Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

HOW-TO: Get official Google ION Android 1.6 into HTC Magic 32B

OP dferreira

9th November 2009, 01:47 PM   |  #101  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Cheers jackmagic, feel more confident now i know i had the right idea and someone with same phone has gone through successfully, will wait and see if dferreia has anything else to add first but think i will give it a go
9th November 2009, 03:47 PM   |  #102  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
No probs And yeah I'd wait for his comments, but I think you should be fine!
9th November 2009, 07:48 PM   |  #103  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
392 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
dferreira : thanks for the advice for apn settings. GPRS is wroking for nrowsing the internet but sending mms with a pic attached does not work. Stays on sending.
I chose the settings-wireless controls-mobile networks- access point names-the mms apn
but it didnd send the message.
For gprs i chose the gprs one and it worked.
adb Logcat:
V/MmsSmsProvider( 146): getThreadId THREAD_QUERY: SELECT _id FROM threads WHERE recipient_ids = ?
V/MmsSmsProvider( 146): getThreadId cursor count: 1
V/Telephony(12682): getOrCreateThreadId cursor cnt: 1
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 76): onDataConnectionStateChanged 3
I/HTCIMEService(10864): onReceive - android.intent.action.ANY_DATA_STATE
D/MobileDataStateTracker( 76): CONNECTED event did not supply interface name.
D/MobileDataStateTracker( 76): DNS server addresses are not known.
D/GpsLocationProvider( 76): state: CONNECTED apnName: mms reason:
I/HTCIMEService(10864): onReceive - android.intent.action.ANY_DATA_STATE
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 76): onDataConnectionStateChanged 3
D/GpsLocationProvider( 76): state: DISCONNECTED apnName: null reason: dataDisabled
Last edited by htcmagic; 9th November 2009 at 07:54 PM.
9th November 2009, 09:44 PM   |  #104  
dferreira's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunoRafael

1. start phone in fastboot, boot recovery.img then partition SD card

You won't be able to fastboot boot recovery.img with a S-ON SPL, that's why we put an Eng. SPL, so that you can access your phone from fastboot. First thing you should do is to follow Amon_RA instructions on how to get the 2004 Eng. SPL to your phone. You can use Relentless Router to do that (I think it's a sticky on the Dev. Forum
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunoRafael

2. do a nandroid backup of original setup (or does this require engineering spl first?)

Yes, you should do a nandroid backup of your current running system, even before applying the Eng. SPL, so that in case you need to, you can go back to the original state (except the original SPL...).
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunoRafael

3. with copies of recovery, spl and update on root of SD card, fastboot, boot recovery.img then apply the splupdate.zip, when finished press green and reboot as described on spl thread.
Now at this point will the phone start as normal with new spl on original rom or do i straight away flash ion rom update.zip?

You can see if the SPL is working properly before applying the update for the OS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunoRafael

4. repeat step 3 but apply update.zip, is a wipe required first? and again will this finish with green press then reboot?

Yes, you should wipe before applying any update.zip. If I'm not mistaken, the recovery from Amon_RA now requires you to hit Home instead of green
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrunoRafael

Also i have found an original HBOOT-1.33.0004, along with nandroid backup will i be able to get back to stock then if i need to send for repairs under warranty?

Sorry for all the questions and Thanks in advance

Yes, you should be able to restore the nandroid backup and go back to stock. Remember that nandroid doesn't backup the carrier splash screen. Unless you create a new splash screen that looks like the original (I don't remember anymore what it looked like ), you should be fine.
9th November 2009, 09:47 PM   |  #105  
dferreira's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by htcmagic

dferreira : thanks for the advice for apn settings. GPRS is wroking for nrowsing the internet but sending mms with a pic attached does not work. Stays on sending.
I chose the settings-wireless controls-mobile networks- access point names-the mms apn
but it didnd send the message.
For gprs i chose the gprs one and it worked.
adb Logcat:
V/MmsSmsProvider( 146): getThreadId THREAD_QUERY: SELECT _id FROM threads WHERE recipient_ids = ?
V/MmsSmsProvider( 146): getThreadId cursor count: 1
V/Telephony(12682): getOrCreateThreadId cursor cnt: 1
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 76): onDataConnectionStateChanged 3
I/HTCIMEService(10864): onReceive - android.intent.action.ANY_DATA_STATE
D/MobileDataStateTracker( 76): CONNECTED event did not supply interface name.
D/MobileDataStateTracker( 76): DNS server addresses are not known.
D/GpsLocationProvider( 76): state: CONNECTED apnName: mms reason:
I/HTCIMEService(10864): onReceive - android.intent.action.ANY_DATA_STATE
D/NetworkLocationProvider( 76): onDataConnectionStateChanged 3
D/GpsLocationProvider( 76): state: DISCONNECTED apnName: null reason: dataDisabled

DNS server addresses are not known... apparently the mms server is not correct :/
9th November 2009, 10:46 PM   |  #106  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Been having a play about with installing Loccy's BetterBrowser to the ION ROM and had some success

Requires root access - see FAQ in first post.

This is what I did. NB: You can either do this in fastboot and boot into your recovery image, or whilst the OS is booted but make sure you have USB Debugging enabled (Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging)

1. Use adb to pull your stock browser files (Browser.apk and Browser.opex) from the ION ROM (for a backup, incase you want to revert back).

Code:
adb pull /system/app/Browser.* C:\[file path to where you want to pull it to]
2. Mount your system and use shell to remove the stock browser files from /app directory.

Code:
adb remount
adb shell
# cd /system/app
# rm Browser.apk
# rm Browser.odex
3. Push your new Browser.apk (rename Loccy's .apk to this) to you /app directory.

Code:
adb push C:\[file path to Loccy's .apk here] /system/app
4. Reboot your phone (if in recovery, use the menu. if booted into OS, use shell and reboot).

Code:
adb shell
# reboot
The functionality is good. Double tap to zoom in/cycle through zoom(s) works and so does tripple tap to zoom out. Multi touch doesn't work as this is an official ROM (the browser in 2.0 will support it and as we have ION will all be getting that first ). Hiding the notification bar works too.
9th November 2009, 10:51 PM   |  #107  
dferreira's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMagic

Been having a play about with installing Loccy's BetterBrowser to the ION ROM and had some success

Requires root access - see FAQ in first post.

This is what I did. NB: You can either do this in fastboot and boot into your recovery image, or whilst the OS is booted but make sure you have USB Debugging enabled (Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging)

1. Use adb to pull your stock browser files (Browser.apk and Browser.opex) from the ION ROM (for a backup, incase you want to revert back).

Code:
adb pull /system/app/Browser.* C:\[file path to where you want to pull it to]
2. Mount your system and use shell to remove the stock browser files from /app directory.

Code:
adb remount
adb shell
# cd /system/app
# rm Browser.apk
# rm Browser.odex
3. Push your new Browser.apk (rename Loccy's .apk to this) to you /app directory.

Code:
adb push C:\[file path to Loccy's .apk here] /system/app
4. Reboot your phone (if in recovery, use the menu. if booted into OS, use shell and reboot).

Code:
adb shell
# reboot
The functionality is good. Double tap to zoom in/cycle through zoom(s) works and so does tripple tap to zoom out. Multi touch doesn't work as this is an official ROM (the browser in 2.0 will support it and as we have ION will all be getting that first ). Hiding the notification bar works too.

Added to first post
10th November 2009, 10:18 AM   |  #108  
brokenworm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 132
 
283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
i have bricked my magic 32A .....

3 - Install Engineering SPL 2004 from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=529019 - this will allow you flash Google ION ROM directly with Amon_RA's recovery tool, which makes your HTC Magic 32B from now on a Google ION device!

as my device were a 32A it resulted in no recovery menu .... no fastboot ...
no nothing but charging funktion works...
no usb device when i put it in
is it possible to UNBRICK my fone again or do i have to go to the store "warrenty" ?

10th November 2009, 03:03 PM   |  #109  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by looktall

does it have full exchange sync? (email, calendar and contacts)

The HTC exchange sync is limited, Touchdown is better and far more feature rich.

Anybody that's having problems with this update sticking on the android screen, make sure you have wiped/factory reset before applying update.zip and make sure your using the recovery rom, not the system rom.

Thanks for the props dferreira!
10th November 2009, 05:08 PM   |  #110  
dferreira's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,369 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brokenworm

i have bricked my magic 32A .....

3 - Install Engineering SPL 2004 from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=529019 - this will allow you flash Google ION ROM directly with Amon_RA's recovery tool, which makes your HTC Magic 32B from now on a Google ION device!

as my device were a 32A it resulted in no recovery menu .... no fastboot ...
no nothing but charging funktion works...
no usb device when i put it in
is it possible to UNBRICK my fone again or do i have to go to the store "warrenty" ?

... I'm not held responsible for any damage from not reading "32B"... Warranty should replace it, since it doesn't even boot. You can say that you left the phone recharging and then when you tried to turn it on, it doesn't.

Good luck.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes