Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,490 Members 44,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Marketplace "copy protection" cracked

Tip us?

Chainfire
Old
(Last edited by Chainfire; 5th October 2009 at 09:19 PM.)
Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt? - OP
Thanks Meter 48819

DONATE TO ME
Default Marketplace "copy protection" cracked

I will not do anything with this, or publish how. But you can be assured the "warez" guys from that one site will figure this out within a day or so as well...

As most of you will know I am a software developer by trade, with some commercial offerings from my company.

And then there was Marketplace. For commercial devs, something nice to have. But if you have followed the news, the piracy protection for commercial developers is not much to speak of. See this document http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...te%20Paper.pdf.

I will refrain from quoting the obvious mistakes in this document, if you give this thing a read, you will notice them soon enough. What it all comes down to is that there is no copy protection, not even at the advanced level, at least if they implement it in the way I interpret from reading that document.

So today I started up Marketplace and it worked. Hurrah. The current level of protection is making sure the CAB files are deleted upon install - which is obviously not a way to protect anything - but even this, I thought, should easily be circumventable.

Now, because I wanted to see how fast it could be done, I went with a hunch instead of doing any investigation. And that hunch worked like charm. It took me less than five minutes to circumvent this "protection", and get the ability to save the CABs the MarketPlace app downloads to a different folder. As the CAB file is the same for every downloader, you could just give this CAB you payed for out to all your friends.