Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,386 Members 38,247 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] Navigation add-on for any 1.6 Rom! Market fixed!! 11/19/09!!

Tip us?
 
theomajigga
Old
(Last edited by theomajigga; 16th December 2009 at 06:34 AM.)
#1  
theomajigga's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hudson, WI
Default [ROM] Navigation add-on for any 1.6 Rom! Market fixed!! 11/19/09!!

!!THIS NAVIGATION IS !!ONLY!! FOR THE USA!!
!!Paid apps work!!


Facebook has now been removed!!

Release Name:update_navigation.zip
Release Version:FINAL
MD5 Sum:N/A (verified working)
Credits:See below
Base Firmware:1.6
Radio Required:N/A
SPL Required:N/A
Partition Layout:N/A
Wipe Required:N
Special instructions:See below
Download:See attachment or, 4shared link

Hey guys,

After a longs day of work, I got it.

Put together a recovery flash-able zip file to add the new Google navigation.

REQS:

1. Dream or Sapphire/Magic/Mt3G
2. 1.6 Rom as a minimum
3. Custom recovery either Amon's or Cyanogen's
4. A brain
5. The download at the end of the post

STEPS:

1. Download this for most Donut builds (Cyanogen based). (also attached now )
2. Place in the root of your sdcard
3. Reboot in recovery
3. Select chose update.zip (or rename the downloaded file to update.zip)
4. Select update_navigation.zip
5. Reboot

Extended steps:

If "Navigate" doesn't show up the first time:

1. Go to settings
2. Click on applications
3. Click on Manage applications
4. scroll to apps
5. click on Maps
6. Clear data

OR

1. Install Google Voice
2. Uninstall Google Voice
3. Reinstall Google Voice

****MOST IMPORTANT PART****

Thanks:

Cyanogen and Amon for their recovery images.
followinginsanity for his updates to build props
community for helping test and get it goooinnggggg!!
clyde8 for the better build string
Brut.al for the (possible) navigation out of USA!

Donation shout-outs:

Suma Software Inc

If you actually feel like donating to my trip fund go ahead and click here!!



!THANKS!

AND ENJOY


Q&A

Q: Navigation is not showing up!
A: you must first "get directions" for the option to show up, it is in that pane
A: MAKE SURE YOU ENABLE GPS!!!

Q: Why was facebook removed??
A: it caused to many issues, and the market one works fine.

Q: What is the latest changes??
A: I removed the build.prop file completely in hopes that it will work without it, did for me... you tell me

Q: What took so long?!?!
A: I had H1N1, b|0W me.

Q: Does this work with AOSP?
A: doesn't look like it, at least not so far, I did adjust some build props right from them but never got any feedback to let it out to the masses.

Q: Does this break CM-Updater?
A: No, it shouldn't.

Q: Do i need to reflash this every time?
A: if you want navigation, yes. Every update reverts the build props back to the old ones.

Q: Does this work outside of the USA?
A: Yes. BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT YOU MUST FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS EXACTLY!
1. First navigate between 2 USA addresses (just enter them in to get the navigate option to show up)
2. Make a shortcut on your home screen with the address you want to navigate to.
3. Make sure turn by turn is checked.
4 click it nub.
5. drive to the location
6. brag "o mai android is wai b3tt3r thian UR ip0ne."
7. hope to god it brings you back home, otherwise buy a map.

If your paid apps are not working, either wait until midnight, for caches to clear, or flash from scratch...
IE: recovery - rooted cyano - Cyano update - navi update
(p.s not responsible if you drive over a bridge following the GPS, that's stupidity)
(p.p.s don't brick your shaz and blame me or anyone else for that matter, you blew it)
Attached Files
File Type: zip update_navigation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (1.97 MB, 807 views)
ROM: Iced Glacier, waiting for the CM7
Phone: Rooted MT4G
SPL: S-OFF
Recovery: CWR
Twitter: Follow me!
 
nick8197
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 173
Join Date: Mar 2009
Im trying it now will get back to you

 
theomajigga
Old
#3  
theomajigga's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hudson, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick8197 View Post
Im trying it now will get back to you

just for s&g are you a dream, and what Cyanogen are you running...

just want to get as much info as possible
 
nick8197
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 173
Join Date: Mar 2009
Im on a dream/g1

Im using dwang with theme

do you think it will work I havent done it yet
 
alexjzim
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 299
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Long Island

 
DONATE TO ME
will test as soon as my slow internet loads

how exactly does this one work? meaning what exactly does it change? does it still affect the build.prop and build.trout.prop, or will it work on its on?
 
theomajigga
Old
#6  
theomajigga's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hudson, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick8197 View Post
Im on a dream/g1

Im using dwang with theme

do you think it will work I havent done it yet

i do believe so...

the only way it won't is if i mis-edited the build.trout.prop

but we'll know in a bit!!
 
theomajigga
Old
#7  
theomajigga's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hudson, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexjzim View Post
will test as soon as my slow internet loads

how exactly does this one work? meaning what exactly does it change? does it still affect the build.prop and build.trout.prop, or will it work on its on?
unfortunatley yes, it still edits the buildprops and what not....

it should work on anything 1.6+ by anyone.....


i think
 
mrnv45
Old
#8  
mrnv45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 673
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by theomajigga View Post
unfortunatley yes, it still edits the buildprops and what not....

it should work on anything 1.6+ by anyone.....


i think
i tried one...not this one.. but what happen is that handcent dosent locate contacts.. due to those builds being moved..and handcent is a popular sms app so im waiting for someone to flash this then run handcent!
GALAXY SIII - TMOBILE - DANDROID 4.1.2 (AOSP THEMED)

Please support!!

DOWNLOAD THIS GREAT ALBUM.

Itunes:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fe...ky/id553387454

Google Play:

https://play.google.com/store/music/...M0dzJ2dDMyNCJd
 
theomajigga
Old
#9  
theomajigga's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 242
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hudson, WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnv45 View Post
i tried one...not this one.. but what happen is that handcent dosent locate contacts.. due to those builds being moved..and handcent is a popular sms app so im waiting for someone to flash this then run handcent!
I'm going to look into that becuase i use handcent also...

this is just for the community, and me once i get that build stuf figured out...
 
Jamison904
Old
#10  
Jamison904's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14,313
Posts: 5,244
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
just downloaded and am about to try it now. Nav was running great till i updated to 4.2.4. figure it reinstalled the build.prop. give me a sec and will let you know
Ex-Reconized Developer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more

Compile Your Own Kernel From Source with Comprehensive Tutorial

One glance at any developer section of any device forum on XDA and youll find … more

WowWee Mip – Android Accessory Review – XDA Developer TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about … more