Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,247 Members 46,716 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Program Tab Toolbox- VGA - Manila 2.1

Tip us?
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 27th December 2009 at 01:39 AM.)
#1  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Program Tab Toolbox- VGA - Manila 2.1

NEW VERSION POSTED 12/26/2009
ProgramTabToolbox_Manila_2.1_VGA_by_JVH3_v2.1
Fixes bug with GPF at start introduced with v2.0 if a registry entry did not exist.

NEW VERSION POSTED 12/25/2009
ProgramTabToolbox_Manila_2.1_VGA_by_JVH3_v2.0
Now supports HTC Sense 2.1 without manually shutting down Sense.

Program Tab Toolbox (New Version Posted 10/26/2009 reposted 1:04 am CST)

Currently only supports VGA Manila 2.1. WVGA Manila 2.1 is coming soon.



Download link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...0&d=1256536975

This app lets you pick 3 or 4 columns for your program tab.
It lets you pick if you want All Programs to display it as a list or 4 columns.
It lets you decide how many programs can be on the program tab. (10 to 99).
It lets you backup your program tab, and then restore after flashing a new ROM.

I had previously ported the 4 column program tab enhancemnt by Co0kieMonster.
This app gives you the exact same files from that and original manila files and gives the ability to choose how you currently want it displayed.

Backup and Restore do require that Storage Card is named Storage Card and My Documents is called My Documents

Important Note: This must be installed to the device, not a storage card. (This might not be true anymore.)

Feedback is appreciated, especially positive.

If you like this app and feel like donating, here is a link:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=7380024

Did this app save you time after flashing? What is your time worth?
Isn't it worth throwing a couple bucks my way. Thanks in advance.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 26th October 2009 at 05:55 PM.)
#2  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Program History / Planned Features

Planned Additions:
ability to reorder programs on the program tab.
launch from manila settings
make it skinable

No promises on how soon I get to that stuff.

Program History:

10/26/2009
added backup and restore
added ability to change number of programs on the program tab (10 to 99)
made it look alot nicer
added an about page
added a nice icon courtesy of xda user: Schneid. Thanks.
made it so it will work with ROMs of other languages Program Files

10/22/2009
Initial Release

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
JVH3
Old
(Last edited by JVH3; 26th October 2009 at 09:26 PM.)
#3  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Frequntly Asked Questions / Known Issues

Known issues:
This does not add the registry entries that the 4 column enhancement provides.
They might already be there in the base VGA Manila 2.1.
If your ROM does not have the 4 column enhancement, you might need to install it first.
It can be found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=554330

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can I cook this in my ROM?
I can't really stop you, so if you do, please donate a small portion of the donations that you receive for the ROMs you provide.
Exception to that request. NRGZ28 has my personal approval to cook this into his Raphael ROMs if he chooses to do so.
Any chef that donates does as well.

If it's cooked in a ROM, I will likely recieve nothing from the users of the ROM.
A cooked ROM is obviously worth more than any ingrediant.
But, the suppliers of the ingrediants should get something.
So, if you get $500 from a ROM you cook, throw me a bone.
I'm not looking to get rich from this, but I'd like to get a little something for what I produce.

Will this work with the ROM I am using?
If the ROM you are using is VGA and uses Manila 2.1, it will work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox1.jpg
Views:	2325
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	240751   Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox2.jpg
Views:	2293
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	240752   Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramTabToolbox3.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	19.5 KB
ID:	240753  

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
ceesheim
Old
(Last edited by ceesheim; 22nd October 2009 at 09:35 PM.)
#4  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2,148
Posts: 3,319
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: No Android Fanboys Please !!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Good word

edit: something like this
Attached Images
File Type: bmp chaos1.bmp - [Click for QR Code] (12.1 KB, 265 views)


Cheap 2TB online storage !!!
http://www.livedrive.com/?tid=RCBX8BJR&r=1



the hottest geek girl in the world SassiBoB, SassyBoB, Sassy BoB, sassibob

Iron Fist !!!

XDA-Developers is all about Developers
 
JVH3
Old
#5  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim View Post
Good word

edit: something like this
Funny.

Thinking more along the lines of what schneid posted in the Raph Energy thread here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=9640

I'm liking the ones he posted. I kind of want it to indicate a little more what it does. But they are definate possibilities. They look real nice.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
jmckeejr
Old
(Last edited by jmckeejr; 22nd October 2009 at 11:43 PM.)
#6  
jmckeejr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 1,559
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Altoona, Pa
Good job. Cant wait for the program tab backup feature. I was backing up the registry before, but everytime I disable manila, import reg entry, and re-enable(even after soft reset) all icons are gone with a grey box in their place. Anyway, thanks.


Now on Android, Galaxy Tab 3 8"
Recent devices: Lenovo IdeaPad a2109.
Asus Transformer tf300t
Now on Galaxy S4 AT&T
 
neil_swann80
Old
(Last edited by neil_swann80; 22nd October 2009 at 11:00 PM.)
#7  
neil_swann80's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 368
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Something like this perhaps?

But obviously tidier than my effort!
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip ico.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.3 KB, 9 views)
 
JVH3
Old
#8  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmckeejr View Post
Good job. Cant wait for the program tab backup feature. I was backing up the registry before, but everytime I disable manila, import reg entry, and re-enable(even after soft reset) all icons are gone with a grey box in their place. Anyway, thanks.
I figured out how to solve the icon issue, just set icon path to blank for each program entry

HKLM\Software\manila\ProgramLauncher\0
iconPath=blank
using regedit backup and restore, for some reason it resotores it to 0 or 8.

So, until I get this done. that is one way to restore the program tab between ROM flashes.

In any case, it is fiigured out, so now I just need to write code.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011
 
anod
Old
#9  
anod's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 86
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hi!

I have a question, m is it possible to change number of shown icons?
If yes, can you add this to your program
I would like to reduce it, to see all icons only with one slide...

Thanks
 
JVH3
Old
#10  
JVH3's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 427
Posts: 3,686
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by anod View Post
Hi!

I have a question, m is it possible to change number of shown icons?
If yes, can you add this to your program
I would like to reduce it, to see all icons only with one slide...

Thanks
It's already in the planned features.

A wise man speaks because he has something to say; a fool because he has to say something. - Plato

JVH3 Energy Rhodium Tips Tricks and ROM Reviews and JVH3 Energy Raph ROM Reviews

Energy ROM FAQs Rhodium or the Rhaphael

Twitter Donations accepted at: Paypal

Created:
Manila 2.1, 2.5 Weather City Editor - Updated 1/5/2011

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes