Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 41,163 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone is Semi-Bricked and I'm lost..

Tip us?
 
MytouchUser
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2009
I tried -Wipe SD:ext partition Then do: -Repair SD:ext but same problem, stuck at the Hero screen. I'm ready to flash my first rom since it seems like my phone has been rooted.

Can I flash with this rom? It says its for 32A but my phone says PVT 32B


PORT][EBI1/32A]Cyanogenmod 4.2.9.1 EBI1/32A Port [Dec 18][CM D partition for this release)
Apply Zip: HTC_ADP_1.6_DRC83_rooted_base.zip
Apply Zip: update-cm-4.2.9.1-signed.zip
Apply Kernel Port Zip: rad-4.xxxx.zip or bc-4.xxxx.zip
 
sffr
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jul 2008
If it still doesnt boot.

Follow the Below instructions to bring up to CyanogenMod Donut 1.6 Rooted.

PS: If your on AT&T 3G will NOT work.

Mount the USB with the SD Card installed via Recovery. A new PC Drive will show up in Windows

Download the Following

http://dx.infernix.net/DRC83_base_defanged.zip &
http://n0rp.chemlab.org/android/upda...9.1-signed.zip to root of SD CARD

Inside Recovery (Home+Power)

Wipe
Run Apply SD CARD CHOOSE ZIP
Selected DRC83_base_defanged.zip
Let that flash
When finished Write Update-cm-4.2.9.1.signed.zip
Let that finish then select reboot System now.

Once that is finished you will have a fresh system. No Hero anymore but the standard Android Donut rooted and CyanogenMod.
 
sffr
Old
#13  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jul 2008
Detailed Directions

You will now install the actual OS of the phone. First you will install the legal Google apps, and then you will install CyanogenMod on top of those apps.

1.Turn your phone off.
2.Hold the Home button while booting to get to Recovery mode.
3.Select "wipe data/factory reset") (MT3G/Magic boots to andrOid then black screen with back-lite if you don't do this.)
4.Select "apply any zip from sd")
choose "DRC83_base_defanged.zip"
5.Press home to confirm and let installation complete ('Formatting Cache' will stay at the bottom of the screen but once the menu reappears, the flashing is complete)
6.STOP - DO NOT REBOOT YOUR PHONE
7.Again, select "apply any zip from sd")
choose "update-cm-4.2.x-signed.zip"
8.Press home to confirm and let installation complete
9.When this is complete, reboot your phone by pressing Home & Back or selecting that option.
10.Wait. This will take a couple of minutes. Be patient!
 
MytouchUser
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2009
sffr: You wrote, "PS: If your on AT&T 3G will NOT work."

can you explain why? I thought if the phone is rooted i can use it with any carrier?
 
sffr
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 39
Join Date: Jul 2008
Rooted refers to you having "SU" Super User permissions and being able to flash any rom.

AT&T uses different 3G Frequncies: ATt 3G uses 850 and 1900 Mhz for 3G
T-Mo uses: 1700 Mhz & 2100 Mhz.

The MyTouch 3g Supports HSDPA/UMTS on 1700 Downlink and 2100 Uplink so they arent compatible.

I dont know if it will work on AT&T it might still be Carrier lock I'm not sure what happens to SIM lock once you root.
 
MytouchUser
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2009
sorry, I misunderstood you. I thought you mean ATT wont work but you meant 3G. Yeah, unfortunately I'm stuck on edge.

I am flashing following the steps you mentioned, wish me luck and yeah I might need to get an unlock code for the phone after it resets.
 
MytouchUser
Old
#17  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thanks! I'm able to boot to the activation screen but its asking me to an unlock code so I'm going to get one now
 
seraph1024
Old
#18  
seraph1024's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 84
Posts: 402
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northbrook, Illinois, USA, Earth, Solar System... you get the picture

 
DONATE TO ME
If you are getting an question for the unlock code, your phone was not unlocked yet. Get that done. As for 3G, unless you have the 32A (Rogers), you will not get 3G with AT&T. You will still get Edge (usable). I have edge on my ion and rogers magic has 3G with att. ATT and T-Mo use different frequencies for 3G and mytouch do not come with the right radio for 3G to be used with AT&T
If it's stuck, force it. If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway Lynx is the best browser ever. No I am not kidding.

"All androids are created equal. Some are more equal than the others." -- me.

Twitter: lmaung

Mechatronics and mobile geek, opinionated world traveler, technologist, seeker of knowledge, hacker of things, an entrepreneur, and community leader/speaker.
 
prophetjinn
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 206
Join Date: Nov 2009
Congrats man, you just learned a whole lot in a little amount of time. :P
Nexus One - Current =)
Rom: CyanogenMod 2.2 Froyo (Latest)
Recovery: ClockworkMod (Latest)
SD: 8gb sd card Class 6

T-Mobile MyTouch 3G Black - Retired phone
ROM: CyanogenMod (Latest)
Recovery: Amon Ra (Latest)
 
rubercarkeys
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2009
this seemed to be working for me but once i did the drc83 it said E:Verification failed E: Corrupt file:system/media/audio/ringtones/terminated.ogg
Installation aborted.

idk...strange stuff i hope its not bricked

Tags
bricked mytouch
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...