply the google apps patch without a custom recovery image. Without Google Apps patch your device runs fine? Center key works?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taitai

can I manually install the market using ADB?

Last edited by crzyruski; 4th November 2009 at 11:01 PM. Reason: clarification
5th November 2009, 04:07 AM   |  #70  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Thanks for your advice.

May I ask how did you zip and unzip?
Did you do it using Linux? OSX? Wins?
Since when I try to rezip something, error shows "system-validate-script"not found error

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, dstl1, dual sim, n21, root, sciphone n21
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes