MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Think Tank] Modifying G1 to enable Navigation - THUNK!

OP octobclrnts

11th November 2009, 06:05 AM   |  #211  
jokersax11's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,052
 
4,136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
everyone please remember some of us have special voodoo power that let us command technology. not everyone has that. sorry. on a softer note i is driving with google nav.
11th November 2009, 06:06 AM   |  #212  
olearyp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 151
 
1,157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith972

Odd, paid apps on the market are gone now.

Did you push your original build.prop and build.fishorgemstone.prop back?

EDIT: Alrighty then, guess you're good This thread is moving too fast!
11th November 2009, 06:08 AM   |  #213  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by djrobe07

oops, sorry about that. I did make a mistake. here is the proper commands

adb push build.prop /system
adb push build.trout.prop /system
adb push build.trout.prop /system/build.sapphire.prop
adb shell
cd /system/app
rm *Maps*
cd /system/sd/app
rm *maps*
rm *Maps*
cd /system/sd/dalvik-cache
rm *maps*
rm *Maps*
reboot

After it rebooted, adb install Maps.apk

Varified navigation worked. Then I pushed the .prop files from the 4.2.3.1.zip

adb push build.prop /system
adb push build.sapphire.prop /system
adb push build.trout.prop /system
adb shell reboot

For those still getting the INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE error... Instead of adb install Maps.apk, try adb push Maps.apk /system and then install the apk from the phone. Worked perfect for me installing from the phone when I kept getting the error installing through adb. All the other directions were followed exactly as above and my MT3G is back to normal + navigation.
11th November 2009, 06:11 AM   |  #214  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
269 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
i get it to install, with the modded build.props but still no nav even says sholes ub=nder platform in about
11th November 2009, 06:21 AM   |  #215  
tee aiy emm's Avatar
Senior Member
Washington D.C.
Thanks Meter: 1
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhendrix11

For those still getting the INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE error... Instead of adb install Maps.apk, try adb push Maps.apk /system and then install the apk from the phone. Worked perfect for me installing from the phone when I kept getting the error installing through adb. All the other directions were followed exactly as above and my MT3G is back to normal + navigation.

What do you mean install the apk from the phone? I got the install failed error so I copied the Maps.apk to my sdcard and tried installing it through a file manager. That still didn't work though.
11th November 2009, 06:22 AM   |  #216  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
yeah, installed fine for me, but no nav option either
11th November 2009, 06:23 AM   |  #217  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tee aiy emm

What do you mean install the apk from the phone? I got the install failed error so I copied the Maps.apk to my sdcard and tried installing it through a file manager. That still didn't work though.

Hmmm, I installed through Root Explorer and it worked just fine whereas adb install didn't.
11th November 2009, 06:23 AM   |  #218  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Here guys, all wrapped up.

Make sure you have CyanogenMod 4.2.3.1, by the way.

1) Unzip zip to desktop
2) Run Part 1.bat
3) When prompted to press any key, do so; the phone will reboot
4) When your phone is running again, run Part 2.bat
5) When prompted to press any key, the installation process is done.
6) Make sure GPS is enabled
7) Open Maps and press OK
8) Press Menu
9) Press Directions
10) Enter an end point
11) Click Go
12) Just under "Show on map", click Navigate.
13) When prompted to install the voice codec, do so.
14) Enjoy.

http://www.mediafire.com/?lioyoy2ydzu
11th November 2009, 06:28 AM   |  #219  
JAguirre1231's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag I'm Guessing your mom isn't a valid city
Thanks Meter: 37
 
4,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by esmith972

Here guys, all wrapped up.

Make sure you have CyanogenMod 4.2.3.1, by the way.

1) Unzip zip to desktop
2) Run Part 1.bat
3) When prompted to press any key, do so; the phone will reboot
4) When your phone is running again, run Part 2.bat
5) When prompted to press any key, the installation process is done.
6) Make sure GPS is enabled
7) Open Maps and press OK
8) Press Menu
9) Press Directions
10) Enter an end point
11) Click Go
12) Just under "Show on map", click Navigate.
13) When prompted to install the voice codec, do so.
14) Enjoy.

http://www.mediafire.com/?lioyoy2ydzu

To think I spent 10 min. on something that you cut down to about a minute of work
11th November 2009, 06:29 AM   |  #220  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
wow
you guys never cease to amaze me when it comes to figuring this stuff out. works perfect, thanks guys

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, navigation
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes