FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Facebook APP from DROID. (MUCH BETTER)

1,389 posts
Thanks Meter: 36
 
By add3421, Senior Member on 9th November 2009, 10:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
via Johnnylicious :)
Here is the Facebook App taken from the Motorola Droid GSM Version...not sure of the real name.
Here is the apk... http://www.androidspin.com/downloads...e=Facebook.apk Updated :)
Copy to SD card then do the following


(Original Facebook needs to be uninstalled) You can copy this to your SD and use an APP Such as APPSINSTALLER to install this APK, or do the following...
Windows users (with ADB working)
1. Open a CMD (command promt window)
Type:
- adb remount
- adb shell
- rm /system/app/Facebook.apk
- cd /sdcard

- cp Facebook.apk /system/app

Phone Users:
1. Open a Terminal Window:
2. Type the following:
- su
- mount /system -o remount,rw
- rm /system/app/Facebook.apk
- cd /sdcard
- cp Facebook.apk /system/app

You don't need to reboot... Apps will show up immediately in your menu. (You'll need to put them back on your Home Screen if you had them there though)
Last edited by add3421; 12th November 2009 at 05:06 PM.
 
 
9th November 2009, 10:42 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
You don't really need to push this to the phone. I installed it like any other app through Astro. Also, I only used the app for about a minute and already found something I don't like, your notifications get pulled up through the browser.
9th November 2009, 10:43 PM |#3  
JAguirre1231's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag I'm Guessing your mom isn't a valid city
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aad4321

ADMIN: Please move to Applications... I accidentally put it in DEVELOPMENT. THANKS!!!


Here is the Facebook App taken from the Motorola Droid GSM Version...not sure of the real name.
Here is the apk... http://rapidshare.com/files/304702728/Facebook.apk.html
Copy to SD card then do the following

Windows users (with ADB working)
1. Open a CMD (command promt window)
Type:
- adb remount
- adb shell
- rm /system/app/Facebook.apk
- cd /sdcard

- cp Facebook.apk /system/app

Phone Users:
1. Open a Terminal Window:
2. Type the following:
- su
- mount /system -o remount,rw
- rm /system/app/Facebook.apk
- cd /sdcard
- cp Facebook.apk /system/app

You don't need to reboot... Apps will show up immediately in your menu. (You'll need to put them back on your Home Screen if you had them there though)

For adb you can just use adb install -r <path to>/facebook.apk, no need for complications
9th November 2009, 10:44 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wilmington!
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra spikey

You don't really need to push this to the phone. I installed it like any other app through Astro. Also, I only used the app for about a minute and already found something I don't like, your notifications get pulled up through the browser.

yeah but the old version didn't even have notifications. at least its some sort of progress...
9th November 2009, 10:45 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Boynton Beach, FL
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
All that JUST to uninstall the app first before installing the update????

Just uninstall facebook then reinstall the new apk, that's it.
9th November 2009, 10:47 PM |#6  
G1-evolve's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Not the best but its a better Facebook app.
9th November 2009, 10:49 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
File is no longer on rapidshare, can only be downloaded 10 times. Megaupload or Mediafire maybe?
9th November 2009, 10:51 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Not sure why this is in the development forum but here: http://www.mediafire.com/?nyjngyinwm3
9th November 2009, 10:52 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does anyone else have this odd white block at the top of every page?

I can't imagine that'd be a intended design feature.

I think this version is really good with photos and photo comments.
9th November 2009, 10:54 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
will this work in a hero rom?
9th November 2009, 10:58 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wilmington!
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dror520

will this work in a hero rom?

more than likely. its nothing special.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes