Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Think Tank] Modifying G1 to enable Navigation - THUNK!

OP octobclrnts

11th November 2009, 02:14 AM   |  #71  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 59
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
still isolating the exact steps. don't worry i'm still here. just wanna make sure I have it all right the first time.
11th November 2009, 02:22 AM   |  #72  
Senior Member
Flag Alabama
Thanks Meter: 45
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by followinginsanity

still isolating the exact steps. don't worry i'm still here. just wanna make sure I have it all right the first time.

If this works and I can't get my CLIQ rooted,its going to eBay!
11th November 2009, 02:37 AM   |  #73  
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix, AZ, USA
Thanks Meter: 29
 
259 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otto888

If this works and I can't get my CLIQ rooted,its going to eBay!

:P I may take it off your hands I really like the cliq, I hope it gets rooted soon. My bet is the droid gets rooted first, then the cliq will follow since they will both have similar security schemes since they are moto phones.

Anyways, im still dancing
11th November 2009, 03:06 AM   |  #74  
Jrbourque's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
1,628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by followinginsanity

still isolating the exact steps. don't worry i'm still here. just wanna make sure I have it all right the first time.

would you be able to tell us where the problem is? or a direction for us to go in while we wait
11th November 2009, 03:36 AM   |  #75  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 59
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Alright... i've yet to be able to identify the specific lines yet... but here you go.

I was able to get navigation using the 2 build props attached.

I used SU File Browser and adb to do this. You can do it all with adb but between the 2 i was able to do things faster.

Mount system as rw
delete build.prop and build.trout.prop
(or you may modify yours to match, and skip the next step)
push the new build.prop and build.trout.prop to /system/
delete /system/app/Maps.apk
delete /system/sd/app/com.google.android.maps.apk if present
delete /system/sd/dalvik-cache/data@app@com.google.android.apps.maps.apk@classes. dex
REBOOT you have to reboot for the phone to re-read the build props
install the new maps.apk --- i did adb install <path-to-Maps.apk>
if you do not get Success then you missed something.

update: after all is working.. you may put your old build props back
Attached Files
File Type: zip build props.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.4 KB, 1571 views)
Last edited by followinginsanity; 11th November 2009 at 04:53 AM. Reason: oops attachments and update
11th November 2009, 03:37 AM   |  #76  
xidominicanoix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag FL
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by followinginsanity

Alright... i've yet to be able to identify the specific lines yet... but here you go.

I was able to get navigation using the 2 build props attached.

I used SU File Browser and adb to do this. You can do it all with adb but between the 2 i was able to do things faster.

Mount system as rw
delete build.prop and build.trout.prop
(or you may modify yours to match, and skip the next step)
push the new build.prop and build.trout.prop to /system/
delete /system/app/Maps.apk
delete /system/sd/app/com.google.android.maps.apk if present
delete /system/sd/dalvik-cache/data@app@com.google.android.apps.maps.apk@classes. dex
REBOOT you have to reboot for the phone to re-read the build props
install the new maps.apk --- i did adb install <path-to-Maps.apk>
if you do not get Success then you missed something.

theres nothing attached... :\ EDIT: ok they're there now
Last edited by xidominicanoix; 11th November 2009 at 03:40 AM.
11th November 2009, 03:37 AM   |  #77  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by followinginsanity

Alright... i've yet to be able to identify the specific lines yet... but here you go.

I was able to get navigation using the 2 build props attached.

Where's the attachment
11th November 2009, 03:38 AM   |  #78  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 59
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
relevent edits are in bold red


# begin build properties
ro.build.version.sdk=5
ro.build.version.release=2.0
ro.build.version.codename=REL
ro.build.type=user
ro.build.user=shade
ro.build.host=toxygene
ro.build.tags=ota-rel-keys,test-keys

#
# ADDITIONAL_BUILD_PROPERTIES
#
ro.config.notification_sound=F1_New_SMS.ogg
ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
ro.com.android.wifi-watchlist=GoogleGuest
ro.com.android.dateformat=MM-dd-yyyy
ro.com.android.dataroaming=true
ro.com.google.clientidbase=android-verizon
ro.setupwizard.mode=OPTIONAL
ro.url.legal=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/android-dev-phone-legal.html
ro.url.legal.android_privacy=http://www.google.com/intl/%s/mobile/android/android-dev-phone-privacy.html
keyguard.no_require_sim=true
ro.config.sync=yes
net.bt.name=Android
dalvik.vm.stack-trace-file=/data/anr/traces.txt

ro.qualcomm.proprietary_obex=true

# Google's checkin service. I don't like it, but it's required for the SetupWizard -cm
#ro.config.nocheckin=1

ro.modversion=CyanogenMod-4.2.3.1
11th November 2009, 03:40 AM   |  #79  
rp1783's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Salt Lake City, UT
Thanks Meter: 12
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Are you using maps.apk from the GSM dump?
11th November 2009, 03:42 AM   |  #80  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 59
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
again relevant edits are bold red

# begin build properties
# autogenerated by buildinfo.sh
ro.build.id=ESD20
ro.build.display.id=ESD20
ro.build.version.incremental=17572
ro.build.date=Mon Sep 21 16:16:12 PDT 2009
ro.build.date.utc=1253574972
ro.product.model=Droid
ro.product.brand=verizon
ro.product.name=kila
ro.product.device=sholes
ro.product.board=sholes
ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi
ro.product.manufacturer=Motorola
ro.product.locale.language=en
ro.product.locale.region=US
ro.board.platform=msm7k
# ro.build.product is obsolete; use ro.product.device
ro.build.product=dream
# Do not try to parse ro.build.description or .fingerprint
ro.build.description=voles-user 2.0 ESD20 17572 ota-rel-keys,release-keys
ro.build.fingerprint=verizon/voles/sholes/sholes:2.0/ESD20/17572:user/ota-rel-keys,release-keys
# end build properties
#
# system.prop for dream
#

rild.libpath=/system/lib/libhtc_ril.so
ro.ril.hsxpa=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
wifi.interface = tiwlan0
# Time between scans in seconds. Keep it high to minimize battery drain.
# This only affects the case in which there are remembered access points,
# but none are in range.
wifi.supplicant_scan_interval = 45

# density in DPI of the LCD of this board. This is used to scale the UI
# appropriately. If this property is not defined, the default value is 160 dpi.
ro.sf.lcd_density = 160

# Default network type
# # 0 => WCDMA Preferred.
ro.telephony.default_network = 0

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps, navigation
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes