Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[29.10.2009] MarketPlaceRegionSwitch v1.1

OP Chainfire

28th October 2009, 09:03 PM   |  #1  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 51,860
 
9,258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Here it is people, as promised, MarketPlaceRegionSwitch. What does it do? It allows you to switch MarketPlace to USA, Germany, France, Netherlands, etc. Whatever you want - without mucking with regional settings, soft-resetting, etc. "because I can" :P

I DEMAND you read the entire post before using it, because there are definitely things you should know before using it.

This app actually fools Marketplace into thinking you are from somewhere else. This method is not foolproof, and may be circumvented by Microsoft in the near future. It is not for the faint of heart either.

Why?
Because developers have been left in the cold for manually verifying their apps are in the correct markets. Microsoft have dropped the ball a few times with "published" apps seemingly not being published at all, or incorrectly. While I'm sure Microsoft will fix these issues in due time (and indeed provide the functionality this program offers) for now developers need to check this for themselves. So no, this app is not meant for end-users, but for developers. If you still want to use it, that's fine by me, but it's on your own conscience

Keep in mind this is a developer tool, for verification of Marketplace presence. I would strongly advise against using this to download apps from market regions that are not your own, and especially not buying them through this app. In fact it is likely the Marketplace will not allow you to purchase from another country than your CC's billing address in either case.

How to use
Now here come the important bits. When you start the application, you will see two text boxes in front of you. MCC (mobile country code), and Lang (language ID). By default they have settings for the USA entered.

You will want to fill these values with the correct values for the market you want to visit. You should have matching country codes and language ID's, but see the note below about that. In 1.1 I have also added a select box with presets that mostly work.

Now, how to find the values you need to enter here:

MCC Go to this page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mobile_Country_Code. You want to enter the numeric, 3-digit code.

Lang Go to this page: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/goglobal/bb964664.aspx. You want the values from the LCID hex column.

Hit go, wait a few seconds, and you should be in the market of your choice.

Please note that unlike the other region switching tricks, this one is supposed to work through your CELLULAR connection specifically! Please make sure you do NOT have USB/ActiveSync or Wi-Fi connected!

Notes about the "preset" selection box
While many of these presets work, I have noticed some strange behavior. Often the 'expected' codes do not work if a region is combined with a language, but that language is not from that region.

Take for example, Luxembourg. The preset uses the correct LangID and MCC for French/Luxembourg, but it usually wont work. If you keep the Lang from French/Luxembourg but use the code for France in the MCC box, it usually will work and you will end up in the Marketplace for Luxembourg, not the one for France. You will have to play with it if you want to test for these less common markets. If you have specific notes about which codes work for which specific Markets, please do post them here.

If you are having trouble connecting to the USA marketplace, try using 311, 312, 313 or 314 instead of 310 in the MCC box.

How it was done
The entire thing is done by runtime patching. Functions used to figure out which locale you are in are patched by the app, returning the value you entered in Lang. Accompanied with that, the IMSI is patched and the MCC part is replaced by the value you entered in MCC. This all is a lot more complicated than it sounds

Obviously the app does it's best to restore original behaviour on exit, though I would still advise soft-resetting when you're done with it.

Random notes
  • The UI sucks, deal with it. I spent less than 5 minutes on it. I did spend many hours on the actual functionality, though.
  • The app should remain running while running Marketplace! It will (should) automatically exit once you exit Marketplace. Be sure to use the menu->exit function, instead of the X (the latter will usually just hide Marketplace, not close it).
  • The method used to patch may cause issues that will not disappear until you soft-reset, chances are slim but things can go wrong.

Changelog

29.10.2009 - v1.1
  • Presets added
  • Having to restart Marketplace twice without this app to get back to your "home" market should be fixed

If you are a developer for Marketplace and you make use of this app, it would be much appreciated if you would DONATE to me for my time (the link to donate is at the bottom of my signature)

Download: (+24)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ss-usa.jpg
Views:	2314
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	241447   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss-germany.jpg
Views:	2435
Size:	38.8 KB
ID:	241448   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss-france.jpg
Views:	1415
Size:	37.3 KB
ID:	241449  
Attached Files
File Type: zip MarketPlaceRegionSwitch-1.1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (39.8 KB, 13974 views)
Last edited by Chainfire; 29th October 2009 at 01:18 AM.
28th October 2009, 09:03 PM   |  #2  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 51,860
 
9,258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
[29.10.2009] MarketPlaceRegionSwitch v1.1
--Reserved--
Last edited by DaveShaw; 29th October 2009 at 10:08 AM.
28th October 2009, 09:30 PM   |  #3  
LTxda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
1,853 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
More
Great job bro!
Thanks for the great util. Much appreciated bro!
28th October 2009, 11:04 PM   |  #4  
suboxide's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Belgium (Diksmuide)
Thanks Meter: 11
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
nice, thx, finally a marketplace with more then 5 items and in a language i understand
29th October 2009, 12:16 AM   |  #5  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 38
 
7,390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Nice work!

Now to find me some US applications!
29th October 2009, 12:42 AM   |  #6  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 51,860
 
9,258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
Figures, trying to add presets to this, and just as I want to start testing the whole data network craps out... *taps foot and waits for T-Mobile to fix things*
29th October 2009, 12:48 AM   |  #7  
l3v5y's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Bristol
Thanks Meter: 38
 
7,390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chainfire

Figures, trying to add presets to this, and just as I want to start testing the whole data network craps out... *taps foot and waits for T-Mobile to fix things*

I'll test it if you want.

(Drop me a PM or something if you want)
29th October 2009, 01:09 AM   |  #8  
Noonski's Avatar
Moderator Emeritus / Recognized Developer
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 122
 
5,286 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Donate to Me
More
Kudos, Chainfire.
29th October 2009, 01:19 AM   |  #9  
Chainfire's Avatar
OP Senior Moderator / Senior Recognized Developer - Where is my shirt?
Thanks Meter: 51,860
 
9,258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Donate to Me
More
1.1 released... most importantly it adds presets. Not all of them work right, see the notes.

Also, some mod please add an empty post at the top please (I always forget to do that, hah!)
29th October 2009, 01:30 AM   |  #10  
the0ne's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 52
 
843 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
sweeeeet.. going to try it straight away

Update : Cold beer coming your way
Last edited by the0ne; 29th October 2009 at 05:02 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes