Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SSPL] HowTo flash cooked ROM without HSPL

OP bepe

27th December 2009, 12:57 AM   |  #1  
bepe's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 60
 
1,115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
We need some beta testers here to make this stable.

Beta testing phase only for advanced users; don't want to explain how to flash a ship ROM using the original SPL to your device!

This is an easy way to flash unsigned OS images to the HD2. It should not void your warranty like HSPLs do, because it does not change your SPL. I know for a fact, that repair centers are advised to check the SPL version number on the device.

How safe is it?
We disabled SPL and Radio flashing, so it can only flash Splashes and OS images.
(To all hackers out there... don’t enable it! else you will BRICK your device)
Worst case is that you destroy your OS partition, in that case you must flash a ship ROM using the original SPL (Vol down on boot run ruu from PC )
We did our best to make it save, else we would not release it for public testing, but anyway, all on your own risk!




How to use it:
  • Download the SSPL_RUU.exe and put it into an empty folder
  • Add the RUU_signed.nbh that you want to flash to your device into the same folder
  • Connect the device to the PC, device must be running WM, not show the 3 color screen
  • Run SSPL_RUU.exe
Done, flashing should start!
*** Watch me doing it ***
... btw, my device is still working after using it over 100 times




Troubleshooting:
  • If you don’t see USB at the bottom of the device screen and the ruu showed a connection error, disconnect the device and connect it again... USB should be there now.
    Then just run the SSPL_RUU.exe again, flashing will start now
  • If the flashing breaks before 100%, stay cool! ... Reset the device and go to Boot loader, then flash a ship rom to the device (Must be the right rom, with the right CID)
    Don’t forget to report that it happened... after you flashed the original ROM back, you can try again.
  • It is possible, that sometimes the screen stays black for 15sec or more before the SSPL 3 color screen shows, if it takes too long, do reset and try again and please report that!!!!
  • "Your OS ROM isn't customized for your hardware. Please reflash the proper ROM code or contact the service center", !!! Problem NOT related to this SSPL !!! ... this means that you flashed a region protected rom... flash back to a ship ROM for your device and stick to ROMs with your region ID... or patch them (You might have to remove the battery after flashing back, else it might not boot up)
Link:
Link: SSPL_RUU.zip


Thanks for testing!
cotulla and bepe

Attachment is being investigated for possible un-witting virus content.
EDIT: Our conclusion is that although Kaspersky throws up an alert, this is likely to be a false positive result. But use your own scanners as always with any download.
Last edited by mskip; 27th February 2010 at 12:56 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bepe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2009, 12:59 AM   |  #2  
tom_codon's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 95
 
2,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
well done bro

Stuck thread !

Tom
27th December 2009, 01:05 AM   |  #3  
makeveral's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barcelona
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
Donate to Me
More
Amazing job bepe!
And very nice to see you here!
27th December 2009, 01:07 AM   |  #4  
starbase64's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lennestadt
Thanks Meter: 636
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Hi Bepe

thanks, it works.

with friendly greet

starbase64
27th December 2009, 01:08 AM   |  #5  
itje's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag Kleppe
Thanks Meter: 193
 
10
4,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
nice bepe, thx

works flawless
27th December 2009, 01:13 AM   |  #6  
D.O.C's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - The Android Surgeon
Thanks Meter: 3,748
 
3,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Donate to Me
More
Thank you mate, which custom rom are you using? I cannot find any ROM to download. Thanks..
27th December 2009, 01:13 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Does this tool make goldcards "obsolete"? I know this tool doesnt flash radio but other than that? Is it possible to flash, say the 1.61, by simply drag'n drop the 1.61 firmware in the folder?
27th December 2009, 01:17 AM   |  #8  
fards's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Currently Reverse Engineering 42
Thanks Meter: 835
 
5,682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
More
Bepe, it works fine for me..


If you get things go wrong with this, it's down to user error..
27th December 2009, 01:18 AM   |  #9  
Spike™'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hertfordshire
Thanks Meter: 16
 
621 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
yep Bepe, when i got the Beta on Christmas Eve it flashed 1st time.....

well done guy's,

Spike
27th December 2009, 01:19 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Where are you able to find cooked OS's for the HD2? I can't seems to find any... Only "soon to be released" ones...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes