Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Misnamed apps? Wrong versions? Fix here

OP jonnythan

9th November 2009, 06:26 PM   |  #1  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Taking some advice I saw on the BAW forum one step further, I deleted the entire /data/boot-cache directory (after doing a nandroid backup of course).

Took about 3-4 extra minutes to boot up, presumably to recreate the contents of the directory, but now all of my apps are showing the correct version, correct icon, and correct name. Haven't run into any issues yet.
9th November 2009, 06:30 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.
9th November 2009, 06:32 PM   |  #3  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilroykilroy

I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.

Hey there you are! Hah.

I did have a lot of bad apps and had some trouble finding the proper directories for a few. I had just done a backup so I thought I'd give it a try.

I also figured this was the perfect place to suggest it for people to try - around here people are smart enough to do real backups before they start deleting things
9th November 2009, 06:40 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Southfield, MI
Thanks Meter: 7
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?
9th November 2009, 06:46 PM   |  #5  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238

Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?

I haven't touched the custom ROM yet. You do need to root the phone to do this, and it must be done from a shell.
9th November 2009, 06:47 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238

Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?

Just rooting the phone.
9th November 2009, 08:02 PM   |  #7  
Negrito's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 56
 
1,019 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??
9th November 2009, 08:04 PM   |  #8  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrito

So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??

It should, yes. I had a bunch of apps misnamed in that way (EasyMoney, Spades, a few others) and it fixed them.

One of them, Buka Lite, reverted back, though.
9th November 2009, 08:09 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 386
 
995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
More
I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.
9th November 2009, 08:18 PM   |  #10  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercado79

I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.

I think there's just a bug with the way the phone handles the cache. Did the versions go back to what they were before you deleted the cache, or what they were after you deleted the cache and before you updated the apps?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes