Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Link to Stock HTC Hero ROM

OP Natty_lite

19th November 2009, 12:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
In case you've experiencing the frustration of your inquiries being met with "search for blah blah blah" here is the direct link to avoid frustration.

ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...ed_release.exe
19th November 2009, 12:52 AM   |  #2  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
If anyone can help me get this installed I'd appreciate it. It times out at the waiting for booatloader screen. I have the recovery ROM installed.
19th November 2009, 12:57 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Casa Grande, AZ
Thanks Meter: 40
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Try this:

Pull your battery
Put it back in
Hold down the Volume down arrow and press power
Press Volume Up, screen should say FASTBOOT USB in red
Start your RUU
19th November 2009, 01:05 AM   |  #4  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
If I'm in Fastboot USB Mode when I run the RUU, it fails at Verifying. If I boot into Fastboot while it's waiting to boot into recovery, it still times out.
19th November 2009, 01:13 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Casa Grande, AZ
Thanks Meter: 40
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Hmm, do you have the correct driver installed? Check your device manager under Android devices and see if the ADB driver is installed. If it is, install the driver from HTC Sync. Its called My HTC when it is installed
19th November 2009, 01:18 AM   |  #6  
jonnythan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
1,126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Yup, I definitely have the driver installed. I can use ADB just fine foe shell and push and so forth.

It connects initially to verify the info on the phone, but the RUU process reboots the phone and seems to expect it to boot into a certain bootloader. But it doesn't. I imagine the recovery ROM I flashed doesn't work with the RUU.

Does anyone have the original recovery ROM?
19th November 2009, 01:56 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Had the same situation. I was able to get it to work by messing with the volume keys right after the reboot (pressed up and down a couple times.)
19th November 2009, 02:47 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere
Thanks Meter: 35
 
674 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Gah, Windows. =/

Gonna see if I can do it in Parallels.
19th November 2009, 03:42 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Having the same problem. It restarts the phone waiting for bootloader and then errors out.

Not sure what's going on. 100% positive I've got the adb driver. I've got HTC Sync working.

Using Win 7 64bit.

So it errors out and says a connection could not be made error 170.

I then disconnect the usb cable and the screen shows RUU but of course it's already disconnected.

No idea what to do.
Last edited by fullthrottleenergy; 19th November 2009 at 03:56 AM.
19th November 2009, 04:04 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Casa Grande, AZ
Thanks Meter: 40
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
Not sure why it is not working for you guys. My RUU would not update using the adb driver. I put it into fastboot usb mode. My pc then detected the phone. I went into device manager and checked under android devices. Make sure it says something like 'My HTC' and not 'HTC Dream' or something like that.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes