Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Text Messaging Issue

OP rocafellapat

25th November 2009, 07:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
I have had my Hero for about 3-4 weeks now and LOVE it (coming from Touch Pro) the only problem I have is that when I add a new contact and want to text them, I get get a text back from them but under a different name, like the contact I previously added before the new one?!? I have to delete the whole thread to get the right name and pic of the person I am actually texting. This is very frustrating and hope someone can help me find a fix to this. Thanks!
26th November 2009, 07:51 PM   |  #2  
certifiedsinner's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
i m having a same issue.. my all txt mesages going under bankofamerica alerts thread.. doesnt matter who its from...i m so mad about this i tried hard reset.. master reset.. tried installing chomps sms, handcent sms, same issue..
27th November 2009, 01:14 AM   |  #3  
flipzmode's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 693
 
1,325 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by certifiedsinner

i m having a same issue.. my all txt mesages going under bankofamerica alerts thread.. doesnt matter who its from...i m so mad about this i tried hard reset.. master reset.. tried installing chomps sms, handcent sms, same issue..

All sms programs retrieve the information from the Android OS which is actually responsible for handling the information. That's why you are seeing the same thing no matter what program you are using. But quite frankly I don't know what's causing that. I remember reading about it before, but I'm not sure if people ever came to any resolution.
27th November 2009, 04:01 AM   |  #4  
certifiedsinner's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Thanks Flip...
27th November 2009, 07:23 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
well it seems to me that you need to flash a new ROM to your Hero, try MCR or Fresh, or just update with the sprint update from the settings menu. Since it is Andriod OS based error, try that if that does not work, take your phone back to be exchanged.
28th November 2009, 05:15 AM   |  #6  
certifiedsinner's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
ok well i am about to load the fresh rom.. hope fully this will fix the issue..thanks for the input..
30th November 2009, 07:00 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Thanks Flip and codelockdown...I am like certifiedsinner and tried handcent but same problem, I loved the UI but it was a bit buggy and I found myself going checking the stock sms program when i got a message so i uninstalled but I will def consider all those options, i may just end up waiting for 2.0 or possibly 2.1. Thanks again guys!
30th November 2009, 09:56 PM   |  #8  
thecodemonk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Spokane, WA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
381 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by certifiedsinner

i m having a same issue.. my all txt mesages going under bankofamerica alerts thread.. doesnt matter who its from...i m so mad about this i tried hard reset.. master reset.. tried installing chomps sms, handcent sms, same issue..

http://www.google.com/search?ie=UTF-...ca+bug+android

Sadly, the bank of america issue is a known one and I haven't seen any real fix for it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
adding new contacts, messaging, texting
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes