NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8-Gigabit RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Think Tank] Modifying G1 to enable Navigation - THUNK!

OP octobclrnts

12th November 2009, 12:35 AM   |  #631  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieshari

change which file to build.sapphire.prop?

shouldn't it be build.trout?
12th November 2009, 12:39 AM   |  #632  
dskyers's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag miami dade
Thanks Meter: 3
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Copied the following onto my Android's SD card:
build.prop
build.sapphire.prop
Maps.apk
Unplugged my phone and waited for it to prep the SD card
Fired up the application Terminal Emulator
Typed the following commands:

Code:
suYour phone may prompt you to allow or not allow this, allow it obviously, otherwise wait until you see a # before continuing to the next command

Code:
ashCode:
mount -o remount,rw /systemNext it's time to copy the build files into your system directory, but first you should backup the originals just in case.

Code:
cp /sdcard/build.prop /system
cp /sdcard/build.sapphire.prop /systemRemove the existing Google Maps app

Code:
cd /data/app
rm *Maps*
rm *maps*Code:
when i did this it siad it did not exist but i just keep going!!!

cd /data/dalvik-cache
rm *Maps*
rm *maps***END OF UPDATE**

All done with this part, time to reboot.

Code:
rebootGetting force close prompts for Google Voice? Yeah, go ahead and do the force close. Be sure to wait until your phone is done booting.
Now it's time to actually install the new app. So again, open up Terminal Emulator and type the following code:

Code:
suAgain, allow this command and/or wait until you see a # character


Code:
ash
mount -o remount,rw /system
install /sdcard/Maps.apk /system/app/At this point, I couldn't get things to work like the second post I linked earlier, so I'll did this command...

Code:
rebootGetting force close prompts for Google Voice again? Close the sucker and wait until your phone is fully booted.
Ok the app is installed and you may be thinking you're good to go, but you aren't. It's still not working for you like it wouldn't work for me. Do you have Google Voice installed before you did all this stuff? Most likely!
Go into your phone's settings and Manage Applications
Uninstall Google Voice
Fire up the Market and search for Google Voice
Install Google Voice
Reboot your phone (You can do this by holding the power button and select "reboot phone" or the long way through Terminal Emulator)
Run the Map app (now you may have your old address in there that you tried earlier, never fear. Just clear the map from the map menu)
Put in some directions like you normally would
You should see the option for "Navigate" after it gets the directions. Click it.
Accept the installation of the voice guide thingy
You're done! Revel in the awesomeness!
Get a beer and laugh at your friends with an iPhone
these is what i did exactley and it worked for me

the sappgire files i downloaded from a couple pages back as well i have them in my comoputer if you need them
12th November 2009, 12:40 AM   |  #633  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
can someone with a spare time help me install the new maps.apk and edit my build.prop because that abd thing is not working for me everytime i load it it says device not found and the debuggin on phone is on
12th November 2009, 12:41 AM   |  #634  
dskyers's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag miami dade
Thanks Meter: 3
 
319 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
above is what i did to get it working on mt3g
12th November 2009, 12:43 AM   |  #635  
AimanF's Avatar
Member
Flag East Lansing, MI
Thanks Meter: 5
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Fix for google voice!
Hey after wrestling with Google Voice not working with the changed Build.props I found out a quick and dirty workaround. Just go back to Google Voice 0.2 and the build.props aren't a problem!
Get it here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...t=Google+Voice

Just do adb install -r com.*0.2 APK FILE HERE*

I'm back up and running now! Hope this helps!
12th November 2009, 12:45 AM   |  #636  
JAguirre1231's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag I'm Guessing your mom isn't a valid city
Thanks Meter: 37
 
4,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Just as a little refresher, these codes have been proven to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myself

This is guaranteed to work on Cyanogen 4.2.3.1
************************************************** ********
Download the attached build.zip and push the files to /system
adb (unzip to desktop in a folder called 1)-
cd desktop
adb push 1 /system
adb shell reboot

terminal (have each file inside the zip on root of your sd)-
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cp /sdcard/build.prop /system
cp /sdcard/build.trout.prop /system
reboot

Now go and get rid of all dex files so...

adb-
adb remount
adb shell
rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*Maps*
rm /system/app/*Maps*

Terminal-
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*Maps*
rm /system/app/*Maps*

Now to install it-

adb-
cd desktop
cd 1
adb install Maps.apk (if this doesn't work then do adb install -r Maps.apk)

terminal-
install /sdcard/Maps.apk

Now check if you get Navigate by going to the maps app, then Menu>Directions>enter a destination>And on the next screen choose Navigate

Attached Files
File Type: zip build.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.91 MB, 37 views)
12th November 2009, 12:45 AM   |  #637  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 59
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AimanF

Hey after wrestling with Google Voice not working with the changed Build.props I found out a quick and dirty workaround. Just go back to Google Voice 0.2 and the build.props aren't a problem!
Get it here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...t=Google+Voice

Just do adb install -r com.*0.2 APK FILE HERE*

I'm back up and running now! Hope this helps!

Did you try following my instructions on page 58?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=579
The Following User Says Thank You to followinginsanity For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th November 2009, 12:45 AM   |  #638  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dskyers

above is what i did to get it working on mt3g

This post?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...34#post4926134
12th November 2009, 12:51 AM   |  #639  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
There are so many pages...where is the build.sapphire download? All of the downloads in this thread have only the build.trout
12th November 2009, 12:53 AM   |  #640  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAguirre1231

Just as a little refresher, these codes have been proven to work

is this for the G1?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, navigation
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes