5,599,190 Members 35,392 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to root the CDMA Hero

Tip us?
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#11  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler View Post
Now I get the Following:

Code:
# flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
error opening recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img: No such file or directory
#
And this outside adb shell, in the same directory where I did the push:
Code:
C:\androidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell flash_image recovery recovery-
RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
error opening recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img: No such file or directory
Ideas?
Ok. Most likely you dont have the recovery image in the directory. Try this. Copy the recovery image to the tools directory of the sdk. Then, outside of adb shell, (making sure you are in the tools directory of the sdk) execute the following command:

adb shell flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img

This should work as long as you have the recovery image in the correct directory.
 
magicalan
Old
#12  
magicalan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 76
Posts: 2,424
Join Date: Jan 2008
can i use the rom from modaco? or at least the themes?
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#13  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by magicalan View Post
can i use the rom from modaco? or at least the themes?
No way! This rom is a GSM rom and if it works at all and does not brick your phone then it wont have the right software to make your phone work. A dev has to create a rom specially for the CDMA Hero that has the right drivers.
 
rockcrawler
Old
#14  
rockcrawler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckhriczko View Post
Ok. Most likely you dont have the recovery image in the directory. Try this. Copy the recovery image to the tools directory of the sdk. Then, outside of adb shell, (making sure you are in the tools directory of the sdk) execute the following command:

adb shell flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img

This should work as long as you have the recovery image in the correct directory.
I am feeling really special, not being able to make this work, but that is the folder that it has been in all this time. I have even downloaded and pushed it several times. Proof:



So I am not sure where I am messing up.

Thanks for all the help and hard work on this BTW!
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#15  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler View Post
I am feeling really special, not being able to make this work, but that is the folder that it has been in all this time. I have even downloaded and pushed it several times. Proof:

So I am not sure where I am messing up.

Thanks for all the help and hard work on this BTW!
Meh. Not hard work. Just experience. The hard work is what the rom devs do. And it is difficult at first but once you get it trust me, you get it.Okay let's try this. Go into the command prompt (not adb shell) into the folder where adb and the recovery image is. Try to execute the following command and see if it works.

Code:
adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img /sdcard/
This will put the recovery image on the sdcard. If this works then we will continue.
 
rockcrawler
Old
#16  
rockcrawler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckhriczko View Post
Meh. Not hard work. Just experience. The hard work is what the rom devs do. And it is difficult at first but once you get it trust me, you get it.Okay let's try this. Go into the command prompt (not adb shell) into the folder where adb and the recovery image is. Try to execute the following command and see if it works.

Code:
adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img /sdcard/
This will put the recovery image on the sdcard. If this works then we will continue.
Done.

Code:
C:\androidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img /s
dcard/
1747 KB/s (3352576 bytes in 1.873s)

C:\androidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#17  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler View Post
Done.

Code:
C:\androidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img /s
dcard/
1747 KB/s (3352576 bytes in 1.873s)

C:\androidSDK\android-sdk-windows\tools>
Sweetness. Ok. Now type in the following:

Code:
$ adb shell
$ cd /sdcard/
$ su
# flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
That should work. Note, don't type in the $ or the #. Those are just there to show what the command prompt should look like.
 
rockcrawler
Old
#18  
rockcrawler's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Smile THANK YOU!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckhriczko View Post
Sweetness. Ok. Now type in the following:

Code:
$ adb shell
$ cd /sdcard/
$ su
# flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
That should work. Note, don't type in the $ or the #. Those are just there to show what the command prompt should look like.
Worked Like a charm, THANK YOU!!! Just booted to the recovery image and all is well.

p.s. Might want to edit the origional instructions, one your daughter goes to bed, to include the cd to the sd card, that is where my problem was.
 
chuckhriczko
Old
#19  
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 1,083
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Walnutport, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawler View Post
Worked Like a charm, THANK YOU!!! Just booted to the recovery image and all is well.

p.s. Might want to edit the origional instructions, one your daughter goes to bed, to include the cd to the sd card, that is where my problem was.
If I am able to I will. I understand that the instructions were a little hard to follow for beginners which was what I wanted to avoid. Glad you got it working though. Welcome to the world of Android hacking and please enjoy your stay
 
WhiteWidows
Old
(Last edited by WhiteWidows; 8th November 2009 at 03:51 AM.)
#20  
WhiteWidows's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 527
Join Date: Jul 2009
I'm getting suck trying to push the recovery img out to my sdcard

Code:
C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img /sdcard/
cannot stat 'recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img': No such file or directory
I believe I have root access:

Code:
C:\AndroidSDK\tools>adb shell
$ su
su
#

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes