FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Native IM application working with 3G + patch for GTalk losing messages [Feb 03 2010]

114 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Zappletoo, Senior Member on 29th October 2009, 09:57 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I was bothered by the fact that Google Talk didn't show some of the messages I received. Johan de Koning submitted a patch that wasn't accepted by Google but works well. I applied this patch for personal use, but I thought that you might be interested as well.

Also, I had a look at the IM application and I modified it to allow login instead of having the "phone number cannot be read from your SIM" error. This might or might not work. It works for me, but users in the US have reported that it still fails.

UPDATE 16th Jun 2010:
Added version 1.1.2 from Cliq.

UPDATE 3rd Feb 2010:
New eclair version for IM.apk, completely untested. Might or might not work.
Patched ImProvider is no longer useful for Android versions >= 2.
Also, I removed the cupcake IM.apk because I just noticed it is broken and won't work. No-one should be still running a rooted cupcake anyway.

Notes
This is for donut. I tested it on cm 4.2.2 and 4.3.2.1, but it should work with any donut rom. As far as I know, it doesn't use sms at all. It still needs the tmo plugins to login, but no sms are sent. Other than that, it does exactly the same as when you login on wifi.

Installation
Some of these steps will fail depending on the rom (the dalvik-cache and odex part). These errors can be safely ignored.

First reboot into recovery, then, on your computer :
Code:
adb shell

mount /system
mount /sdcard
cp /system/app/IM.apk /sdcard/IM.apk
cp /system/app/ImProvider.apk /sdcard/ImProvider.apk
exit

adb push ImProvider.zip /system/app/ImProvider.apk
adb push IM.zip /system/app/IM.apk

adb shell

mount /system/sd
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*
rm /system/app/ImProvider.odex
rm /system/app/IM.odex
umount /system/sd
umount /system
umount /sdcard
reboot
Of course, I'm not responsible if anything breaks. :P

More information about the sources is available in this post.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ImProvider.zip - [Click for QR Code] (49.2 KB, 697 views)
File Type: zip IM.zip - [Click for QR Code] (532.6 KB, 669 views)
File Type: zip ImProvider.cupcake.zip - [Click for QR Code] (49.2 KB, 189 views)
File Type: zip IM.eclair.zip - [Click for QR Code] (688.6 KB, 717 views)
File Type: apk IM-1.1.2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (694.4 KB, 443 views)
Last edited by Zappletoo; 16th June 2010 at 09:48 PM.
 
 
29th October 2009, 10:42 AM |#2  
NguyenHuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
which roms are these for? cupcake? donut? hero? haha. i pushed them to my hero rom and they do not show up in my app tray or in applicantion manager.
29th October 2009, 10:45 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Marburg
Thanks Meter: 28
 
Donate to Me
More
Tested them on cm 4.2.2 and it works. Does this use ip traffic or sms?
29th October 2009, 10:47 AM |#4  
NguyenHuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 110
 
Donate to Me
More
ok cool, probably for donut. i tried on Hero cupcake and it fails, just keep getting ForceCloses. owell, i dont use it anyways but just thought it be fun =)
29th October 2009, 12:28 PM |#5  
DOHCtor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bavilo

Tested them on cm 4.2.2 and it works. Does this use ip traffic or sms?

You can try removing TmoImPlugin.apk and see if it still works.

edit:

I asked him in another thread earlier and this is his response

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappletoo

Data only hopefully.. I've not been charged for any sms so far.

I'm going to push it into Cyan's build and remove TmoImPlugin.apk and see if it still works.
29th October 2009, 12:39 PM |#6  
DOHCtor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Well, it doesn't work without tmoimplugin, and with that, I know it uses sms.
29th October 2009, 01:34 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Sorry for the lack of details.. I updated the first post to make it clearer. It doesn't send sms afaik, becaus my plan doesn't have unlimited sms and I wasn't charged for any sms since I patched the IM app.
Also, this is for donut only, because the IM subsystem changed a bit since cupcake.
29th October 2009, 03:00 PM |#8  
DOHCtor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
can you somehow modify im.apk so that it would stay in memory?
29th October 2009, 03:05 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Utrecht
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
seems to work fine *tries out this im comparison to ebuddy, seems much faster ^^*

not sure if it uses sms, but dont think so.. ah well got unlimited anyway ^^
29th October 2009, 03:17 PM |#10  
cyanogen's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 5,730
 
Donate to Me
More
Do you have the source patches for these?
29th October 2009, 05:38 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I'd like to have more feedback.. Does it work properly for everyone ? Any bugs or FC ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanogen

Do you have the source patches for these?

The patch from ImProvider is here : http://code.google.com/p/cyanogenmod.../detail?id=597
but I couldn't recompile it from source without breaking everything.. I had to patch the apk directly. Maybe you'll do better.

The patch for the IM application is attached, the edited file is in packages/apps/IM/src/com/android/im/service

Quote:
Originally Posted by DOHCtor

can you somehow modify im.apk so that it would stay in memory?

I don't know how to do that, sorry. But it seems the app already stays in memory for a while. Are you sure it doesn't stay already, if it's not killed by an application manager ?
Attached Files
File Type: txt IM_without_SIM_check.txt - [Click for QR Code] (965 Bytes, 130 views)
Last edited by Zappletoo; 29th October 2009 at 10:42 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes