MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

AT&T Tilt2 custom ROM risks

17th November 2009, 11:13 PM   |  #1  
mikroland's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Investigating replacing ROM on my tilt2 with a custom 6.5.1 ROM and have several questions.

Question#1 What are the risks to performing this?

Question #2 How do I backup the entire phone so I can restore it like it was when I opened out of the box from AT&T? (even after a hard SPL)

Question #3 If I need to return the unit for any reason back to AT&T, would I be able to do this after flashing the ROM and performing hard SPL ? Or will they detect this has been done and deny me?

Thanks
18th November 2009, 12:02 AM   |  #2  
rvashi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
I'll try to answer the best I can. Anyone please chime in...

A1) Primary risk is permanently messing up your phone if you don't perform the HardSPL correctly! Other than that, every other risk is minor when you're actually flashing the ROM becuase it seems to me like its close to impossible to brick your phone with HardSPL.

A2) There is no REAL way to backup your entire ROM like you can in Android (Nandroid backups). However, there's always the stock AT&T ROM that you can flash back and than use programs such as Microsoft MyPhone to backup and restore your personal data.

A3) You can Relock your phone using the relocker. This is available in one of the stickys...probably the one with the HardSPL.

Anymore questions, please ask!
18th November 2009, 12:39 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Del City
Thanks Meter: 25
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
yeah
I think rvashi pretty much nailed it all, however if you ever do have to revert to stock make sure to read all the info! You'll need to revert to stock ROM and Radio. I've never done it on my Rhodium but on my Raphael it was quite easy... I assume its no different on Rhodium!
Just read the stickies and check out the wiki! I made sure I'd read through the procedure thoroughly prior to starting and had no issues! Of course I've been flashing ROMs starting with the Kaiser and not much has changed from that device procedure wise!
18th November 2009, 12:44 AM   |  #4  
carhigh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ct
Thanks Meter: 59
 
1,714 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Not all roms include radios. Ive never flashed a radio yet, on my kaiser or my tilt 2, but it sounds just as easy as loading the roms.
Here, i have a question to ask. Whats the difference between a rom that lists WWE and one that doesnt?
Last edited by carhigh; 18th November 2009 at 12:47 AM.
18th November 2009, 12:58 AM   |  #5  
rvashi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1
 
258 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carhigh

Whats the difference between a rom that lists WWE and one that doesnt?

WWE is short for 'World Wide English' as far as I know.
18th November 2009, 01:03 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Kansas City Mo.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carhigh

whats the difference between a rom that lists wwe and one that doesnt?


+1 .
18th November 2009, 01:39 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qinstaller

+1 .

WWE means that the language of the phone will be english, if you install a ROM with something else like FRA then the phone will be in that language, in this case french.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes