Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Navipanel

OP jwillans

23rd November 2009, 08:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
I have found the tip to access Navipanel without the dock. A couple of questions:
  1. It seems that Navipanel can only be used in landscape mode - is this right because I tend to have my phone docked in portrait mode?
  2. How do I exit Navipanel once I have finished with it?

Thanks,

James
23rd November 2009, 09:12 PM   |  #2  
ovidiaconescu's Avatar
Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
How did you open Navipanel, i don't seem to find it in the Windows folder.
23rd November 2009, 09:25 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
By following the instructions in the hints and tips - see the sticky at the top of the forum.
23rd November 2009, 09:32 PM   |  #4  
ovidiaconescu's Avatar
Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:

6. Enable NaviPanel Without Owning the Car Kit/Navigation Dock
Go to Windows folder and copy NaviPanel.exe as a shortcut to Windows\Start Menu folder.

I don't have the navipanel.exe in the windows folder so I cannot copy it anywhere.
23rd November 2009, 10:06 PM   |  #5  
pedmond's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 105
 
1,398 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovidiaconescu

I don't have the navipanel.exe in the windows folder so I cannot copy it anywhere.

That's a bit strange... Are you absolutely certain?
23rd November 2009, 10:15 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovidiaconescu

I don't have the navipanel.exe in the windows folder so I cannot copy it anywhere.

You must use Resco Explorer (AND switch off in setting of resco "Hide hidden files", Hide files in Rom") !
Last edited by Booh72; 23rd November 2009 at 10:17 PM.
23rd November 2009, 10:37 PM   |  #7  
ovidiaconescu's Avatar
Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
I just wanted to post that RescoExplorer doesn't show hidden files by default. I found it with total commander and then thought it might be an option like that in Resco.

Thanks guys.
23rd November 2009, 10:45 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Any thoughts on the original questions ?
24th November 2009, 12:07 AM   |  #9  
Gustopher's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Somerset (physically), Scotland (spiritually)
Thanks Meter: 1,123
 
2,113 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
1. Couldn't swear to it, but I think I remember seeing pictures or video of the panel in both landscape and portrait orientations

2. Press the Home key - the panel doesn't appear to stay resident in memory - haven't checked this with Memmaid or anything yet, but it certainly doesn't appear in Task Manager (Dutty's version)

A far bigger pain is that all of the links seem hard coded to a Co-Pilot install on the device, as opposed to one on the SD Card - iyt would be nice to be able to customise it!
24th November 2009, 12:43 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustopher

1. Couldn't swear to it, but I think I remember seeing pictures or video of the panel in both landscape and portrait orientations

2. Press the Home key - the panel doesn't appear to stay resident in memory - haven't checked this with Memmaid or anything yet, but it certainly doesn't appear in Task Manager (Dutty's version)

A far bigger pain is that all of the links seem hard coded to a Co-Pilot install on the device, as opposed to one on the SD Card - iyt would be nice to be able to customise it!

Hi Gustopher - Thanks. It seems Navipanel starts in landscape and then if it feels like it rotates to portrait. This only seems to happen occassionally which is very frustrating because the most common case it that it is stuck in landscape mode. Does anyone know of a way of starting Navipanel in portrait mode?

To be honest all I want to achieve is to switch the phone to a mode where when I answer calls they automatically go to speaker phone and ideally for screen lock to be switched off. This must be a common use case for people who have their phone docked in a car. Anyone know of how this can be achieved using something other than Navipanel?

Many thanks,

James

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes