Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,354 Members 41,872 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Misnamed apps? Wrong versions? Fix here

Tip us?
 
jonnythan
Old
#1  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Misnamed apps? Wrong versions? Fix here

Taking some advice I saw on the BAW forum one step further, I deleted the entire /data/boot-cache directory (after doing a nandroid backup of course).

Took about 3-4 extra minutes to boot up, presumably to recreate the contents of the directory, but now all of my apps are showing the correct version, correct icon, and correct name. Haven't run into any issues yet.
 
gilroykilroy
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2009
I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.
 
jonnythan
Old
#3  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilroykilroy View Post
I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.
Hey there you are! Hah.

I did have a lot of bad apps and had some trouble finding the proper directories for a few. I had just done a backup so I thought I'd give it a try.

I also figured this was the perfect place to suggest it for people to try - around here people are smart enough to do real backups before they start deleting things
 
goku14238
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 257
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southfield, MI

 
DONATE TO ME
Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?
Previous Phone: HTC Evo 4g
Current Phone: Galaxy Note 2 - Rooted
Current Rom - Stock

Who needs an app to make fart noises. There's an ass for that.

 
jonnythan
Old
#5  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238 View Post
Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?
I haven't touched the custom ROM yet. You do need to root the phone to do this, and it must be done from a shell.
 
gilroykilroy
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238 View Post
Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?
Just rooting the phone.
 
Negrito
Old
#7  
Negrito's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 1,019
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Las Vegas
So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??
 
jonnythan
Old
#8  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrito View Post
So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??
It should, yes. I had a bunch of apps misnamed in that way (EasyMoney, Spades, a few others) and it fixed them.

One of them, Buka Lite, reverted back, though.
 
mercado79
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 380
Posts: 983
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston, MA
I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.
Moto X
Stable ROM: Eclipse 3.2.1 via Safestrap (Kit Kat 4.4.2)

Google Nexus 7 FHD
Stable ROM: Rastakat
Alt ROM: Stock Rooted
 
jonnythan
Old
#10  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercado79 View Post
I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.
I think there's just a bug with the way the phone handles the cache. Did the versions go back to what they were before you deleted the cache, or what they were after you deleted the cache and before you updated the apps?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Modernize Your Emails with Email Popup

SMS andHangouts messages likely won’t ever replace traditional Emails for more formal … more

Change Your Toast Notification Style with XToast

Android uses multipletypes of notifications. One of these isknown as a toast notification. … more

Port Sony Xperia Themes to CyanogenMod 11 with Ease

In addition the obvious proficiency with graphics, creating agood Android theme … more

Cell Phone SIM Unlock Bill Just Steps Away from President’s Desk

For all those who believe that Cinderella stories don’t actually … more