5,606,779 Members 37,604 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Create a GoldCard - Bypassing the RUU/SPL CID check to Root/Downgrade

Tip us?
 
awsy44
Old
#11  
awsy44's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 141
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland
Quote:
Originally Posted by tianci86 View Post
so it's tested and proven for 2.73.707.9?great!
CONFIRMED! it works on 2.73.707.9 , just got 2.73.405.5 , im so happy , thanks soo much guys your the best
Device :
Samsung Galaxy S III GT-I9300
ROM : CM10.1 (Thanks Codeworkx) 4.2.2
 
masterpfa
Old
#12  
masterpfa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 573
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London UK
Talking My Hero..... lol



Thanks, I thought I would be owned by T-Mobile for ever after the ROM update
Now I'm back to the HTC default ROM (NOT T-Mobile G2 Touch!!!), cup of coffee time before Rooting flashing etc and remaining from now on faithful to Paul and the MoDaCo ROM
 
gyounut
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Nov 2007
hey guys!

i have a question

im a owner of an tmobile g2 touch and want to have the new firmware of the htc hero can i use this hack to update to the newest firmware because at the moment it says if i want so update: error this rom is not for your device, and so on..

thx !
bye


sry for my english im from germany
 
Jesterz
Old
#14  
Jesterz's Avatar
Retired Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 436
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyounut View Post
hey guys!

i have a question

im a owner of an tmobile g2 touch and want to have the new firmware of the htc hero can i use this hack to update to the newest firmware because at the moment it says if i want so update: error this rom is not for your device, and so on..

thx !
bye


sry for my english im from germany
ja das stimmt
Current: Samsung Galaxy Tab
Old: Qtek G4 S200 / HTC Hero / HTC Desire
 
taz5176
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 90
Join Date: Sep 2008
thx jesterz
successfully update singapore hero 2.73.707 to 2.73.405, rooting in a while...

 
burgess_boy
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 162
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff
Quote:
Originally Posted by d0s View Post
I had the same issue with Recovery Flasher I couldn't to boot into recovery. I was also unable to downgrade to the 1.7 roms due to a bootloader version error, arghhh. Anywho, managed to work my way round it, i'll explain below. I've got a T-Mobile G2 updated to the latest rom (so no root access).

I first followed the instructions on making a goldcard and then flashed the 2.73.405.5 WWE rom fine.

Now make sure you have the cm-hero-recovery.img (http://content.modaco.net/dropzone/m...covery-1.0.zip) on the root of your sdcard. Aswell as Instant Root (http://neilandtheresa.co.uk/Android/) now install Instant Root on the phone. It should pop up with a notification "instant root was sucessfully" or along those lines. (If you have a problem installing Instant Root make sure Settings>Applications>Unknown Sources is checked)

Instant root then allows for root access with adb shell using the following 2 commands:
1) adb shell
then
2) su
the icon should change from a $ to #.

Now flash the recovery image with the following command:
1) flash_image recovery /sdcard/cm-hero-recovery.img

This shouldn't take that long once completed it will go back the # prompt example below.

# flash_image recovery /sdcard/cm-hero-recovery.img (I typed this)
flash_image recovery /sdcard/cm-hero-recovery.img (this pops up)
# (this shows the flash completed)


Now pull out your usb cable and battery, turn on the phone with the battery in place while holding the home button and it should boot into the custom recovery .

Well, I hope this helps someone and I didn't just waste my time . Oh, thanks for posting the goldcard instructions.
Did it last night and got it working, used the AMON Hero recovery image instead and partitioned my sd card without going through the manual adb solution.

Cheers
 
keatonreckard
Old
#17  
keatonreckard's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 74
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lancaster

 
DONATE TO ME
could this be adapted for the sprint hero?
HTC Thunderbolt 4G | Apple iPad 3G 32GB | Dell Streak |AT&T Nexus ONE
 
salamandar
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 249
Join Date: Feb 2009
Sprint Hero support request strongly seconded, i am desperate to get my CDMA Hero rooted.
 
kazuni
Old
#19  
kazuni's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 212
Posts: 656
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hong Kong
have you guys tried using thesame method and got anywhere? I mean, from what I know is that you can't even boot in to recovery mode right? have you guys tries the adb method to boot into rec mode at least?
HTC One
Xpera Z + SanDisk 64GB
Astell and Kern / Rainbow Audio RAWK100 + 2xSanDisk 64GB
SGS3 LTE /w kzn v1.0 ROM + SanDisk 64GB
SGS3 /w Omega v27.2 ROM + SanDisk 64GB
Previous Devices:
HTC: Rezound, Desire Z, HD2, Hero, Dream, Touch, Atom, Tytn II, 838 Pro
Samsung: P6800,P7500,N7000,I9250,SHV-E160S,I9200,I9100,I9000,F388
Sony: Arc, X10, XPS
Apple: 2,3G,3GS,4,4S,iPad2,iPad3,iPadMini
Mods for I9305 > Chinese IME - 15 Button toggle Mod - Note 2 Gallery + Camera Mod - Extended Power Menu
 
Funkym0nkey
Old
#20  
Funkym0nkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 260
Posts: 670
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Moving around in the ancient land
Aces!!!!

Worked on Indian 2.73.720 like a charm.
Thanks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...