FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Misnamed apps? Wrong versions? Fix here

1,148 posts
Thanks Meter: 81
 
By jonnythan, Senior Member on 9th November 2009, 05:26 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Taking some advice I saw on the BAW forum one step further, I deleted the entire /data/boot-cache directory (after doing a nandroid backup of course).

Took about 3-4 extra minutes to boot up, presumably to recreate the contents of the directory, but now all of my apps are showing the correct version, correct icon, and correct name. Haven't run into any issues yet.
 
 
9th November 2009, 05:30 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.
9th November 2009, 05:32 PM |#3  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gilroykilroy

I didn't want to suggest this just in case something else would mess up. If you have a lot of bad apps this is perhaps faster than deleting each one.

Hey there you are! Hah.

I did have a lot of bad apps and had some trouble finding the proper directories for a few. I had just done a backup so I thought I'd give it a try.

I also figured this was the perfect place to suggest it for people to try - around here people are smart enough to do real backups before they start deleting things
9th November 2009, 05:40 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Southfield, MI
Thanks Meter: 7
 
Donate to Me
More
Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?
9th November 2009, 05:46 PM |#5  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238

Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?

I haven't touched the custom ROM yet. You do need to root the phone to do this, and it must be done from a shell.
9th November 2009, 05:47 PM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by goku14238

Is this with just rooting the phone or after you install the custom rom?

Just rooting the phone.
9th November 2009, 07:02 PM |#7  
Negrito's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??
9th November 2009, 07:04 PM |#8  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negrito

So this fixes the issue of my chompSMS thinking its name is "com.p1.chomps..."??

It should, yes. I had a bunch of apps misnamed in that way (EasyMoney, Spades, a few others) and it fixed them.

One of them, Buka Lite, reverted back, though.
9th November 2009, 07:09 PM |#9  
mercado79's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 394
 
More
I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.
9th November 2009, 07:18 PM |#10  
jonnythan's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercado79

I tried this out and all the programs I'd been having issues with were fixed. I rebooted. Still fixed.

But then I installed three updates and after reboot, the same issue came back again. There must be another cache store somewhere...maybe Android Market related, or at least the Android package manager. Either way, I guess some more digging is in order.

I think there's just a bug with the way the phone handles the cache. Did the versions go back to what they were before you deleted the cache, or what they were after you deleted the cache and before you updated the apps?
9th November 2009, 08:07 PM |#11  
mercado79's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 394
 
More
Looks like the versions didn't revert. Last night, I used aTrackDog to send myself a list of all my apps. I can't remember the three that I updated today, but the two I do remember, Flixster Movies and Handcent did not revert.

Lastnight:
Movies,2.0.1
Handcent Sms,2.9.12

Now:
Movies,2.1.0
Handcent Sms,2.9.13

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes