Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,440 Members 50,629 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP] 3UK - Skype on 3 UK - Free skype calls over 3uk

Tip us?
 
kaizer006
Old
(Last edited by kaizer006; 2nd January 2012 at 05:18 PM.) Reason: Skype update
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ubique - UK
Default [APP] 3UK - Skype on 3 UK - Free skype calls over 3uk

Heres the apk for 3uk's Skype app
This is ment to be free to use (i.e. free voice call to other skype users) FOR 3UK Users ONLY!!!

so far it only supports Voice and Texts, NO Video calls yet
for Video calls use the Normal Skype (NOT free to use on 3UK) app on market

it the offical skype app from 3UK
seems to run on most android devices
runs Perfectly on my HTC Dream (t-mobile g1) and Samsung Galaxy s

to log in make sure your usein 3UK's APN (apn.three.co.uk) and not Wi-Fi

i expect if you edit the xml file for it you could get it working for other 3 areas
but i havnt the time or know how to get it done soz

the akp is just in a normal zip file so unzip and ur away


----------------------------------------------
About which is the better read this it "May" help you decide

"Originally Posted by ps3taker

@kaizer006: is Skype_0.10.0.16_hutch_live the latest versions of Skype you added in the first post or is it a beta release superseded by Skype_1.5.0.13_3UK_live please."

---

"Skype_0.10.0.16_hutch_live" is the one 3UK pimp's at the moment

but the "Skype_1.5.0.13_3UK_live" has more options and stuff

i supose there will have been a combatability issue or something silly like that with the 1.5.0.13 so they went back to 0.10.16

personaly i use 1.5.0.13 on both my dream and my galaxy np
dream usein super D [cant remember what version off hand]
galaxy useing 2.3.4 stock + cf root

Answer: i 'THiNK' "Skype_1.5.0.13_3UK_live" is latest
BUT: 3UK are Useing "Skype_0.10.0.16_hutch_live"


----------------------------------------------
Anyone wanting to "try" and Mod it to run on OTHER 3NETWORK AREAS read this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=442460

sorry i cant be more help

----------------------------------------------
also MSN / WLM for 3UK
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?p=5768184
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120102-164824.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	839395   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120102-165610.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	839396   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20120102-164944.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	839397  
Attached Files
File Type: zip com.skype.android.threeUK.zip - [Click for QR Code] (394.6 KB, 3224 views)
File Type: apk Skype_1.5.0.13_3UK_live.apk - [Click for QR Code] (3.37 MB, 1909 views)
File Type: apk Skype_0.10.0.16_hutch_live.apk - [Click for QR Code] (1.02 MB, 1042 views)
 
chingy1788
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2009
Any remote chance of this working on 3 Australia?

...
T-Mobile G1
Cyanogenmod 4.2.14
Andida 1600mAh battery
Three Australia

Acer Liquid @ 920MHz
Angio Rom 1.5.1
Cameron Sino 2000mAh Battery (Fails miserably, using stock)
Three Australia
 
hadooj
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Nov 2009
This is just an FYI of what I've come across. I have the HTC Magic configured on the ATT US hsdpa network. I ran a port scan and found out AT&T is still not complying with what i thought was settled. AT&T blocks port 5060 which is the port that the SIP protocol functions. So, when you try to use skype, just like on the iphone, it will only work over wifi only and not over the network...but not because of the skype program for android, but because of att blocking the port....
if anyone has any information or comments please reply....I'd like to know more as well
 
djfuego
Old
#4  
djfuego's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 318
Join Date: Feb 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Default 2 free sims as well.

I saw a promotion last week for 2 free 3 sims (Say that when you are drunk) as well so I'm just waiting for the outcome of this. No top-up charge This means Really cheap Voip to International numbers over Wifi for me. I'll let you know how it goes.
Cheers

Ross

SPV E100
SPV E500
SPV M400
SPV M700
HTC Diamond
Nokia N8
Xperia T
 
naviru
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 67
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chingy1788 View Post
Any remote chance of this working on 3 Australia?

...
i think there will be a large chance once we find where is the xml that contains the server address and edit it like what we've done to the iskoot client registry
 
wrsg
Old
#6  
wrsg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 810
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a cage
Quote:
Originally Posted by djfuego View Post
I saw a promotion last week for 2 free 3 sims (Say that when you are drunk) as well so I'm just waiting for the outcome of this. No top-up charge This means Really cheap Voip to International numbers over Wifi for me. I'll let you know how it goes.
in the local store they are giving away free sims, just walk in and pick one up, no questions asked.
Samsung Galaxy Note 2 N7100

Sign up to Copy.com and get 5gb free https://copy.com?r=4GvpeX

OneDrive is here! It's the one place for everything in your life. Sign up and get 7 GB free. https://onedrive.live.com?invref=784...8597&invsrc=90

Check out MediaFire to get up to 50GB of free online space. https://mfi.re/?d6zj56s
 
lovenemesis
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 40
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Leeds
Thank you very much for providing the apk file.

I have difficulty to download it neither from Market nor Three.co.uk.

It works well on my newly purchased HTC Tattoo with 3 PAYG.

Cheers.
 
zibbo
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaizer006 View Post
Heres the apk for 3uk's Skype app

it the offical skype app for 3UK's HTC Hero thats on market place
they only support the hero but it seems to run on most android devices
runs Perfectly on my HTC Dream (t-mobile g1)

to log in make sure ur usein 3UK's APN and not wifi

i expect if you edit the xml file for it you could get it working for other 3 areas
but i havnt the time or know how to get it done soz

the akp is just in a normal zip file so unzip and ur away


kaizer006 there is any chance u can modify it to be used with other 3 operators in Italy in particular... i can provide u the numbers that the app calls
thanks
Emilio
 
guru_floyd
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2009
and also for 3 australia please...the number is +61430005340
 
fards
Old
#10  
fards's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 718
Posts: 5,445
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Currently Reverse Engineering 42

 
DONATE TO ME
check the data limits on the current sims.. It's 90 days free for a total of 150mb so not too great.

I got two free sims with the last deal, I get 30 days unlimited data for 30 days for 5 don't need to topup voice as well.
Quote:
That phones too big!
why?
have you never held anything bigger than 4" in your hand?



Racing and building Human Powered Vehicles.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes