Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,344 Members 47,088 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] TorchButton v2.3, using camera LED as flashlight [UPDATED Dec 8]

Tip us?
 
NetRipper
Old
(Last edited by NetRipper; 8th December 2009 at 07:26 PM.)
#1  
NetRipper's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 563
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 's-Gravendeel

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [APP] TorchButton v2.3, using camera LED as flashlight [UPDATED Dec 8]

Continuing my quest of using the LED as flashlight for my new HD2, I updated TorchButton to support the HD2 as well.

Dropped your keys? Finding something behind the bench? Performing surgery on a computer and need to find that jumper on the mainboard?

This is a simple application built for some HTC devices that have a hardware LED, normally used to take pictures in the dark. However I found the LED to be perfect to be used as a handy pocket flashlight.

Usage
There is no GUI for this application. Just start TorchButton to enable the LED on the back of your device. Start TorchButton again to turn it off.

Check out the readme if you're an advanced user and wish to change some registry settings, i.e. to allow a longer maximum time the LED is enabled.

Known issues
- [Fixed] New icons are not working when TorchButton is installed to Storage Card

Todo
- Create an app to configure the registry settings
- See if support for Omnia Pro (B7610) is feasible (someone should send me the related dlls...)
- [Done] Add a seperate timeout for bright mode
- [Done] Add blink mode with bright led
- [Done] Use new icons provided by tnyynt
- [Done] Add support for Omnia (the one found here)
- [Impossible] See if it's possible to control leds seperately ('economic mode') Sorry, this is not possible. (Tech-talk: setting a single GPIO enables both LEDs. There doesn't seem to be a GPIO for each LED seperately.)

Wishful thinking
- Camera app to interpret the morse

History
Version 2.3
- Fix icons not showing in HTC Sense or WM 6.5 start menu when installed to Storage Card.

Version 2.2
- New icons for all TorchButton apps (thanks tnyynt!). These only work in WM6.5 and up. Older OS's will still see the old icons.
- Added registry setting to use bright setting in blink mode (see BlinkUsesBrightMode).
- Bright mode now has a seperate timeout, configurable in registry (see BrightModeTimeout).
- Added support for Samsung Omnia i9x0 devices (hopefully they all work). Thanks to raph/zemrwhite2/PaSSoA. Thanks to Chainfire for testing on his Omnia i900L.
- [edit] Shortcut names have changed. I found them nicer this way, no two-line icons. And the text is now also not cut-off when added as shortcut in the home screen.
- [edit] Improved handling of bright mode. It should stop immediately now when pressed again, instead of waiting for a 500ms interval. This makes BlinkUsesBrightMode possible combined with low intervals for blink mode.
- [edit] Soft-reset your phone after upgrading from an older version! Else the new icons will not show.

Version 2.1
- Bright mode is now support on the HTC HD2 (Leo).
- Added a one-time warning message when bright mode is used for the first time.

Version 2.0
- Initial version with support for the HTC HD2 (Leo) (bright mode is not supported on the Leo)

Version 1.x
- Support for the Touch Pro
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen_v22-1.jpg
Views:	19951
Size:	16.8 KB
ID:	252194   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen_v22-2.jpg
Views:	23104
Size:	11.1 KB
ID:	252195  
Attached Files
File Type: cab TorchButton_v2.3.cab - [Click for QR Code] (233.0 KB, 60470 views)
File Type: txt TorchButton_v2.3_readme.txt - [Click for QR Code] (8.1 KB, 18444 views)
░ Wizard ► Hermes ► Raphael ► Leo ░ My Tech BlogTwitterDonate
TorchButtonKeypadLedControlLeoExtendedNotificationsLeoCpuSpeedMsm7kCpuSpeed
░ Linux on Diamond/Raphael and Leo
The Following User Says Thank You to NetRipper For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
henv
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 808
Join Date: Jan 2008
Dont think about something. Untill i read your post. This could be handy sometimes. Thnx
Current:
HTC HOX
 
12aon
Old
(Last edited by 12aon; 7th November 2009 at 07:58 PM.)
#3  
12aon's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 419
Posts: 2,430
Join Date: Mar 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Awesome man I was just thinking how I missed that

Btw what's missing for bright mode to work? If I'm not mistaken there is a brighter mode just before taking a pic.
 
Zero Masamune
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Thanks! I was dissapointed that hTorch didn't work on the HD2 now I got this. Wonderful!
Current: Sony Xperia Z (16GB+16GB), HTC One X, Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.7 GT-P6810 (16GB+64GB)
Previously: Samsung Omnia i900 (8GB+8GB), Sony Ericsson Xperia X1 (16GB), HTC Touch HD (8GB), HTC HD2 (16GB), Dell Streak 5 (16GB), Samsung Galaxy S GT-I9000 (8GB+16GB), Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-I9100 (16GB+16GB)
 
DocteurN
Old
(Last edited by DocteurN; 7th November 2009 at 09:29 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 515
Join Date: Jan 2005
Great ! thanks
Have it on my Omnia and was hoping to have it for my future HD2 !
 
NetRipper
Old
#6  
NetRipper's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 563
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 's-Gravendeel

 
DONATE TO ME
You're all welcome! Glad to hear you like it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12aon View Post
Awesome man I was just thinking how I missed that

Btw what's missing for bright mode to work? If I'm not mistaken there is a brighter mode just before taking a pic.
The mode is there, but it's not as easily called as it was on the Touch Pro. In fact I haven't found the API call at all yet. May need some hacking around the API to get that to work. The normal mode produces _quite_ the amount of light though, it's even more light than the bright mode of the Touch Pro thanks to the dual led.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero Masamune View Post
Thanks! I was dissapointed that hTorch didn't work on the HD2 now I got this. Wonderful!
hTorch will work again once I update the C# wrapper to support the Leo, as hTorch makes use of my C# library. I'll do that somewhere in the upcoming week.
░ Wizard ► Hermes ► Raphael ► Leo ░ My Tech BlogTwitterDonate
TorchButtonKeypadLedControlLeoExtendedNotificationsLeoCpuSpeedMsm7kCpuSpeed
░ Linux on Diamond/Raphael and Leo
 
MattRob
Old
#7  
MattRob's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 326
Join Date: Apr 2008
Great, works perfect ! Txs
Samsung Galaxy S III i9300
ROM: Omega V36 - XXELLA - Phenomenal 4.0 Extreme

Samsung Galaxy S II i9100
ROM: Resurrection Remix ics v2.4.1 AOKP-B39 4.0.4
Kernel: Siyah 3.3.1

HTC HD2
OS: WM6.5 / SD AmeriCanAndroid SD GB234/CM7.1
Rom: Duttys HD2 V18 WWE
 
kinnyfaifai
Old
#8  
kinnyfaifai's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 515
Join Date: Mar 2009
Can anyone confirm this don't burn anything out? On the X1 the light modules weren't heatsinked properly and caused vibrator motor to screw up after 15secs use as a torch.

Thanks!
Current: LG G3 - D855
Model: Black 16GB - 32GB microSD
Rom: Stock

Backup: Samsung Galaxy S3 - I9300
Model: White 16GB - 32GB microSD
Rom: Archidroid 1.7.15
--------------------------------------
K700i -> W810i -> P1i -> X1i -> HTC HD2 -> HTC Desire HD -> SGS3 -> LG G3
 
NetRipper
Old
#9  
NetRipper's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 563
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 's-Gravendeel

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinnyfaifai View Post
Can anyone confirm this don't burn anything out? On the X1 the light modules weren't heatsinked properly and caused vibrator motor to screw up after 15secs use as a torch.

Thanks!
I can't confirm it won't ever burn out. However, realise that enabling the LED is actually the same as using your camera with the lights on in the dark. This _shoud_ be possible for prolonged times as well.

Were you using the 'bright' setting on the X1? (If that's possible there.) That might explain it better... otherwise you could just send in the device for repair, as it's normal use of the device. Especially if it's after only 15 seconds.
░ Wizard ► Hermes ► Raphael ► Leo ░ My Tech BlogTwitterDonate
TorchButtonKeypadLedControlLeoExtendedNotificationsLeoCpuSpeedMsm7kCpuSpeed
░ Linux on Diamond/Raphael and Leo
 
kinnyfaifai
Old
#10  
kinnyfaifai's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 515
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetRipper View Post
I can't confirm it won't ever burn out. However, realise that enabling the LED is actually the same as using your camera with the lights on in the dark. This _shoud_ be possible for prolonged times as well.

Were you using the 'bright' setting on the X1? (If that's possible there.) That might explain it better... otherwise you could just send in the device for repair, as it's normal use of the device. Especially if it's after only 15 seconds.
It was a known problem that the LEDs weren't heatsinked properly on the X1 and there was a huge warning on using hTorch. I've not installed hTorch and never used the LEDs on my X1 as a torch cos of this oversight by the manufacturer. I do miss being able to use the LEDs as a torch though, it's very handy.
Current: LG G3 - D855
Model: Black 16GB - 32GB microSD
Rom: Stock

Backup: Samsung Galaxy S3 - I9300
Model: White 16GB - 32GB microSD
Rom: Archidroid 1.7.15
--------------------------------------
K700i -> W810i -> P1i -> X1i -> HTC HD2 -> HTC Desire HD -> SGS3 -> LG G3

Tags
torchbutton flashlight
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes