12/18/2009 [UNOFFICIAL] v1.3a - CDMA MoDaCo ROM 1.3

668 posts
Thanks Meter: 7
By obelisk79, Senior Member on 21st November 2009, 10:21 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

12/18/09 Update
Here is my most recent version of the updated MoDaCo rom. I have fixed the version display info.

This rom should be safe to upgrade from stock or MoDaCo 1.1 roms.

If you experience force closures the issue is with your dalvik-cache or your boot-cache.
You can clear your dalvik cache from the recovery mode. Do not do a factory wipe. Choose the dalvik-cache wipe/clear.
You can clear your boot-cache from adb as a temporary fix by typing:
rm -r /data/boot-cache


-rebuilt properties file
-shuffled some apk's around

-no longer requires wipe to install/upgrade
-fixed ssh password in about screen
-fixed version info to show correctly
-all market apps should show correctly
-updated to busybox without color codes (this is for the windows users using adb shell)
-upgraded to latest relase of wifi tether
-minor performance tweaks and optimizations
-minor interface tweaks (new lockscreen animations)

fixed issue with protected apps not showing up in market
reverted displayed version # in phone settings (sprint update is still there though)

fixed builld/version info
fixed force close issues for people who upgrade from MoDaCo 1.1

manually patched Sprint Maintenance Release to MoDaCo 1.1 rom.

Get 1.3 here.
Install from the recovery console. No wipe should be necessary!

Please post here if you have problems.
Last edited by obelisk79; 12th January 2010 at 12:07 AM.
21st November 2009, 11:21 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag St.Louis
Thanks Meter: 5
Just flashed from 1.1, getting a bunch of force close messages on boot can't use internet, software version 1.29 so no update, don't know if I should've flashed from stock but thought id try from 1.1.
21st November 2009, 11:28 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
I'll look into it later right now I need sleep. FYI I updated from a stock patched Rom freshly rooted. You may need to do a wipe for it to work properly. Also i hand copied the individual patched files into the modaco 1.1 to make this work. I am new to this so I do not know how to update the version # by hand editing yet.
Last edited by obelisk79; 21st November 2009 at 11:38 AM.
21st November 2009, 05:16 PM |#4  
JoeyRev's Avatar
Flag Reading,Pa...originally BX NYC
Thanks Meter: 1
getting a bunch of force close messages also,plus it lags pretty much
dunno why but i tried it,thx anyway..time to flash again .
21st November 2009, 05:24 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
Is the bluetooth audio streaming working?
21st November 2009, 05:43 PM |#6  
thorracing1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goodells MI
Thanks Meter: 12
works great nice job man
21st November 2009, 05:46 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
i would also like to know if you can play media via bluetooth speakers on this ROM...all ROMs w/ the MR update don't seem to be able to do it, but the Sprint MR update w/ no custom ROM installed can
21st November 2009, 06:02 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
I got a bunch of force closes when it booted up. I also noticed the browser and some google apps will no longer open and just force close.
Last edited by knx2; 21st November 2009 at 06:16 PM.
21st November 2009, 06:04 PM |#9  
thorracing1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Goodells MI
Thanks Meter: 12
mine works perfect
21st November 2009, 06:19 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
Works fine for me. I did revert back to stock before doing the update and reset my data to be sure.

The build number in the "about" screen is the old number, but things do seem to be updated to the new stuff anyway. To change the build number, I think you need to edit the /system/build.prop file.

Great work!
21st November 2009, 06:54 PM |#11  
watzone69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Austin, Texas
Thanks Meter: 44
My force closures have healed themselves! Well, except for the "market" app but I bet I can uninstall/reinstall it.

Obelisk, hopefully this description of my steps helps in finding some answers...

Last night, before I saw obelisk's first few posts regarding his experiment, I had decided to bite the bullet and flash back to the stock Sprint RUU.

First I copied all of my app and app-private folders to my SD card. Then, I did a nandroid backup and then flashed the RUU. I let Sprint download and install the MR. Then I rooted and flashed the recovery image. This is when I found obelisk's posts and decided to try it out. After I flashed his "unofficial" update I booted up and then rebooted (it stated "reboot required" in the menu\settings\about phone\build number after "MoDaCo Custom ROM"). At that point everything was working fine. No force closures, phone was sleeping correctly, I had mute and speaker phone buttons in the call screen, etc...

I decided to copy my apps back, restore my nandroid backup (even though I knew this would undo everything I had just done) and then reflash obelisk's updated modaco again. After doing that I rebooted and got a ton of force close errors. I just closed them all and went to bed!

HERE"S THE WEIRD PART! I woke up this morning and the only force close I'm getting now is with the market app (and ONLY if I try to open it). All my other restored apps are working fine. I am about to go to work but I will play around with this some more. I'm keeping it for now!

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes