Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,124 Members 42,979 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows)

Tip us?
 
theresthatguy
Old
(Last edited by theresthatguy; 3rd August 2010 at 08:32 AM.)
#1  
theresthatguy's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default [GUIDE] How To Root The Sprint CDMA Hero (Windows)


I have compiled this guide from the other one posted on this forum, the discussion therein, and my own knowledge. If you have any suggestions on making it better or to correct any mistakes I may have made please let me know.

This guide is intended for Windows and includes detailed instructions. It will cover the steps necessary to root, flash the new recovery image, create a full backup. This will work with software versions 1.29.651.1 and 1.56.651.2 (aka Android 1.5). If you have updated to 2.1 please following this guide here. I am not responsible for any damage done to your phone using this guide. Root at your own risk.

I have put to together a video on YouTube for you to follow along as well. The version numbers of certain files are now outdated in the video so change file names as necessary.

If you own a non-Sprint Hero, you will need to do some extra steps. Follow the guide in the How to Root Non-Sprint CDMA Hero thread.

Step 1: Download the Android SDK from http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html The Windows file is called android-sdk_r06-windows.zip. Extract the files to your C: drive so that you now have the folder C:\android-sdk-windows

Step 2: Download the asroot2 exploit file from http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...2&d=1257621154 Extract asroot2.zip to C:\android-sdk-windows\tools folder.

Step 3: Download the Hero recovery image from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5&postcount=1g Place this file in C:\android-sdk-windows\tools as well.

Step 4: Make sure USB Debugging is off by going to Settings>Applications>Development. Now connect the phone to your PC via USB cable.

Step 5: Mount your sdcard; Browse to the HTC Sync folder and install HTC Sync on your pc. After it is done installing unmount the sdcard then enable your USB debugging.

Step 6: Open a command prompt by clicking the Start button and typing cmd into the search box and pressing enter or found under All Programs>Accessories.

Step 7: You will now enter a series of commands which I will place inside code boxes to indicate the entire command. You may copy and then paste them into the command prompt window by right clicking. Only enter one command at a time.
1:
Code:
Select Code
cd C:\android-sdk-windows\tools
2:
Code:
Select Code
adb devices
If you've been following this guide you will see your phone's serial number. If you get "device not found" error, you either need to make sure you the drivers were properly installed or make sure you enable USB debugging AFTER you connect the USB cable. Continue on once you get the proper phone serial output.
3:
Code:
Select Code
adb push asroot2 /data/local/
4:
Code:
Select Code
adb shell
5:
Code:
Select Code
chmod 0755 /data/local/asroot2
6:
Code:
Select Code
/data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh
You should see an output that says:
$ /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh
[+] Using newer pope_inode_info layout
Opening: /proc/857/fd/3
SUCCESS: Enjoy the shell.
#
Now for a few last commands.
7:
Code:
Select Code
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
8:
Code:
Select Code
cd /system/bin
9:
Code:
Select Code
cat sh > su
10:
Code:
Select Code
chmod 4755 su
You are now officially rooted. A few more steps and you will have flashed the recovery image.
11:
Code:
Select Code
exit
12:
Code:
Select Code
exit
13:
Code:
Select Code
adb push recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2.img /sdcard
Pushing is equivalent of copy the file to the root of your sdcard. By the time you finished reading this it should be done. You'll know its done because the ouput will say something like transferred X bytes in X secs.
14:
Code:
Select Code
adb shell reboot
This will cause the phone to restart automatically. Wait till it is fully booted to continue.
15:
Code:
Select Code
adb shell
16:
Code:
Select Code
su
17:
Code:
Select Code
cd /sdcard/
18:
Code:
Select Code
flash_image recovery recovery-RA-heroc-v1.6.2.img
FLASHING TO THE RECOVERY TAKES SEVERAL SECONDS-- BE PATIENT. ENTER THE NEXT COMMAND ONLY AFTER THE COMMAND PROMPT RETURNS TO THE # (ROOT SYMBOL).

19:
Code:
Select Code
reboot recovery
Step 8: This is the last command; you may now close the cmd prompt. This will cause your phone to boot into recovery mode; it should take no longer than 30 secs. The third option on the list is "- Backup/Restore"; select it. Now, select the first option "- Nand backup". The phone will prompt you to press HOME to confirm which is want you want to do. The backup will begin. You will see the screen say, "Performing backup : .........." When done, the bottom of the screen will say "Backup complete!" and you will be given the menu options again. Go back to the main menu and select reboot system. Rebooting your phone after installing the new recovery image may take several minutes.

Step 9: Once your phone is fully booted, mount the sdcard. You will see a folder called "nandroid"; I highly recommend you copy this to your pc in case you lose your sdcard data or reformat it. Your phone is rooted, 100% backed up, and ready to install a custom rom if you wish!
 
izanagi
Old
(Last edited by izanagi; 20th November 2009 at 07:06 AM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 96
Join Date: May 2008
wow dude,

instructions worked great on Win7

i was able to download the missing usb_drivers by running SDK Setup in C:\android-sdk-windows, and selecting the usb driver from the available packages. I was unable to download the index for the SDK Setup program until I enabled "force http://" in the settings menu.

had to copy over asroot again after i ran SDK Setup (that program deleted it from the directory)


your instructions worked like a charm. total time spent rooting this thing after finding your post: 18 minutes.

(you might want to add a line there in the "mount and copy over the zip file step" to backup the nandroid folder from your SDCard to your comp just as a backup of your stock phone image)

anyway.. cheers!
 
theresthatguy
Old
#3  
theresthatguy's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by izanagi View Post
wow dude,

i'm about to follow these instructions. thank's for the precise list!

(btw, about to try it on Win7.. may have to change some folder pathing but we'll see)


okay.. typo on the first command in parentheses, and I'm missing the usb_drivers folder (do you have it / can sent it to me) so am unable to install the device in win7.
Heh, thanks for the misspell heads up. I did my rooting from Win7 pc; it automatically installed correct drivers for me. To check go to the Control Panel>View devices and printers. You see one device named "Android Phone". Otherwise as far as Ive heard installing HTC Sync installs proper drivers.
 
theresthatguy
Old
#4  
theresthatguy's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by izanagi View Post
*** edit had to copy over asroot again after i ran SDK Setup (that program deleted it from the directory)

**** edit: all done.. your instructions worked like a charm. total time spent rooting this thing after finding your post: 18 minutes.
(you might want to add a line there in the "mount and copy over the zip file step" to backup the nandroid folder from your SDCard to your comp just as a backup of your stock phone image)

anyway.. cheers!
Thank you for taking the time help make my guide better. I'm very glad to know there are little to no hiccups.
 
detox702
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 243
Join Date: Mar 2008
When I do step 5, instead of:

5. "/data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh"
You should see an output that says:
$ /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh
[+] Using newer pope_inode_info layout
Opening: /proc/857/fd/3
SUCCESS: Enjoy the shell.
#

I get:
[1] Killed /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh

Any suggestions? Should I just be quiet until there is an Eris specific way to do this?
  • Evo 4G LTE
  • Viper4G 4.0.0
 
detox702
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 243
Join Date: Mar 2008
When I do step 5, instead of:

5. "/data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh"
You should see an output that says:
$ /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh
[+] Using newer pope_inode_info layout
Opening: /proc/857/fd/3
SUCCESS: Enjoy the shell.
#

I get:
[1] Killed /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh

Any suggestions? Should I just be quiet until there is an Eris specific way to do this?
  • Evo 4G LTE
  • Viper4G 4.0.0
 
theresthatguy
Old
(Last edited by theresthatguy; 12th November 2009 at 07:15 PM.)
#7  
theresthatguy's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by detox702 View Post
When I do step 5, instead of:

5. "/data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh"
You should see an output that says:
$ /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh
[+] Using newer pope_inode_info layout
Opening: /proc/857/fd/3
SUCCESS: Enjoy the shell.
#

I get:
[1] Killed /data/local/asroot2 /system/bin/sh

Any suggestions? Should I just be quiet until there is an Eris specific way to do this?
This guide is for the CDMA Hero not the Eris!
 
ELIMINATED
Old
(Last edited by ELIMINATED; 12th November 2009 at 08:57 PM.) Reason: I'm an idiot!
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 101
Join Date: Sep 2009
When I go to apply the rom I get an white screen with skateboarding androids on the bottom and the prompt to erase data yes/no. I press the home key and the Hero reboots without asking to "Apply sdcard:choose zip". This is done from the boot menu. Does the rom load automatically? Did I do something wrong? I got root with no problem. A tip; to make it easier and to avoid spelling mistakes copy and paste the rooting commands from the instructions. Made it go faster too. Thanks in advance.
Never mind. I held down Home and Power at
the same time instead of Home THEN power! ARRGH! Loading up now as I type. Sorry.
 
johnsongrantr
Old
#9  
johnsongrantr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 754
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by ELIMINATED View Post
When I go to apply the rom I get an white screen with skateboarding androids on the bottom and the prompt to erase data yes/no.

I press the home key and the Hero reboots without asking to "Apply sdcard:choose zip".This is done from the boot menu.

Does the rom load automatically? Did I do something wrong? I got root with no problem.

A tip; to make it easier and to avoid spelling mistakes copy and paste the rooting commands from the instructions. Made it go faster too. Thanks in advance.
yuck... break up your sentences, that's alot of crap to throw on someone all at once... and the bold doesn't help it any.

check to see if you have the custom recovery installed....

-turn off phone
-hold vol down + power
-should search for some stuff then give three options
-press "home" to enter recovery image

do you see "!" and a phone.... does it just hang or do you see a green/yellow menu?
 
theresthatguy
Old
#10  
theresthatguy's Avatar
Retired Forum Mod - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 424
Join Date: Nov 2009
At the end of his post he says he figured it out. He wasn't holding down home key

Tags
guide, root, windows
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...