ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Program Tab Toolbox- VGA - Manila 2.1

OP JVH3

22nd October 2009, 09:14 PM   |  #1  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
NEW VERSION POSTED 12/26/2009
ProgramTabToolbox_Manila_2.1_VGA_by_JVH3_v2.1
Fixes bug with GPF at start introduced with v2.0 if a registry entry did not exist.

NEW VERSION POSTED 12/25/2009
ProgramTabToolbox_Manila_2.1_VGA_by_JVH3_v2.0
Now supports HTC Sense 2.1 without manually shutting down Sense.

Program Tab Toolbox (New Version Posted 10/26/2009 reposted 1:04 am CST)

Currently only supports VGA Manila 2.1. WVGA Manila 2.1 is coming soon.



Download link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...0&d=1256536975

This app lets you pick 3 or 4 columns for your program tab.
It lets you pick if you want All Programs to display it as a list or 4 columns.
It lets you decide how many programs can be on the program tab. (10 to 99).
It lets you backup your program tab, and then restore after flashing a new ROM.

I had previously ported the 4 column program tab enhancemnt by Co0kieMonster.
This app gives you the exact same files from that and original manila files and gives the ability to choose how you currently want it displayed.

Backup and Restore do require that Storage Card is named Storage Card and My Documents is called My Documents

Important Note: This must be installed to the device, not a storage card. (This might not be true anymore.)

Feedback is appreciated, especially positive.

If you like this app and feel like donating, here is a link:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=7380024

Did this app save you time after flashing? What is your time worth?
Isn't it worth throwing a couple bucks my way. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by JVH3; 27th December 2009 at 02:39 AM.
22nd October 2009, 09:18 PM   |  #2  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Program History / Planned Features
Planned Additions:
ability to reorder programs on the program tab.
launch from manila settings
make it skinable

No promises on how soon I get to that stuff.

Program History:

10/26/2009
added backup and restore
added ability to change number of programs on the program tab (10 to 99)
made it look alot nicer
added an about page
added a nice icon courtesy of xda user: Schneid. Thanks.
made it so it will work with ROMs of other languages Program Files

10/22/2009
Initial Release
Last edited by JVH3; 26th October 2009 at 06:55 PM.
22nd October 2009, 09:47 PM   |  #3  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Frequntly Asked Questions / Known Issues
Known issues:
This does not add the registry entries that the 4 column enhancement provides.
They might already be there in the base VGA Manila 2.1.
If your ROM does not have the 4 column enhancement, you might need to install it first.
It can be found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=554330

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can I cook this in my ROM?
I can't really stop you, so if you do, please donate a small portion of the donations that you receive for the ROMs you provide.
Exception to that request. NRGZ28 has my personal approval to cook this into his Raphael ROMs if he chooses to do so.
Any chef that donates does as well.

If it's cooked in a ROM, I will likely recieve nothing from the users of the ROM.
A cooked ROM is obviously worth more than any ingrediant.
But, the suppliers of the ingrediants should get something.
So, if you get $500 from a ROM you cook, throw me a bone.
I'm not looking to get rich from this, but I'd like to get a little something for what I produce.

Will this work with the ROM I am using?
If the ROM you are using is VGA and uses Manila 2.1, it will work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox1.jpg
Views:	2325
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	240751   Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox2.jpg
Views:	2293
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	240752   Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox3.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	240753  
Last edited by JVH3; 26th October 2009 at 10:26 PM.
22nd October 2009, 10:18 PM   |  #4  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,198
 
3,391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Good word

edit: something like this
Attached Images
File Type: bmp chaos1.bmp - [Click for QR Code] (12.1 KB, 265 views)
Last edited by ceesheim; 22nd October 2009 at 10:35 PM.
22nd October 2009, 10:47 PM   |  #5  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim

Good word

edit: something like this

Funny.

Thinking more along the lines of what schneid posted in the Raph Energy thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9640

I'm liking the ones he posted. I kind of want it to indicate a little more what it does. But they are definate possibilities. They look real nice.
22nd October 2009, 11:04 PM   |  #6  
jmckeejr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Altoona, Pa
Thanks Meter: 16
 
1,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Good job. Cant wait for the program tab backup feature. I was backing up the registry before, but everytime I disable manila, import reg entry, and re-enable(even after soft reset) all icons are gone with a grey box in their place. Anyway, thanks.
Last edited by jmckeejr; 23rd October 2009 at 12:43 AM.
22nd October 2009, 11:57 PM   |  #7  
neil_swann80's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bristol, UK
Thanks Meter: 11
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
Something like this perhaps?

But obviously tidier than my effort!
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip ico.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.3 KB, 9 views)
Last edited by neil_swann80; 23rd October 2009 at 12:00 AM.
23rd October 2009, 08:12 AM   |  #8  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmckeejr

Good job. Cant wait for the program tab backup feature. I was backing up the registry before, but everytime I disable manila, import reg entry, and re-enable(even after soft reset) all icons are gone with a grey box in their place. Anyway, thanks.

I figured out how to solve the icon issue, just set icon path to blank for each program entry

HKLM\Software\manila\ProgramLauncher\0
iconPath=blank
using regedit backup and restore, for some reason it resotores it to 0 or 8.

So, until I get this done. that is one way to restore the program tab between ROM flashes.

In any case, it is fiigured out, so now I just need to write code.
23rd October 2009, 09:05 AM   |  #9  
anod's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Question
Hi!

I have a question, m is it possible to change number of shown icons?
If yes, can you add this to your program
I would like to reduce it, to see all icons only with one slide...

Thanks
23rd October 2009, 09:39 AM   |  #10  
JVH3's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 427
 
3,686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anod

Hi!

I have a question, m is it possible to change number of shown icons?
If yes, can you add this to your program
I would like to reduce it, to see all icons only with one slide...

Thanks

It's already in the planned features.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes