Post Reply

SD Card willl NOT mount on boot. Is there a fix?

1st November 2009, 11:31 AM   |  #1  
APEX.7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 8
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Hi guys, first of thanks for taking the time to consider helping me.

Basically, last night randomly my g1 just switched off. When i try to boot up, goes to g1 screen, then boot image, then blank screen.

Boot into recovery, and it doesnt register i have an sd card in it, i wanted to wipe and reflash cm, or nandroid restore. - but cant do either as it doesnt think i have an sd card inserted.

Any ideas how to fix?

Many thanks
AdrianK
1st November 2009, 02:42 PM   |  #2  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Try mounting it on your computer, copying everything over and formatting. You can either put the card in an external reader or try to mount it via usb in recovery using 'ums_enable' and 'ums_disable'.
1st November 2009, 04:02 PM   |  #3  
APEX.7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 8
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK

Try mounting it on your computer, copying everything over and formatting. You can either put the card in an external reader or try to mount it via usb in recovery using 'ums_enable' and 'ums_disable'.

thanks Adrian. it wont let me mount it though, because it doesnt recognice that there is an sd card inserted. iv tried 3 different sd card, and it doesnt recognice that any of them have been inserted, so i figure its not my sd. :/
AdrianK
1st November 2009, 04:31 PM   |  #4  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by APEX.7

thanks Adrian. it wont let me mount it though, because it doesnt recognice that there is an sd card inserted. iv tried 3 different sd card, and it doesnt recognice that any of them have been inserted, so i figure its not my sd. :/

Hmmm... I guess the only thing left to try is formatting it externally and trying again.
1st November 2009, 05:47 PM   |  #5  
APEX.7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 8
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK

Hmmm... I guess the only thing left to try is formatting it externally and trying again.

righto. urm, noob question, is it possible to apply an update.zip via a different method? since its not recognising sd cards, can i flash a different way? thanks
1st November 2009, 06:30 PM   |  #6  
xidominicanoix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by APEX.7

righto. urm, noob question, is it possible to apply an update.zip via a different method? since its not recognising sd cards, can i flash a different way? thanks

i think an sdcard is necessary to apply an update.zip .. however if you have access to a nandroid backup you could fastboot flash the system, data, and boot .img's without an sdcard
1st November 2009, 07:48 PM   |  #7  
APEX.7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 8
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xidominicanoix

i think an sdcard is necessary to apply an update.zip .. however if you have access to a nandroid backup you could fastboot flash the system, data, and boot .img's without an sdcard

thanks, how would i go about doing this?
1st November 2009, 08:02 PM   |  #8  
Carloswithac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Pacific Beach
Thanks Meter: 8
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by APEX.7

thanks, how would i go about doing this?

Do a search in android development. It should be under Nandroid backup.

Basically you boot into fastboot and do these commands via adb:

fastboot flash system system.img

fastboot flash userdata data.img

fastboot flash boot boot.img

fastboot reboot.

Look for the thread, though. It's been a while since I've used fastboot.
AdrianK
1st November 2009, 08:08 PM   |  #9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by APEX.7

thanks, how would i go about doing this?

Using fastboot you can flash each part seperatly via usb, problem is ROMs are never distributed as seperate img's, just one update.zip. Buuuuuuut if your sd card will mount in your computer and you can find your nandroid folder, you will see that they are saved as multiple img's.

Once you have fastboot set up (instructions here) put the boot .img in the same directory as the fastboot executable. Boot the phone in to the SPL (home + camera) and enable fastboot. Then 'cd' to the fastboot directory in the command prompt or terminal (depending on OS) and type:

Code:
fastboot flash system system.img
If you're on a unix based OS, you maybe need to put a './' before that command.

Afterwards reboot your phone using 'fastboot reboot' (again you may need the './').
1st November 2009, 08:16 PM   |  #10  
APEX.7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 8
 
232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
thanks guys i really apreciate this. il report back after iv had a go.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes