FORUMS

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Sprint Reacts To Jab From T-Mobile

America’s cellular network space has always been a battle of the big four: Verizon, AT&T, … more

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

AT&T Tilt2 custom ROM risks

161 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By mikroland, Senior Member on 17th November 2009, 11:13 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Investigating replacing ROM on my tilt2 with a custom 6.5.1 ROM and have several questions.

Question#1 What are the risks to performing this?

Question #2 How do I backup the entire phone so I can restore it like it was when I opened out of the box from AT&T? (even after a hard SPL)

Question #3 If I need to return the unit for any reason back to AT&T, would I be able to do this after flashing the ROM and performing hard SPL ? Or will they detect this has been done and deny me?

Thanks
 
 
18th November 2009, 12:02 AM |#2  
rvashi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I'll try to answer the best I can. Anyone please chime in...

A1) Primary risk is permanently messing up your phone if you don't perform the HardSPL correctly! Other than that, every other risk is minor when you're actually flashing the ROM becuase it seems to me like its close to impossible to brick your phone with HardSPL.

A2) There is no REAL way to backup your entire ROM like you can in Android (Nandroid backups). However, there's always the stock AT&T ROM that you can flash back and than use programs such as Microsoft MyPhone to backup and restore your personal data.

A3) You can Relock your phone using the relocker. This is available in one of the stickys...probably the one with the HardSPL.

Anymore questions, please ask!
18th November 2009, 12:39 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Del City
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
yeah
I think rvashi pretty much nailed it all, however if you ever do have to revert to stock make sure to read all the info! You'll need to revert to stock ROM and Radio. I've never done it on my Rhodium but on my Raphael it was quite easy... I assume its no different on Rhodium!
Just read the stickies and check out the wiki! I made sure I'd read through the procedure thoroughly prior to starting and had no issues! Of course I've been flashing ROMs starting with the Kaiser and not much has changed from that device procedure wise!
18th November 2009, 12:44 AM |#4  
carhigh's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ct
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Not all roms include radios. Ive never flashed a radio yet, on my kaiser or my tilt 2, but it sounds just as easy as loading the roms.
Here, i have a question to ask. Whats the difference between a rom that lists WWE and one that doesnt?
Last edited by carhigh; 18th November 2009 at 12:47 AM.
18th November 2009, 12:58 AM |#5  
rvashi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, IN
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carhigh

Whats the difference between a rom that lists WWE and one that doesnt?

WWE is short for 'World Wide English' as far as I know.
18th November 2009, 01:03 AM |#6  
Member
Flag Kansas City Mo.
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carhigh

whats the difference between a rom that lists wwe and one that doesnt?


+1 .
18th November 2009, 01:39 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Miami, FL
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qinstaller

+1 .

WWE means that the language of the phone will be english, if you install a ROM with something else like FRA then the phone will be in that language, in this case french.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes